We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub”
Review of Countryman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Countryman Inn
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a lovely pub with very good food. The room was spacious and comfortable with lots of little extras. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. There is a really nice childrens play area in the garden. I will definitely stay here again next time I come to Dorset.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vamoose1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 179 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

The best pub i have ever stayed at the dogs looked for the owner Mark more than me as he gives free treats to them and always offers bowls of water. The children loved the play area and the odd free lollipop from behind the bar when they were good and ate all their dinner which they did better for Mark than they do at home.
All my wife has talked about is when can we go back and see Mark! Great location for coast and attractions. Room amazing two adults, three children and dogs all in a very large room with no surcharge.food all day and fantastic quality and huge portions. Free sky tv in room and in bar and great atmosphere with the locals and the breakfast staff are wonderfully. If only they could get a big sign on the main road as it is a little tricky to find (but full every night we were staying) but maybe that's why it is so good - you have to find it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abrahamlincol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed for two nights over a Sunday and Monday with our daughter and little dog Ralphie. On arrival we were invited to our room (room 1) and were instantly impressed by the cleanliness and overall presentation of the room, lovely views over the garden and the complimentary tea, coffee and mineral water. The staff were magnificent, they couldn't have done more for us, cheerful and courteous and exceptionally professional, they were great with our daughter who loved playing on the fabulous timber play area. The breakfast kept us going all day and like our evening meals were decent size portions of well presented and well cooked food. We will be coming back as often as we can. We had a great stay.

Room Tip: If you are staying with children room 1 is a great option with a double and two single beds and plen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daran E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent two nights here exploring Dorset. Lovely room (No.5), very comfy and spacious. Plenty of space even with the double and two single beds for the kids. Sky tv and en-suite. The whole Inn was recently refurbished and it shows. Very clean and tidy. Attentive staff, good food, cannot recommend highly enough. Already booked to go back in August. Really handy for Tank Museum and coast around Lulworth and Corfe Castle.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed for two nights in room 6. The room was immaculate. The decor is stylish green and grey, the bed comfy with high quality cotton sheets. The bathroom is modern and clean. In addition to the usual tea, coffee and biscuits there were bottles of mineral water. There was a large TV with Sky, on a revolving stand, so you can look at it from either the single or the double bed. There was also wifi.

The food was good - nothing too adventurous but all tasty and freshly prepared. Be warned, the portion sizes all seem very generous!

They advertise a breakfast buffet, but as I was the only guest, mine was cooked to order - again, very generous portions.

There's a garden with a great looking play area for children and plenty of car parking. As the pub is down a tiny country lane, it's very quiet with lots of birdsong.

In addition to all of this, what really makes this Inn is the people. All the staff I interacted with were unfailingly friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. A really high standard of customer service.

I would definitely go back.

Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caiparinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed at the Countryman as an extra night tagged onto our holiday and we couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised. The accommodation was fantastic and the pub is really nice. We didn't eat in the evening as we arrived quite late but the staff couldn't be faulted - both in the evening and for the fantastic breakfast in the morning. Very friendly and helpful.

The family room we had was great, spacious enough and well decorated.

My only reason for not giving 5 stars is due to the noise in the evening. The accommodation is above the main bar which was very busy (we stayed on a Friday night) and there was loud music playing directly below our room until 11:30pm - to be expected I guess but it didn't help our children (11 and 8) to sleep and therefore was the only damper of our stop over. If you plan to stay in the bar until closing time and want convenient, clean accommodation close to Lulworth then I don't think you could ask for better.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Fatworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Found on late-rooms after not be able to find any usual hotel chain 'inn' accommodation available after leaving it a bit late on a Bank Holiday weekend. Overall very impressed as was not sure what to expect. Greeting on arrival very friendly, efficiency of booking in great although room allocated by late-rooms did not tally with what they had assigned. But not an issue. Room very clean, everything there as promised maybe a bit small but expected & characterful. Generally looks like there has been considerable money spent on renovations which is good. Opted for a carvery on our first night and again this was very good, the Carvery host is a bit of a witty character, could not fault the food or service and as our daughter has allergies they made us a one off gravy for her which was really nice. Our breakfast table had a nicely personalised welcoming message which was a nice touch the full English breakfast was all readily available and again nothing to criticise all was well cooked, nice sausages and thick bacon up to my highish standards. Overall a very good experience and I would not hesitate to recommend this Inn to fellow travellers looking to explore Dorset attractions which by the way are very close by. The owners are getting it right keep it up! (The only point I could possibly criticise on would have been nice to have a fan in the room as I find hotel rooms stuffy lol)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrDodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Countryman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countryman Inn

Address: A352 Blacknoll Lane, East Knighton DT2 8LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > East Knighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Knighton
Price Range: $121 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Countryman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Cancelon so you can book your Countryman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Countryman Hotel East Knighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing