We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back again - Very impressed!”
Review of Countryman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Countryman Inn
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I'll be back again - Very impressed!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

What a find! I only booked as it was colsest to where I needed to be for business, but I can honestly say this is one of the best places I've stayed for ages.
I have a lovely, warm, well appointed room. The menu is vast & both meals I've had have been excellent as was breakfast. The staff are friendly & helpful. Sitting in front of a real fire with a good pint & wide choice of newspapers - no better way to pass a stormy evening in Dorset.
They just need better signage off the main road! Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank More_holidays_needed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    53
    26
    13
    12
See reviews for
58
50
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

A well run pub in a lovely part of Dorset. Rooms are well appointed and everything worked. I was delighted to find my room had SKY but unfortunately the box, which was just left on the floor, only provided the main BBC and ITV channels plus a few other odd ones. Irritatingly many came up on the guide but couldn't be viewed. Bed was comfortable and shower worked well. There was a little bit of noise coming from the bar below, but all was quiet after closing time. The evening meal was excellent both in terms of choice and quantity. Some good beers are stocked too. Check-in is at the bar and you have to carry your bags etc past the regulars as there is no separate hotel door, but no big deal. Staff are friendly and attentive. Car parking is extensive with some spaces right outside and more in a customers car park just a bit further away. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bazzer_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just arrived back home after four fantastic nights at The Countryman. Lovely warm welcome,super room-Honeymoon Suite-spotless.(Maybe could have done with another chair) Mark and Karen have a great team working for them and nothing was too much trouble-great to be able to have a good laugh and a joke with them-Lizzie is a star -Matt was great-so were the rest-Donna,Ross-too many to name-but all were always smiling making sure everything was okay. Really enjoyed the food. All in all Superb time. Going to try and get down again before Xmas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here quite a few times now and my opinion hasn't changed absolutely fantastic!! Mark and Karen and the rest of the team offer a fantastic service. This time we went to celebrate my mums birthday and they couldn't have done more to help me with organising something special for her. Will be returning again me next year.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephmassey2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay here. But it could have been so much better. Rooms were nice and spacious but not a chair in sight hence not very comfortable. Bathrooms were lovely but there was virtually no pressure in our shower. The meals were either great or not very good. The pub had a nice atmosphere but there's hardly a comfy seat to be had in the whole place. Staff were very pleasant but they didn't always seem to know what they were doing. The place needs focus and the kitchen needs a firm hand to ensure consistency. I was glad that we checked our bill as there were meals on it that we didn't have! The setting is lovely, however.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Apt611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I would highly recommend this accommodation. Mark and Karen [the owners] are exceptional hosts, nothing is too much trouble. Their staff are a huge credit to them, especially Lizzie, Matt and Donna who make you feel really welcome, it's like being at home with lots of friends, not a place you are staying at. The food is beyond belief, tasty and so 'moreish' with plenty of choice for all. This was my second visit and I will definitely be going back next year.
A big thank you to all at The Countryman Inn.

Room Tip: You will need to check if you are disabled as I don't think they have a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We decided to take a last minute 2 day break to Dorset. My husband booked this Inn through a booking agency as we were very impressed with the photos on-line. Not so impressed with the agency, so make sure you book direct.
We were not disappointed, this is a lovely property. It is tucked out of the way but is very popular. We were lucky to have 2 very hot days, so the garden was an added bonus. When we checked in the staff made us feel very welcome. Our room was spacious and clean. They also have a very extensive menu, so we used the restaurant for both nights of our stay. Food was excellent and again the staff were second to none. Breakfast was included in the price of our stay and the full English was huge, so beware if you haven't got a big appetite !
Just one small negative (might not bother everyone). Our room was directly above the bar toilets and every half hour during the night we could hear the men's urinals flushing, as a light sleeper, I found this rather annoying.
Thank you to Mark & Karen and all the staff we met for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Room 5 is above the bar toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Knighton
9.8 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
927 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bere Regis
132 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
355 reviews
1.8 mi away
Frome Dale
Frome Dale
#2 of 5 in Wool
70 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#2 of 4 in Winfrith Newburgh
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Countryman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countryman Inn

Property: Countryman Inn
Address: A352 Blacknoll Lane, East Knighton DT2 8LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > East Knighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Knighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Countryman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Countryman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Countryman Hotel East Knighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing