We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place to Stay!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edge Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Edge Hill B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous Place to Stay!!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

What a great place to stay! The accommodation was just beautiful and the location was great, with plenty of eating options and a supermarket etc within walking distance. The beautiful Botanic Gardens were also an easy walk away. Julie & Jesse were very hospitable and made us very welcome. The accommodation was immaculate, spacious and beautifully appointed, looking out to the lovely tropical garden and hills beyond. Everything we needed was supplied, including quality toiletries, beach towels, and even a cooler for our picnic! Julie was particularly helpful with her restaurant recommendations and touring suggestions. We could not have been happier and would definitely recommend Galvins.

September 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanneR1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicallows, Owner at Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope the rest of your travels went well. Best regards, Julie and Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
30
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Galvin's Edge Hill B&B is one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in. The location was great and Julie & Jesse were absolutely wonderful as our hosts. The facilities were fantastic as was the garden area where we eat our breakfasts and also one night had a BBQ. The rooms were very comfortable and nicely appointed. Julie made booking for our group to the train/skyrail and the Great Barrier Reef which helped us organize our stay. I would strongly recommend Galvin's Edge Hill B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidPhoenix_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicallows, Owner at Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the feedback. We trust that the rest of your travels went well and you had a good flight home, Best regards, Julie and Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

There is not much I can say that hasn't already been said. We stayed three glorious days in mid May. This is with out a doubt the most amazing B&B. Jesse and Julie are amazing hosts. The two bedroom unit is very well appointed and with access to an outdoor grill and microwave, you really don't need to go out for dinner - unless you want to of course. The amazing array of fresh tropical fruit presented each morning was wonderful and a great introduction to fruits we don't typically see in our part of the world. The pool is wonderful and the beautifully landscaped tropical oasis that is the back yard was perfect for reading and relaxation. I wish we had more time to spend there and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevlawrence55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicallows, Owner at Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Bev and Bob

Greetings from the tropics. It was a real pleasure having you stay with us. Perhaps our paths will cross again one day.

Fond regards

Julie & Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful introduction to Cairns. We were pleasantly surprised with the spacious, quiet rooms and lovely tropical garden area. It was perfect for our family of three, with plenty of space to spread out and relax. The breakfast included local exotic fruits which we ate outside on the patio overlooking the pool and listening to the birdsongs. It is a short walk to the Botanical Garden and Tank Art Museum and there are plenty of restaurants down the street. They are equipped with everything you might need including beach towels and sunhats. Julie was more than helpful with directions, suggestions, access to laundry, etc. We wish we could have stayed longer and would heartily recommend Galvin's Edge Hill B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicallows, Owner at Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review and feedback. Its a pity your stay was so short and you didn't have more time to relax and explore. Hope we can welcome you back sometime soon. Best regards, Julie and Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

In my opinion Galvin's Edge Hill Bed & Breakfast is one of the most beautiful B&B ever. I was there with my best friend from overseas and my idea was show them the beauty of the tropical place, so different from Europe.
Nice, tidy and beautiful inside and outside the house. The swimming pool surrounded by nature is an authentic wedge of paradise. My friends took more picture at home instead in Cairns!
Also the family is really nice and helpful, and Julie was simply amazing!
I'm happy to have found a place like this and for sure it will be my future base in QLD during the next trip Australia.
Thanks a lot Jesse and Julie!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicallows, Owner at Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. We appreciate the feed back. Hope to see you back in this part of the world again sometime soon. Best regards, Julie and Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed with at Galvin’s B&B for a week during our Cairns get away. We couldn’t have picked better accommodation. In fact, the wonderful, self contained two bedroom apartment, stunning swimming pool and enchanted garden made it hard to go exploring!

Jessie and Julie greeted us with a warm welcome, made sure we had everything we needed and presented us with fresh breakfast ingredients on daily basis, including a fabulous fruit platter. Nothing was too much trouble. Jessie even lent us a hand with showing us how to split a coconut we found while we were out. When it was time for us to leave, we felt as if we were leaving behind some newly made friends, not B&B hosts.

The accommodation is self contained, spotless and very comfortable. The hosts look after their guest by providing anything you may need – hats, beach towels, esky, guides etc. The pool is salt water and pristine. The water was divine for my evening swims (even in winter!). Surrounding gardens are breath-taking. The amazing foliage and flowers were absolutely stunning (again, even in winter!). It is also full of surprises – a hidden pagoda, water feature or an outside shower surrounded by a stone wall for privacy and providing hot water all make this place magic to stay at.

The location is great for accessing the city, northern beaches and heading north in general. It’s also only 5 minutes from the airport, so we could kick back at the local Botanic Gardens on our last day, without having to stress about making the flight. There is an amazing choice of dining options around the corner and the hosts will give you pointers that only locals could.

We loved staying at Galvin’s B&B, and hope to one day return on our next family trip to Cairns. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poohooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicallows, Owner at Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind review from trip advisor. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. It was great to see you making yourselves at home and relaxing around the pool. We hope to welcome you back some time in the not too distant future. Best regards, Julie and Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

This was our unexpected stay at this place but we never thought that we will receive such a nice and welcoming service by Julie.

It's a 2 bedroom house which you get to stay and you will get breakfast included.

They helped us out in every possible way, whenever they are available they asked to drop us in town or even at the airport.

This is really exceptional service and I have never seem anyone this much caring for their guests.

No doubt that we will be recommending this place to everyone who comes to visit Cairns.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rishi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicallows, Owner at Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. I'm pleased we were able to accommodate you at the very last minute! We hope you can return one day when it's not work related and have a holiday! All the very beat, Julie and Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edge Hill
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.3 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#20 of 64 in Cairns
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#31 of 64 in Cairns
467 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
2.0 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast
Address: 61 Walsh St, Edge Hill, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Edge Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Edge Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Cairns’ oldest & finest Queenslanders, located in quiet, leafy Edge Hill, five minutes drive from downtown and the airport. Relax in your own private two-bedroom apartment (we only take one booking at a time so there’s no need to share). Enjoy our magnificent swimming pool and gardens. Three minutes walk and you’re in the village of Edge Hill with restaurants, local shops, the Botanic Gardens, rain forest walks, and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Galvin's Edge Hill Bed And Breakfast Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing