We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place really popped our Cork !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edge Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Edge Hill B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had 3 nights at Galvin's at the end of a 3 week holiday covering the Queensland coast and can only endorse what others have said before. This is a beautiful apartment in a lovely house in a peaceful, leafy suburb of Cairns. Good local facilities, close to the airport and an easy drive into town or the north Cairns beaches. The garden is very relaxing with a stunning pool, tropical plants and trees, and plenty of birdlife. The breakfast fruit platter was almost too good to be true. There are enough books to fill a library - we never had time to turn the TV on ! Julie is a perfect host, friendly and helpful yet allowing guests to have their own privacy. If we come back to Cairns we will not need to look elsewhere for top quality accommodation. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The apartment has two doubles - choose when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roebuck47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicallows, Owner at Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2011

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you stay . You certainly made the most of your time here and the perfect weather! Hope the rest of your travels go smoothly and that there are still a few leaves on the trees when you arrive home. Julie and Jesse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 74 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

I stayed here for three nights, in September 2011, and found it a very relaxing, convenient place to stay. Since my flight from the States did not arrive until 11:20 PM, and I then had to pick up my luggage and also my rental car, I was worried about arriving for the first time after midnight. That was no problem; Julie, the very capable and friendly lady of the house, arranged for me to enter without waking the family. The guest accommodations are on the lower floor; there are two bedrooms, a living area, kitchen and bathroom. There is a separate entrance for the lower level which is very convenient.

The bed was very comfortable, the shower fast and powerful, and the breakfast, with fresh fruits, cereals, bread, tea and coffee, and juice was quite nourishing and satisfying. The rear garden is most attractive, with lush tropical vegetation and a large pool. I enjoyed meeting and talking with both Julie and her husband, Jessie.

Cairns has become one of my favorite destinations in the world; I have been there on four occasions and have been fortunate to find two excellent B&Bs - both across the street from each other!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maestrolms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

This is an apartment, lots of space. Your own swimming pool in a tropical garden. Friendly host, who offers to drive you into town when she has the chance (takes 10 minutes. Great place and at a price of $125 for stays of 5 days or more, it's a good deal.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnew_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed here for a few nights in March / April, 2011. We enjoyed our stay here. The hosts, Julie and Jesse, were very congenial and very helpful. We enjoyed the pool, which is refreshing after a day's activities.

We had very wholesome breakfasts - tropical fruits, cereals, yogurt and cheese. Even though the place has two bedrooms, one queen and one with two twin beds, Julie and Jesse only rents out to a party at a time, so the place feels like a retreat, where you can relax in the living room, or take as long as needed in the eating area. Outside of the eating area you can see a rock zen garden.

We were even able to do our laundry, which was very generous of the hosts. This is definitely a plus.

Room Tip: You can have your pick of the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTravelling074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We were very happy with this accommodation which is definitely the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in. It is much more than just a b and b. As well as a bedroom each, we had a comfortable living accommodation, a kitchenette and dining area, and a big shower room. This looked out onto a wooden deck, and a wonderful garden with a very big pool shaped like a tropical rock pool. Bliss to get into at the end if the day.
We were lucky enough to see a flying fox in the garden, which Julie pointed out to us.
The owners, Jesse and Julie, were so helpful and every morning gave us lifts to where we needed to start our day activity and also took us to the airport.
The b and b is located in an attractive suburb of Cairns close to the botanical gardens. We used buses a couple of times without problems.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joolsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed (along with another couple) at Galvin's Edge for two nights. They have a lovely two-bedroom apartment with two baths, one of which has a garden shower. A wonderful continental breakfast with fresh fruit was provided each morning, and refreshments and snacks were also available. They gave us a lift to the boat for the Great Barrier Reef tour and another to the airport the following morning. We would have liked to stay longer and would definitely return. The innkeepers couldn't have been nicer and the pool right outside the door was great too!

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank MDTraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Galvins is a really special place to stay. We have been here a week and have wanted for nothing! We have a hire car, so the 10 minute drive to the centre of Cairns is no problem. The area is really peaceful and, although I worried a little about the noise of the airport, it's nothing but the occassional low rumble as a plane takes off and we didn't notice it at all. There are plenty of shops and places to eat in Edge Hill, which is just a 10 minute walk away.
There are so many thoughtful touches, as many clean beach towels as you need, sun hats, eskies, loads of books (including guides for the reef and Australian wildlife), BBQ, candles & mozzie repellant burners (if you want to sit out by the pool or swim in the evening). Breakfast is delicious fresh fruit along with any bread/muffins/cereal/juice/yogurts you would like. The pool and garden is truly beautiful and the apartment is a real home from home. The laundry facilities are excellent- as is the wi-fi access. There is excellent air con in the bedrooms. There's an outside toilet and pretty 'garden' shower too- if the inside one is in use!
Julie and Jessie are perfect hosts, respectful of privacy yet really friendly and helpful. We will definately come back if we get a chance!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollygamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 61 Walsh St, Edge Hill, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Edge Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Edge Hill
Price Range: $76 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Cairns’ oldest & finest Queenslanders, located in quiet, leafy Edge Hill, five minutes drive from downtown and the airport. Relax in your own private two-bedroom apartment (we only take one booking at a time so there’s no need to share). Enjoy our magnificent swimming pool and gardens. Three minutes walk and you’re in the village of Edge Hill with restaurants, local shops, the Botanic Gardens, rain forest walks, and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Galvin's Edge Hill Bed And Breakfast Cairns Region, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing