We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Base for exploring Madeira”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Calheta, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PeterREss...
Essex, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Base for exploring Madeira ”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just had a wonderful week in madeira. This was our first visit and wanted somewhere away from Funchal. Palheiro Cottage was ideal as a base for us to do lots of Levada walks and visit many of the lovely towns and villages in Madeira.
Jenny and Graham were excellent hosts and were very helpful with lots of good advice. Palheiro Cottage itself was perfect for the two of us and had every amenity we could wish for.
The views are wonderful and it was great to sit on the balcony or terrace in the evening.
But you definitely need a car to make the most of Madeira, especially if you stay outside of the main tourist areas and want to explore the island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2017
Thank you, it was a pleasure to have you both.
So for a relaxing holiday in the peace and quiet of Estrela, Calheta, close to all the amenities but away from the busy tourist areas book now.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa B
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed February 2, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Just spent 3 delightful weeks in this traditional mountain cottage. From arriving to departure the hosts could not have done more to make it a great experience. Did lots of walking; although you need to be aware of the steep hills there are lots of lovely places to walk from the cottage but you need to be a bit of an explorer. We had a car to get to some of the outlying areas. A favourite of ours was Paul do Mar and also Jardin do Mar. Take a walk across the valley to the cafe where the church is, another great place to chill out and take in the views. Amazing sunsets too!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2017
Thank you, we are always pleased to know that our guests enjoyed their time at our cottage. So to see the beautiful sunsets while sitting on the balcony with a cool glass of wine or beer book now!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess M
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful property in a stunning location!”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I stayed for a week at Palheiro Cottage, hosted by Jenny and Graham and had a fantastic time. The cottage itself is beautifully appointed, with spacious living accommodation inside as well as plenty of outside space with the balcony and the roof terrace.

We were warmly welcomed by Jenny and Graham, given a tour of the cottage and lots of helpful information about the local village, Calheta and beyond: such as supermarkets, parking tips and places to visit on the island. We felt reassured that we could come to Jenny and Graham with anything and it was lovely to say hello in the morning and stop for a friendly chat. It was the village chapel feast day during our stay and we were able to observe the village procession and the festivities with our hosts. The kitchen was stocked with basics and we very much enjoyed the meal service provided by the hosts; wonderful home cooked food and delicious wine.

We had an amazing experience on the boat cruise with Graham on the Gavito, watching dolphins and whales and seeing the stunning coastline of Madeira from the water. Additional thanks to Graham for trying to teach my husband to fish! The boat trip was a truly exceptional experience and we would urge guests to book it!

We hired a car during our week long stay to explore the island, taking a hire company recommendation from our hosts. This was essential for us because we like to have the freedom to come and go. We balanced our stay with trips around the island and days at home. For non drivers, there were always taxis available. Whether you are looking for a base from which to explore Madeira fully or if you are looking for a place to relax, soak up the sun and scenery then Palheiro Cottage is the perfect choice for either. This was our first visit to the island and will definitely be coming back to stay at Palheiro Cottage. Our thanks and best wishes to Jenny and Graham for being such fantastic hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting of the property, balcony and roof terrace.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you so much, it was a pleasure to have you. We are always so happy to know our guests have enjoyed their stay. The weather in Madeira is good all year round so why not book your winter break now.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hedley201...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage , great views”
Reviewed February 27, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

After staying in Funchal on many occasions we thought with a little bit of trepidation it was time to visit a different part of Maderia . We are so glad we did. Set up in the hills above Caletha the cottage has great views down into a valley and out to sea . You could watch kestrels and buzzards from the balcony. The directions given but Jenny and Graham where spot on , it took around 45 minutes to drive to the cottage from the airport mostly on the express way . I think a car is a must . We where made very welcome in the small bar which joins the village shop . We spoke no Portuguese and they spoke very little English but some how we spent a couple of hours on a couple of evenings chatting in the bar . The cottage is in a good location to visit other parts of the island . The cottage had every thing you would need for a holiday . Ideal for walkers and people who just like to sight see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Cool evenings but it was February
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2016
Thank you, we are always so pleased that our guests have had a good holiday and especially pleased when they visit our local shop / bar. Lourdes and Antonio who run the bar speak hardly and English but Lourdes especially will do her utmost to speak / mime with you and make you welcome. So to see the real Madeira book now for a holiday to remember.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Place - great owners”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed in the cottage for 2 weeks and enjoyed every minute. The place is great for a couple, well equipped and comfortable with plenty of options for eating/reading/relaxing.

The views from the balcony and terrace are great, the bed is comfortable and the shower is brilliant. We ate in most nights, usually cooking for ourselves, but we also ate with Graham and Jenny on 4 occasions and I thoroughly recommend doing this, they are both excellent cooks and the meals are very reasonably priced (and better than most restaurants).

They grow a lot of their own food and we enjoyed eggs from the chickens, home made jam and fish caught by Graham as well as being given fruit that neighbours had passed on.

Although the owners live next door they keep to themselves, but are available (and willing) to help if you need advice. We were happy to find a welcome pack that saw us through the first evening and breakfast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all good
Liked least: There was nothing worth mentioning
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2015
Thank you so much, it was a pleasure to have you. We are always so pleased to hear that our guests have had a good holiday and that they enjoyed our cooking!!
The weather stays good all year round so why not get away from the cold and rain and book an Autumn/Winter break at our cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & view
Liked least: Noisy dogs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2015
Thank you, it gives us so much pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their holiday at our cottage especially when it is their fist visit to Madeira. So for a relaxing holiday in peace and tranquillity, with beautiful views yet only a short drive to the Levada walks, beach and Marina book your holiday at Palheiro cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 2, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from the property and peaceful location
Liked least: Driving on the local narrow roads
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2015
Thank you, we are always so happy to hear that our guests have had a good holiday with us at Palheiro Cottage. So for a taste of the warmth and hospitality of the real Madeira in the most beautiful countryside book to stay at Palheiro Cottage. We do recommend to hire a car to enable you to see the beauty of the whole of the island at your leisure but we have also had many guests that choose not to have one and enjoy the local area by foot or bus/taxi.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing