We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfortabel, very good bed & breakfast stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kookas Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Edge Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Neuss, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice, comfortabel, very good bed & breakfast stay”
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed two days. Comfortable, quiet, nice and clean accomodation, good view over cairns, friendly hospitality, good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schlange2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
147
26
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We stayed with Marlies and her excellent team at the Kookas for 4 nights in August 2009.

The B&B itself is a great facility, comprising two modern buildings on the top of a hill overlooking the valley in which Cairns is located. The rooms are large, modern and very clean; the beds are large and comfortable. There is a deck with chairs and tables outside each room. There is a large pool with nice deck chairs.

The Kookas serves a great breakfast with delicious coffee, cereals and milk/yoghurt, orange juice, breads and toast, hams and cheeses, honey/jam/marmelade, and a fruit platter with all sorts of tropical fruit we had never tried before. Breakfast is served on a terrace overlooking the valley.

The Kookas will also make lunch or dinner on request. We ordered dinner one night which was a delicious BBQ of beef, chicken, and kangaroo.

The Kookas is located in an upscale neighbourhood just outside the Cairns city centre. Its back yard is the edge of the rain forest which extends up the hill behind the propery, so there are no nearby neighbours, making for a quiet and secluded environment.

The Kookas is a quick drive or bus ride to the city centre. However, if you are in Cairns for the night life, the buses stop running before midnight and the B&B is not really within reasonable walking distance of the city centre (at least not at night). We took a taxi one night for about $15.

Marlies and the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful, and gave impeccable service. She gave us good advice about what to seen in and around Cairns, and recommended different reef tour operators, depending on what type of reef visit we were interested in. We appreciated the little "extras" such as early check-in, helping us fix up our scratches and scrapes (from some coral encounters on the reef), help storing luggage, and a free pickup from the airport.

We had an excellent stay at the Kookas and I've recommended it to my parents who will be visiting Australia later this year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveTMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Kookas was a very nice place to stay, our hosts were very helpful advising us places to visit etc. Nice continental breakfast on the veranda. Our room was ok although we had an adjoining room and the people next door were very noisy. The DVD player did not work in the room. Very steep drive up to the property - glad I wasn't driving but the height gave nice views of the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyprusAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2009

This property is very well located, right nearby the beautiful Botanic Gardens and 10 minutes drive to the Airport or the Port Terminal, from where all the tour boats depart.

Marlies, the proprietor, is an excellent host and will provide lots of info on where to go and which are the best tour operators.

The rooms are large and very well appointed and we had great views overlooking the city. Great swimming pool to relax in.

This B&B was a wonderful find for us, certainly one of the best in the 6 weeks we were in Australia and New Zealand.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2008

I was originally booked at a different B&B, but the proprietor had to leave for a family emergency and found me a room at Kookas, and it couldn't have worked out better.

Kookas is located in the neighborhood of Edge Hill, which is close enough to the Cairns airport and CBD to be convenient, but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. It's an easy walk to the bus, and the shops in Edge Hill, and is also only a short walk to a couple of local attractions, the Cairns Botanical Gardens and the Flying Doctors Service.

One caution: Kookas has a very steep, long driveway, and some taxi drivers are reluctant to go up. Reassure them that there is plenty of room at the top to park and turn around.

The house is beautiful, with rainforest in back, a good sized pool, and a stunning view from the deck. My room was spacious and clean, with its own private entrance, TV, and ensuite bathroom. The continental breakfast was excellent, and always featured fresh, local fruit, some of which I'd never heard of. Marlie, the owner, was very knowledgeable and took great care of me, advising me on which tours I'd enjoy, booking tours, making arrangements. She was also kind enough to be willing to prepare breakfast early when my tour left at stupid o'clock in the morning, and even called out for pizza one night and shared it with me over a glass of wine when I was too tired to venture out for dinner. Marlie, and her helper Ute couldn't have been more gracious.

I'd recommend Kookas to anybody visiting Cairns who wants a clean, comfortable place to stay, while still conveniently close to town, and a gracious host who makes you feel like you're at home.

  • Liked — The service. Marlie was fantastic.
  • Disliked — No dislikes at all.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SeahorseJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester england
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2008

We stayed here on the recommendation of another bnb proprietor which we had booked through tripadviser. It was absolutely lovely, gorgeous room and bathroom, aircon, lovely food and immaculately clean. We were tired so Marlies cooked us a very nice evening meal which was reasonably priced. The breakfasts were gorgeous too and plentiful. The wildlife was great with 2 semi tame kookaburras joining us on the veranda at mealtimes..... The small pool was just right for me and very relaxing....Heavenly....
Marlies and Bruno can't do enough for their guests and I cannot recommend it too highly. Very reasonably priced for the stay we thought.I wished I could have stayed longer than a few days.

  • Liked — comfortable and relaxing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank melandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edge Hill
2.0 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
592 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
5.1 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.8 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#17 of 64 in Cairns
341 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookas Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kookas Bed & Breakfast
Address: 40 Hutchinson St | North Cairns, Edge Hill, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Edge Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Edge Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kookas Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lush, cool surrounds of Kooka's Bed & Breakfast make this the perfect place to enjoy the warm climate of North Queensland. Nestled in tropical Rainforest of Far North Queensland on the foot of Mount Whitfield in Edge Hill it is the best spot for your relaxing holiday in Cairns.The superb architecture of Kooka's Bed & Breakfast makes the most of the property’s magnificent surrounds. An inviting, open deck leads you out from the lounge and towards the expansive views of the south. Discover the refreshing pool, the tropical garden, or simply do nothing at all – it’s all yours to enjoy.All rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated and screening ensures for comfort all year round. Each room features air conditioning, ceiling fans, smoke alarm and separate entry. As well as Coffee making facility, fridge, TV & DVD player.Kooka's Bed & Breakfast is located in Cairns, your gateway to the magnificent wonders of Tropical North Queensland; the Great Barrier Reef, World Heritage Rainforest and great Australian Outback. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kookas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookas Bed & Breakfast Cairns Region/Edge Hill, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing