We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Family Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chalets Montmorency Mont-Sainte-Anne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the Chalet Montmorency Condo for 3 nights and we had a free upgrade frmo 4-bedroom to a 5-bedroom condo at a very affordable price. Condo was big/spacious and clean. We had a nice view of the mountains from the deck of our condo. It's our first time in Quebec and we had a wonderful experience. Chalets Montmorency is a beautiful place, staff were very accomodating, friendly, speaks English, and so "trusting". We had no problem checking in late (past 10pm), you just have to call the management and let them know. The condo is close to groceries, resto, Mcdonald's and tourist attractions. We highly recommend this lovely place to our family and friends. --- Angelita L.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMontmorencyCM, Owner at Chalets Montmorency Mont-Sainte-Anne, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Hello Jill C,

Thank you for this great review, we like to upgrade our guests when we can. We really appreciate your review and comments. You make us love our work that even more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 222 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

The two of us were given a chalet for 6, so the "house" was very big and the fact that there were two bathrooms, one with a Jacuzzi and one with a shower, was to our liking!! Spending summer in a ski area is funny but we needed relaxation, hikes and we went to see the whales by driving from there! The cottage had all the amenities: a full kitchen with any cookware you may need, a comfortable couch and loveseat, a nice TV (if you need it on vacation!), a nice dinign area and a balcony from wich to watch the sunset and while sipping your favourite drink! Pros: quiet, private, you can cook in (supermarket 7 minutes away by car, don't go to the local store, too expensive!). Cons: no housekeeping, no A/C, no open restaurants walking distance in summer; also, the female person at the reception is really nice but the male guy needs you to speak French to be nicer :-)

Room Tip: We had Chalet N. 18 and there are 4 bedrooms and 2 baths, washer and dryer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMontmorencyCM, Owner at Chalets Montmorency Mont-Sainte-Anne, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Hello Robyuan,

Thank you for this great review, when we can we like to offer spacious accommodation to our clients. As for not having A/C, we understand the comment and although it would be nice, on a long term scale here at Mont-Sainte-Anne we would maybe need it for 2 months out of the year so we dedided not to install A/C machines in our units. However, base on comments like yours, we now have 2 fans per 1 & 2 bedroom units and 3 fans per 3 bedroom units and up. I hope you'll try us during the winter, it is MAGICAL!

Celine got to read your great review about her and as for our guy; english is our second language, maybe it is a bit more challenging to express us in a nicer way. We apologize for that.

Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We are a AAA girls soccer team from the Montreal area. Our girls soccer team had a game in Beauport during the long Victoria weekend and we decided to make a weekend getaway out of it. We ended up renting several golf villas for all the players and their parents and really enjoyed our weekend. The villas were clean, spacious and well equipped with everything we needed. The staff were very flexible and accomodating for us. We had a great BBQ party on the Sunday night. Following their soccer game, the girls were able to freshen themselves up in the heated indoor pool and then relax in the hot tub. We were lucky to have nice weather for May. The villas had an incredible view of Mont Ste-Anne and the blue skies behind them made the view that much better. We definitely recommend this place for any type of weekend getaway - group, sports team, family, etc... Note: There is also an IGA & Super C about 7 minutes away so you can pick up your things before checking in. The villas have fully-equipped kitchens!!!!

Room Tip: All villas have balconies equipped with BBQs (spring/summer months) and all balconies face the mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMontmorencyCM, Owner at Chalets Montmorency Mont-Sainte-Anne, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hello Charles B,

Thank you for your great review for our Golf Villas; they have indeed the best view of Mont-Sainte-Anne. I hope your girls did well at the tournament!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The condos at the Chalet Montmorency are becoming like a familiar friend after 4 years of staying there for a late April ski vacation! We discovered this lovely place on the Internet and are so happy that we did. From the minute we check in with Celine at the front desk, we are made to feel welcome and we so look forward to each visit. Every year we notice that the condo has been freshly painted and the furniture and the beds and kitchen equipment is all in order and very clean. This year we also were pleasantly surprised to see that the pool and pool room were also freshly painted. We spend a lot of time there with our young child who loves it there! The grounds are well kept and there is a nice little grocery store and a bank within walking distance. The skiing at Mt.St.Anne was excellent just last weekend ( April 20, 2013) and there is also a wonderful walking path to the mountain for the non skiers in your group. Quebec City is an easy 30 min. drive and after a busy day there, it is fantastic to be able to return to the peace and quiet of the Chalets Montmorency. We would heartily recommend this wonderful place to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunapeeskibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMontmorencyCM, Owner at Chalets Montmorency Mont-Sainte-Anne, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for your great review, we are very happy to know you spent a great vacation with your family with us. We look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed here in the past (more than 4yrs ago) I've been out of the country and when I stayed here last (normally 2-3 times a year) it was a great bang for the buck! Kitchenette, with a pool located on site and 10 min walk to the base of saint Anne. Well I just got back to this part of the world and I have to say I'm SUPER bummed about what was a gem has turned into a lump of coal! The hallway smelled musty and stale, the room was very outdated, the cupboard doors hardly closed, the vertical blinds must have been original and missing slats, the bed was original from 1980 and the towels were thicker than the pillows. On top of that I had better towels at the gym I go to. unless they do some massive overall, save your money and look someplace else. I've stayed in cleaner hostels in third world countrys.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleskier14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMontmorencyCM, Owner at Chalets Montmorency Mont-Sainte-Anne, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hello Little Skier 14,

Please let me reply to your comments and review as I personally think you didn’t give us a fair review.

We are sorry that Chalets Montmorency didn’t meet your expectations, I just wish you could've come to our reception to discuss the situation and we could've find a solution for you. We take care of our clients needs.

First of all we rely on our staff, our clientele and our input to improve our units; as a family business we do take these comments very seriously and we try our best to make sure our units are clean, comfortable and working properly for our clients. We invest every year to improve and keep our buildings in order but you have to remember that we are a single family and our means are calculated with some priorities.

In 2009 we changed all the flooring and painted the building you stayed in plus a second one.
In 2010 until now we renovated 50% of our Golf Villas with new flooring, bathrooms, furniture etc...
Last year we spent over $100 000 in roofing, foundation, exterior and invested $50 000 in our pool. Unfortunately, these improvements are invisible but are necessary.

Every year we change any uncomfortable bed that’s been reported to us or that we judged needing replacements not to mention all improvements needed in our units.

As for your comments;

1. The room was very outdated; yes we have melamine kitchen cupboards, bathroom vanity and headboards but they are all functional. Our units have a rustic ski chalet essence with our colors, flooring, window treatment and bed comforter etc...
2. The cupboards doors hardly closed; we apologize these should’ve been readjusted before your stay.
3. Vertical blinds, I apologize if they were missing slats; if we would’ve known when you first checked in we would’ve move you or fix the blinds for you. If they do work properly then why change them... we are a business that do not throw everything to the garbage because they are “out of fashion”, we like to think that if they are practical and working we will keep them until they brake then replace the broken ones with curtains.
4. The bed originated from 1980 and the thickness of our pillows, if you refer to our headboard then yes it’s the original from 1985. It’s functional and clean. If you refer to the bed quality, again, we rely on the clients; we do have a policy regarding our beds and we change them regularly based on priority. If we just look at the average rating on Trip Advisor we have a 3.76 rating for our sleep quality, I think it speaks for itself, not to mention all the great reviews we get at check out.
5. As for our cleanliness; I am deeply shocked by your comments; we’ve been ranked top from the AAA and CAA with mentions of “outstanding cleanliness” and again if I base on our average on Trip Advisor we get a 3.92 rating.

I hope this helps clarify some of your points and I really hope you will contact us to discuss further this unfair review with me personally.

We are trying our best at satisfying our clients and we do take care of our units.

Thank you

Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is very simple, yet confortable, a real kitchen with everything like home. It is rustic and minimalist but it does the job. My second visit there and I will go back. The price is so very affordable that I can deal with low qualty shampoo and a bathroom fan which didn't work.

Room Tip: There is pool which is very popular but we didn't have our bathing suits; certainly enjoyable af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletsMontmorencyCM, Owner at Chalets Montmorency Mont-Sainte-Anne, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Catherine H,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate any comments to improve our condominiums.
We will verify our fans to make sure they work properly.

Thank you and looking forward to welcome you in the near future.

Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Chalet Montmorency for the Ontario March break 2013. We stayed in unit 41, a 3 bedroom unit. This is our 4th visit to the area, staying at different locations each time.

The pros:
The reception staff was friendly, courteous, and very helpful
unit was clean appeared to have been painted at the beginning of the season
3 full bathrooms
2 minutes from Mont-Sainte-Anne
35 minutes from Le Massif and downtown Quebec City
kitchen was reasonably well equipped - no kettle or measuring cups though.
pool and spa room were clean and never busy
free unlimited WiFi
ski storage room right inside front door.

Cons:
unit always had a musty smell to it
most convenient electrical outlets - top plug would not hold a plug - falls out - obviously worn out
3 full bathrooms - lots of signs not to throw anything into toilets - yet only 1 bathroom garbage can
bathrooms and kitchen could do with an upgrade take them out of the 80's
unit sleeps 8, yet only 4 kitchen table chairs and 3 stools
had to fix blind and dresser drawer in front bedroom upon arrival
towel are plentiful - but some are threadbare
Never any hot water for showers - luke warm at best

In closing, for the money we spent (2K) for the week, we expected better and were very disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 41 had excellent view of mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walker385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoda85, Owner at Chalets Montmorency Mont-Sainte-Anne, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hello everyone out there most of our guests are happy . I personally took a visit to this unit and (see below ) I did contact the client to get his side of the story since he did leave a comment sheet plus the bad rating in TRIP ADVISOR .

He could have mentioned upon arrival all this but chose not to . His rating is unfair . No this is not the norm here . Had he done this all his little details would have been done while he skiied the first day .

A professional plumber verified the hot water tanks for this condo and all fonction very well . I personally counted the chairs there are 4 at the table plus 3 stools at the counter and 4 in the bedrooms . I agree at the kitchen counter for the toaster and coffee maker these plugs need to be replaced the balance seem fine . The musty smell results from the artificial wax logs used in the fireplace . The cable line has been tacked properly I agree it was loose . I found 2 of the 3 bathrooms have garbage cans

For this clients insatisfaction I will issue him a credit of $300 for a future reservation anytime since he did find some positive PROS about my place .

JOHN Barclay , OWNER

Mr. Barclay:

Thank you for the email. The rate that was quoted was $1626.9 plus taxes for a total of $1926.15, that was on the invoice. I noted that there was deposit of $232 taken at the time of book - which left a sub total of $1626.90 which I paid on check in.

In relation to the condition of the unit, the lock on the door to the deck that was broken, I asked to have it fixed it was done that day while we were skiing. The other issues with the unit, like the cable for the TV being installed unprofessionally, the plugs falling out of the top of the outlet, missing garbage cans etc. was just something we lived with. I guess in hindsight we could have brought the litany of issues to the staff at the front desk; however, based on the condition of the unit its appeared to be a something that was the norm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Ferreol-Les-Neiges
0.8 mi away
Chateau Mont-Sainte-Anne
4.6 mi away
Quality Suites Mont Sainte Anne
Quality Suites Mont Sainte Anne
#1 of 7 in Sainte Anne de Beaupre
79 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hebergement Mont-Sainte-Anne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chalets Mont Sainte-Anne
1.8 mi away
Club Vacances Toutes Saisons
3 mi away
La Camarine
La Camarine
#3 of 4 in Beaupre
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Montmorency Mont-Sainte-Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Montmorency Mont-Sainte-Anne

Address: 1768 Royale Avenue, Saint-Ferreol-Les-Neiges, Quebec G0A 3R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Saint-Ferreol-Les-Neiges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Saint-Ferreol-Les-Neiges
Price Range: $123 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalets Montmorency Mont-Sainte-Anne 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalets Montmorency, located 800 metres (1/2 mile) from the downhill ski slopes at Mont-Sainte-Anne and the Grand Vallon golf course, are next to 200 kilometres (124 miles) of winter cross-country ski trails and summer mountain biking trails, as well as the golf course Le Saint-Ferreol. Visitors will enjoy legendary European charm at Chalets Montmorency. This four season resort village is run by John Barclay (director of the ski school from 1985 to 1988) and his two daughters, Jessica and Melissa, who always keep in mind the needs of skiers. You will find spacious condos, houses and 1 to 8 room villas, with fireplace, a full kitchen and wireless internet. An indoor pool and whirlpool are waiting for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Chalets Montmorency Mont-Sainte-Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalets Montmorency Mont-Sainte-Anne Saint-Ferreol-Les-Neiges, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing