We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under New Management”
Review of Countryman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Countryman Inn
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Under New Management”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We returned to the Countryman when we heard it was under new management . It was the last lunchtime before a full re-furbish of the dining room and kitchen . The carvery was excellent and good value , the beer was great ,the staff were helpful and cheerful , unlike the last visit some 2 months previous !! I look forward to re-newing our relationship with the Countryman when it re-opens on the 24th October . The outside has been refreshed and if the garden and inside follows then this will be the pub to visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    52
    26
    13
    12
See reviews for
58
49
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Booked an overnight stop here on the way to play golf in the West Country. Unfortunately what we thought was going to be a pleasant rural stop over was spoilt a little by the fact that the place was shrouded in scaffolding and about to be closed down for a refurb in the next few weeks!

Still the staff were cheerful and helpful and the food was fine. The room we stayed in was a little basic but given that the refurb should take care of this I'm sure that visitors after the work will be suitably impressed. Will try the place again when next in the area - after the completion of building works!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortsmouthDiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed for one night with our grandchildren on a visit to the Tank Museum and everything went really well.
All of the staff were both friendly and helpful and explained that they will be closing later this month to carry out a total refurbishment and I really believe it will become "the" place to stay in the area.
Our dinner and breakfast were very good with large servings and the children appreciated the play area and the free pool table.
We plan to return in November to see how things have changed.
Thankyou and good luck.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdjlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here overnight on the 30th August and all the staff were very nice and made us feel very welcome. Food was good. Clean and tidy, the hotel is closing in September for a overhaul which it does need only due to wear and tear of the facilities. Staff were helpful in regards to things to do around the area, we had a lovely time in Dorset and would book in at the Countryman Inn if we were around the area again, good luck to the new owners.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

To all motorhome/campers. Bank holiday in August 2012 2 Adults & 2 boys).

I had contacted the pub and asked if we could stop overnight in there car park as plan to do day trips out. When speaking to Mark (Landlord), he allowed us to stay as many nights as we would like FREE! and no obligation to eat at pub. He also offered to hook up with electricity for our fridge and lighting etc FREE.

I asked if we could put a tent up due to my son wanting to bring a friend (camper only sleeps 3). Landlord offered us a spare room (Due to be refurbished) and he would put to beds in room just for the boys to put their head down at night and yes FREE. The boys were allowed in the pub anytime, huge telly, FREE pool table, darts and lovely gardens.

The point being, we were made so welcome and the staff were great. The pub is a typical country pub (I heard that the pub is having a complete refurb next year) and serves good food and the boys (11 & 13yrs) said "wow Mark and staff were really nice to us". We will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A large group of us had a carvery meal in this, our local pub.
Couldn't complain about the food or friendliness of the staff, but the tables and chairs were very sticky, to the point where as I left my seat, my shirt stuck to the back of it!
The one thing that really spoilt our experience, was the member of bar staff that visited the toilet at the same time as me and promptly left without washing his hands, to carry on serving drinks etc!
This has certainly put me off visiting again, which is a pity as the atmosphere was relaxing and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wherever
Level Contributor
223 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This review is for the restaurant only - we did not stay at the hotel.

We had reserved a table for 5 persons for 7pm. We arrived on time; ordered drinks from the bar and sat down at our table.

Our order was finally taken at around 7.30 pm and we were told that it would take 20 minutes. 45 minutes later when not food had been served we complained and were told it was being cooked.

Given that I had a long drive home afterwards the delay was not acceptable.

A further problem was that at least two tables who had come in after us were served before hand - which is not acceptable practice.

We had to ask for water three times.

The main courses were excellent when they eventually arrived but the desserts were very bland and poor value-for-money.

The table was partly cleared and then left. The waiter could be seen behind the bar - chatting to the other waiting staff rather than doing the job properly.

Being situated in the middle of nowhere, the new owners better buck up thir ideas as people will not drive for such service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Knighton
7.0 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
427 reviews
1.8 mi away
Frome Dale
Frome Dale
#2 of 5 in Wool
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Kemps Country House
Kemps Country House
#1 of 2 in East Stoke
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#2 of 4 in Winfrith Newburgh
166 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lulworth Cove Inn
Lulworth Cove Inn
#3 of 13 in West Lulworth
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Countryman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countryman Inn

Property: Countryman Inn
Address: A352 Blacknoll Lane, East Knighton DT2 8LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > East Knighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Knighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Countryman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Countryman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Countryman Hotel East Knighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing