We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Countryman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Countryman Inn
Glenrothes,Fife,Scotland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Lovely Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Countryman Inn. It is in a great location for Monkey World, which was the main reason for our 500 mile journey, and Bovington Tank museum.
We were allocated room 6 which was clean, tidily maintained and much larger than we had anticipated. The ensuite is a bath with a shower head attachment. It is a very old building and the ceiling and full of character. The food was excellent, good breakfasts and we ate both nights in the restaurant. It was extremely busy on the Saturday night.
The locals are friendly, as are the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for Scott the barman or Peter the owner, who injects his own brand of humour into conversations which we found to be very funny. A special thanks to Peter's son Patrick, a very nice polite young man who went out his way to tell us of other local places of interest such as Tyneham Village. He took the time to ask us how we enjoyed Monkey World and engaged us in conversation along with some locals. You just don't get such a personal welcome in larger establishments.
We thought the Countryman Inn was an excellent, quietly and conveniently located base for our 2 night stay and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeandSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    51
    25
    13
    12
See reviews for
57
47
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

Stayed one night on business. Restaurant closed due to a fire in the kitchen so had go down the road for a meal.Because of this they knocked £20 off the price.
Breakfast was good and the staff were all very friendly.
Rooms are a bit dated but it's such a quiet and pretty location I didn't mind.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed over at the Countryman before a day at Studland Bay. We knew the Countryman from when we lived in Weymouth - sone 15 years ago - and it was famous for its cuisine then - it hasn't changed. Dinner was very good, although small items such as the cheap, thin cuttlery, and tired tables did detract somewhat. That word - tired - could also be said about the general pub decoration and bedroom fittings. For example, the outside could do with a good repaint and the surounds generally tidied up - one courtyard seen from a landing window was especially in need of attention. The bedroom carper was rucked in places and all carpets could have done with a good shampoo - not just a vacuum! The paintwork could have been 'finished' properly and there was, bizarely, no shower curtain over the bath. The bed was hard but comfy, although the pillows ere 'lumpy'. A large banner on the way in advertised 'Now Open After The Fire', but we saw no sign of any fire damage. Saying all this, the food, including breakfast, was excellent, the general atmosphere amiable and staff exceedingly friendly and efficient, all combining to make our stay a very enjoyable one. We will return, but please, a bit of attention paid to this tired 'old lady' would take our rating from 4 to 5 stars.

Room Tip: Try no 6 but be prepared to for a bizarre shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clothesoptional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

didnt stay here ( thank god) but went for a mean with friends, beware if you have been before and it was fantastic it has changed hands lots of times in the past 2 or 3 years!! our party of 7 all had the carvery and were told to go up when we were ready, the frst 3 got their meals then they ran out of veg and potatoes so the rest were told to sit down for 20 minutes!! when it was finally ready one of the party asked for a little more meat and the reply was " that's all you get for £8.95. on changing the joint of meat they splashed a customer with hot fat all over their shirt with out a word of apology!! if you like frozen veg and aunt bessie yorkshire's then you will like it, if you want a nice carvery i would look else where!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bass2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

Our food was horrid, my child's meal deep fried, waitress and staff clearly couldn't be bothered at all, prices were so high for the food we received and when I complained the waitress was rude and the manager stood behind the bar looking smug! I've never had such appalling food or service in my life! Seven stars further down the road is loads nicer.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emz221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

My wife, 10 year old daughter and I stayed here for one night whilst en route to a trip further down the country and from the moment we puled into the packed car park at 1pm on the Sunday afternoon, we knew it must be a popular venue. The building itself exudes a lovely rustic charm and when you enter the establishment the decor is of a sympathetic nature to the age and style of the building with exposed timbers and olde world charm.
The first thing that greeted us as we entered was the gorgeous smell of food which was emanating from the carvery and when the customers paraded past us with plates of this sumptuous spread, it made us want to tuck in then and there.
As soon as we approached the bar, a very friendly greeting awaited us by the manager and this was nice as we were treated like one of the regulars in an instant with jovila banter and a smile. We were shown to our room (no.2) after a couple of drinks and we were pleasantly surprised. It was fresh and airy and overlooked the rear terrace and had an ensuite shower along with a double and single bed. Tea and coffee making facilities were plentiful and there was a flat sceen TV but alas only 4 channels. The bedding was very well laundered and the room was spotlessly clean if a tad dated on the decor but you will not be disappointed at all. Now for the beds, and they are a hotbed of discussion and something of a personal preference , suffice to say that my daughter loved her single bed but our double was firmer than we like........thats it for the only grumble!!!
The locals are a friendly lot and also made us feel welcome, actively engaging us in conversation which is a rarity in my part of the world! The food served there is good value, great quality and plentiful so you really are well catered for in the gastronomic department and the breakfast was of equal good measure and the staff are warm, courteous and efficient.
This place is a real find and if you are looking for some good old fashioned country hospitality then you cannot go wrong with The Countryman Inn...........we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustaphashite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

Booked a room for the 31st July 2011 for a friends' wedding reception. Paid £20 deposit.
I had to cancel the booking today, giving 2 MONTHS notice ! as the wedding party had changed the venue for the reception. The cancellation of my booking was NOT my fault but when I asked for a refund of my £20 , I was rudely told they don't do refunds (I was not told this when I booked the room) and that I should ask the bride for my money back. It might look like a nice place, but the same can't be said for the Management!

Room Tip: Book a room somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherlock68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Knighton
3.6 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
7.0 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
9.8 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lulworth Cove Inn
Lulworth Cove Inn
#3 of 13 in West Lulworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kemps Country House
Kemps Country House
#1 of 2 in East Stoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Countryman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countryman Inn

Property: Countryman Inn
Address: A352 Blacknoll Lane, East Knighton DT2 8LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > East Knighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Knighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Countryman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Countryman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Countryman Hotel East Knighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing