We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maravilhoso!!”
Review of DOC

DOC
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Armamar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $168
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Douro is river, villages and suspended vineyards on imposing slopes. It's wine with designation of origin but also D.O.C, Taste of Certified Origins. It was based on this analogy that, in 2007, the DOC restaurant was born. Situated in Folgosa, Armamar, on the road between Regua and Pinhao, in what is one of the most beautiful scenic routes in the country, the restaurant occupies a building of contemporary lines with a picket based that extends along an elegant wooden deck overlooking the river. Designed by the architect Michael Scott, the structure also includes a river dock with capacity for 15 boats, a wine cellar and a car park. It's a place of enormous beauty, blending the grandeur of the vineyard covered mountains and the serenity of the Douro river and the riverside villages, only awakened by the regular passage of the train. DOC serves as a window on this breathtaking scenery, making every meal a unique and special moment. Since it opened, the restaurant has been the target of a growing recognition of press and public. David Lopes Ramos, the 'Publico' renowned food critic, thus referring to DOC, in an article published in the 'Fugas' supplement: "DOC is a unique case, because, alone, made the Douro kitchen Douro sophisticated and creative in a level previously unknown. This in Douro, our most prestigious wine region. "
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Maravilhoso!!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Well located restaurant, with a nice view from the Douro river. Nice and friendly staff, amesing food!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francyelletmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    137
    43
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“3rd time to this place, not missing it anymore.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I've been to this place 3 times. I really recommend it to anyone that's passing by and it really is a must... But not anymore to repeat. You will love this place on your first visit: the details of the staff, the nice lady that knows how to welcome the guests, etc. The food is most likely to impress you a lot, it actually made me think why this restaurant didn't have a Michelin star... Nowadays I don't think that anymore. On the last visit the main course took less than 10 minutes to arrive and the temperature was not equal in the whole dish, some parts were cold. I guess they keep most the food pre-ready nowadays. I had monkfish. My wife had the pork and it had absolutely no taste. We could have better pork anywhere else.
I still suggest anyone to visit this place at least once, you will not get disappointed but prepare at least € 50 per person up to € 100! I would only suggest the set menus in case you visit this place for lunch and can enjoy it in 2/3 hours, otherwise don't ask it. It's too much food and you will not the body feeling at the end. For dinner I suggest a la cart.
If you find this review helpful, please vote below. Thanks

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SEMIDEUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“On the way from the Vineyard...do lunch here!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had an amazing lunch at this restaurant after our tour of the Sandeman Winery. The restaurant itself was gorgeous. The food was phenomenal and the staff was very kind. I even bought the cookbook and the chef signed it for me! A must go restaurant if in the area! Also has a great wine selection!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing food and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We absolutely loved our engagement dinner at this restaurant. The staff as extremely friendly and approachable (not typical of an upscale restaurant), and of course the food was delicious! If I ever get back to Pinhao, we will be stopping in again!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LizelMono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We arrived at Rui Paulas DOC with great expectations and left with an empty feeling.

Service: Generally OK, but with lack of enthusiasm and personality, very unlike portuguese standards.

Food: The tasting menu was too traditional and tasteless. The dishes wasn't inspiring at all and we have had better and far more interesting dishes elsewere in Portugal. They ought to take some chances and simply serve far more creative dishes.
Also, with prices like 80€ per menu, you'd expect more from a restaurant like this.

Value: Not worth it, as simple as that.

Atmosphere: Nice environment and landscape, but too far to drive for.

Overall: Disappointing experience. We have had our shares of restaurant experiences, both Michelin rated and not. DOC doesn't belong to this catagory at all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HansStorgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DOC also viewed

Peso Da Regua, Vila Real District
 
Peso Da Regua, Vila Real District
Pinhao, Vila Real District
 

Been to DOC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing