We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a paradise on earth”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edge Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Edge Hill B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 8, 2010

One of the best b&b I've ever seen. Julie & Jesse (b&b hosts) are absolutely lovely. The place is very beautiful and clean and you can have your breakfast in front of one of the most beautiful swimming pool in the world ! But attention, don't go out without anti mosquito spray !
Edge Hill is about 5-10 minutes drive from Cairns centre. We didn't have our own vehicle, but our hosts gave us lift several times..! I highly recommend this place! It's the best place you can find in Cairns area!!!
Maryam & Seb

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryamSeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 74 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2009

This is an absolutely smashing b&b,with lovely hosts and brilliant accommodation. The layout of the place makes for a really relaxing stay.We both loved every minute and when we returned later in our holiday it was just like coming home. Thanks again to Julie,Jesse and family - we will return one day !

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wgtEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

When you stay with Julie and Jesse and family you have the whole ground floor to yourselves.Step out into the garden and you have the most inviting pool you could wish for.Such a lovely place and the nicest people too.If you are going to Cairns with B&B in mind then look no further.

Steve and Carol Mccarthy

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandcastle12645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed 4 nights enjoyed the pool, spacious 2 bed apartment, delicious breakfasts, friendly and helpful hosts Julie & Jesse. The surrounds are relaxing minutes to botanical gardens and small shopping area with restaurants/deli/bottle shop/ATM etc. Recommend to couples and families and very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curioSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We had a wonderful stay in Cairns! The B&B was on a quiet street with parking in front. The bedrooms had individual air conditioners. Breakfast included a fresh fruit platter daily, which was wonderful. The swimming pool was refreshing. The laundry was just outside the apartment. Everything exceeded expectations!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoachFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed two nights and two days.
Location - Edge Hill has a 'village like' feel to it and is a AUD$10 to $15 taxi fair to the airport or the Marina for reef trips and the trip takes about 10 to 15 mins. It backs on to a 'green belt' hill and is close to the Botanical Gardens.
Eats - both nights we ate out - just around the corner and down the road are a choice of eat in or takeaway places. We ate pizza and asian food - both were good and cheap.
B & B - great setting, quiet, clean, TV and dvd/video and had everything else we needed. We had a beer with Jess and Julie and met the kids for a quick chat. Wished we had more time to enjoy the pool and surroundings.
Highly recommended as an alternative to staying in a 'butter box' hotel room.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stumpy1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

A wonderful B&B - highest recommendations. Really has everything that one would want in a B&B. Jessie, Julie, dog and kids are great. Lots of room to spread out (we are a couple, and thinking of bringing a mom next time). Downtown Cairns is not a great place to be if you are over 25, and it was no big deal for us to be away from the downtown scene. Staying in the tropical garden by the pool was the equivalent of staying in a resort - that said, busses to/from the city stop around 5PM, and it may be worth renting a car just to get around (Julie was great about dropping us off places, It was great to stay in a B&B where there was room to spread out. Don't expect a lot to do at night - beer and wine is in the refrig at a nominal fee, and thus a drink and a book is how you can expect to spend your evening. Although the Wifi was not working well when we were there, I understand that it is fixed, and that is a big advantage. It is a short walk to one nice restaurant, and pretty good pizza and very good Thai. However, restaurants are not all open 7 days a week, so ask re: food. Eating by the pool is a special treat. Great garden. Be aware of rainy season. Overall, Stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunnieowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edge Hill
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,129 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
1.3 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#16 of 64 in Cairns
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 61 Walsh St, Edge Hill, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Edge Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Edge Hill
Price Range: $78 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Cairns’ oldest & finest Queenslanders, located in quiet, leafy Edge Hill, five minutes drive from downtown and the airport. Relax in your own private two-bedroom apartment (we only take one booking at a time so there’s no need to share). Enjoy our magnificent swimming pool and gardens. Three minutes walk and you’re in the village of Edge Hill with restaurants, local shops, the Botanic Gardens, rain forest walks, and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Galvin's Edge Hill Bed And Breakfast Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing