We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel during our Madeira trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta Do Furao Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santana
Certificate of Excellence
Brunn am Gebirge, Austria
1 review
“Best hotel during our Madeira trip”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

During our Madeira trip we had five different hotels. Quinta do Furao was the best one. The room was quiet and clean, the view over the ocean was incredible. Breakfast was very good with many different kind of teas, vegetables, cheese, et cetera. Omelets were freshly cooked according to customers wish. We really enjoyed our stay in Quinta do Furao.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank resmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    90
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
78
329
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location, great hotel facilities & amazing staff, worth the detour to it.
Dinner with a view, they even catered better for fussy & vegetarian eaters than a Michelin star place we stayed in Piedmont last year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahwalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jorge, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Quiet, peaceful, tranquil. Staff helpful. Lovely pool and jacuzzi, restaurant with balcony all with a great view. Rooms a little small, beds a bit hard and no air conditioning. Food was good but not as good as expected for a hotel of this standard. Not enough sun beds and umbrellas when guests arrive back from a day out.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony or a terrace, don't think any of he rooms on the third floor had one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I came for the weekend with our daughter, husband and 2 sons prior to a week in Funchal and we absolutely loved it. We had a charming room in the hotel and they had the 2 bed villa, with a lounge and terrace, in the grounds. The boys, (6 & 4) loved the trip to the Madeira Theme Park, especially the bungee jumping and boat lake, which is only 1o minutes by taxi. We did a wonderful coastal walk, and the setting was sublime. The staff in the hotel were outstanding, helpful and friendly. Great swimming pool too. We all enjoyed the Gala Dinner on Sunday, with entertainment, and all in all it was a terrific choice of hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa if you have a family - there are two, next to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
black forest, Germany
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed 7 days in this exceptional hotel. The whole team was very very kind. We felt really welcome. Even if it is sometimes cloudy in the north of Madeira, the location is beautiful (with cliffs and water fall;-) You can reach all interesting points (Funchal, Ribeiro Frio, Queimadas , Rabacal...) very easy and fast (Besides a Tipp: prefer palheiro gardens in Funchal in stead of jardim Botanico ;-). We enjoyed our breakfast with hot and good coffee (I love it), different fresh fuit and some! fruit juice or different bap (e.g. Müslibrötchen) often outside or do enjoy an exeptional dinner, created with a lot of lovely details and a great tase. And when we came too late from our walking tour, we still get served very friendly and when it was too cold then outside, we get a blanket without asking for it.
Thanks to the whole Furao team. We have such a good time there.
Wirklich etwas besonderes ;-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this very nice hotel. A very relaxing place to be. Beautiful surrounding. Nice and quiet. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Clean room where you feel relaxed. Very nice restaurant with also beautiful view. Nice swimmingpool and garden. We loved to be here and had a very good time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
195 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a real gem if you're after quiet, good food and service and views to die for. Even though the weather was bad while we were there it was a very nice stay! The views are fantastic, the food is really, really good and the staff are very, very friendly. We booked a junior suite and it was worth the higher price as the room was beautifully decorated. I can't fault the hotel at all!

Room Tip: Book a junior suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nebukatnesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santana
11.8 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
13.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
16.9 mi away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
13.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
13.5 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Do Furao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Do Furao Hotel

Property: Quinta Do Furao Hotel
Address: Achada do Gramacho, Santana, Madeira 9230 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Santana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Do Furao Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta Do Furao Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Furao Funchal
Hotel Quinta Do Furao
Quinta Do Furao Hotel Madeira/Santana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing