We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best hotel of the three we stayed at while in Madeira!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Do Furao Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quinta Do Furao Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santana
Certificate of Excellence
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
159 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best hotel of the three we stayed at while in Madeira!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a real gem if you're after quiet, good food and service and views to die for. Even though the weather was bad while we were there it was a very nice stay! The views are fantastic, the food is really, really good and the staff are very, very friendly. We booked a junior suite and it was worth the higher price as the room was beautifully decorated. I can't fault the hotel at all!

Room Tip: Book a junior suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nebukatnesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    78
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
59
284
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spend 10 nights is this nice hotel. The hotel is not to big, about 43 rooms and has an great restaurant.

The employees are very friendly, in those 10 days we never saw an unfriendly face. They made us feel special and at home.

The view is breathtaking and on wednesday we had an diner in the Vineyard. Very great. madeira is an great Island and we will be going back and we will most certainly stay at the Quinta do Furao

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

One of the best places I visited to spend relaxed "do nothing" days. Silence is gold
Great view to the ocean & northern coast of the Island.
I stayed here to run away from the city stress and it was the perfect cure
Very good sleeping experience.
Excellent breakfast regarding the small size of the hotel. Also very good dinning experience - great food !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo-M-F-Santos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Quinta do Furao surpassed our expectations with its spectacular setting and friendly, welcoming service. When my husband injured his leg on a levada walk all staff, including the director, were most caring and helpful, Despite his accident, we left with only wonderful memories of magical Madeira.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in Quinta do Furao during our Levada-walk.holiday, and we enjoyed it very much!
We found a very friendly and helpful receptionist, a warm and inviting atmosphere in the lounge area with a fireplace, tables for playing cards, comfortable furniture and excellent afternoon tea.
The room was neat, we liked the style of furniture. The bathtube - very good after hiking! And we had a terrace of our own with a great view. We liked the restaurant some 100m downhill - even an umbrella was provided in our room. The a la carte menue offered a great variety of dishes, some of them organic and/or homegrown. It was prepared in an excellent way; the stuff was really friendly. Breakfast also was very nice, with a great variety of dishes (even homemade yoghurt and jam). We will certainly come back to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

If I would rate only the hotel I would say "Very good". The restaurant is "poor".
To be entirely correct: The restaurant standard is by no means in line with the hotel standard.

I only give the "terrible" rating for places which give unacceptable service or serve food which is not suitable for human consumption, in which case I would leave without paying.

So "poor" is a tough rating for a restaurant which has excellent staff in the dining room.

What is wrong then?

The kitchen management is totally disconnected from dining standards in 2013.

We had half board, so we had the "pleasure" of undergoing their peir performance for 3 dinners, and a lunch on the first day which was obviously not included in the half board.

Why would one overcook a piece of salmon so it comes in dry fillaments?
Why would one stuff a piece if salmon with a greasy paste with a seafood taste, and then poor some kind of creamy mustard sauce over it?

One of the starters in the half board was a plate with sliced tomatoes and onion rings. Nothing wrong with that, I take this at home very often in summer. But this is a starter which is typical for a 500 peseta menu at the Costa Brava in the eighties. You can not be serious if you serve this in a restaurant with a staff in black tie connected to an upscale hotel.

One of the main courses was a "mini skewer" of beef. (They literally mentioned it was a mini-skewer, so no surprise here....). Nothing wrong with beef skewers, but that is the kind of cooking I expect at uncle John's on his garden barbecue after a couple of pints of lager. The presentation of the mini skewer in a 5kg forged iron sort of "skewer pendulum" may have been impressive in the seventies, but today it is proposterous.

The black scabbard, a very good fish commonly served in Madeiran restaurants was completely spoiled in a tempura like cooking served on rice with tasteless tomato sauce.

I am not sure if the breakfast kitchen is connected the dinner and lunch restaurant, but at breakfast they serve bread comming out of the freezer. The 1st day I had bread with a wet core of about 3cm diameter and in the center of the wet part there was about 1 cm simply frozen. As it was the 1st day, i said to myself: OK the guys had is issue with their supplier, i'll take some of the other bread. No problem. Next day they had the same issue!

Conclusion: The kitchen staff needs a Gordon Ramsey visit.

It is really a pitty , because the hotel is very good. The view from the room is breath taking. Everything is super clean and the staff is super friendly. The place is a very good base for levada walking in the northern part of Madeira, and offers a nice swimming pool and yacuzzi to relax you soar muscles after a day of walking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocoyoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

what a location, what good times at Quinta do Furao ! we were wondering where to go and have a drink or meal at night, but stuck to the hotel bar and restaurant with enormous pleasure. We could even say the price was very fair, after staying in other locations on the island we'll sure be missing this one in particular !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcuenoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santana
13.5 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#13 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
11.8 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
12.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
12.3 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 972 reviews
11.2 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Do Furao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Do Furao Hotel

Property: Quinta Do Furao Hotel
Address: Achada do Gramacho, Santana, Madeira 9230 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Santana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Do Furao Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Quinta Do Furao Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Furao Funchal
Hotel Quinta Do Furao
Quinta Do Furao Hotel Madeira/Santana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing