We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning views from the Stone House”
other travelers have booked this property
Stone House - Vista geral
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stone House - Vista geral
Stone House - Sala Stone House - sala/cozinha
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Stone House - Vista geral
Stone House - Sala
Stone House - sala/cozinha
Stone House - Quarto1
Stone House - Quarto2
Stone House - Pormenor quarto 2
Stone House - Hall entrada
Stone House - Sala
Stone House - Pormenores da sala
Stone House - WC
Stone House - sala
Stone House - sala
Stone House - quarto 1
Stone House - vista exterior
Stone House - Vista frente
Miradouro privado
Terrace
Morning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Calheta, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
John D
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning views from the Stone House”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two weeks at the Stone House in Calheta, the pictures don't do the house justice it is absolutely stunning. The owner of the apartments João, was so helpful with all the tips and help he provided during our stay.

The Stone House is on a secluded location with 4 other properties around, it overlooks the sea and has spectacular views of the coast and also looking down onto the port of Calheta.

The use of the vegetables from the communal garden were a nice touch, and great fruit for breakfast.

The island of Madeira has so much to see and do that a car is definitely recommended, it is also a big benefit for the location of the house being at the top of a cliff. We did walk into Calheta a few times, it is a nice walk going down, but a good climb getting back up.

Within Calheta there are numerous water sports that you can enjoy, we swam with dolphins and went whale watching. There is also a very handy local supermarket which João gave us a discount card for, very handy to get bargains.

The only negative point of the accommodation, is the path leading down to the house from the road, it is in need of attention and anyone unsteady on there feet might have difficulty with this.

But, that aside I can not praise this accommodation or the owner enough.

John & Pedro

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2015
Gracias, Pedro y John por venir a Madeira y de haber estado en una de mis casas. Sé que tienes muchas opciones para elegir dónde pasar sus vacaciones y que era para mí un gran placer y honor de recibir en la Stone House! Me gustaría que regresen de nuevo, porque la gente buena, queremos que permanecen siempre en nuestras vidas. Muchas Gracias!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainer F
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2018 for a stay in November 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 16, 2018
Thanks Rainer, for the kindness of your comment.
I'm glad you were happy here.
And I expect your return soon. It is always good to receive and review friends.
Vielen Danke!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UweMeyer
Gottingen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2018 for a stay in October 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2018
Hello my friend! Thanks for the kindness of your comment.
Your suggestions for future guests are perfect.
I hope I have the pleasure of seeing you soon.

Thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
122SoW
Krefeld
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2018
Thank you Solveig and Karina, for the kindness of your comment.
I hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again very soon on the island.
I, the sun and the island, we wait for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim B
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 16, 2016
Thanks Joachim and Larissa, by our kind words.
It was a pleasure to receive you in my house.
You are a wonderful couple. I was very fond of you, so I will keep you in my heart.
I'm glad you have liked to be here in Madeira.
If one day you can, come back. I'll be here with open arms , to receive you.
Vielen Dank!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing