We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming stay”
Review of The Tithe Barn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tithe Barn
Ranked #1 of 2 Stanton Drew B&B and Inns
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A charming stay”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My mother and I were looking for a last minute place to stay near the Bristol area and found this place online. We gave Steve a call and he was polite from the offset and through out. The room was very pleasant and clean but the property was beautiful and surrounded in 10 acres of land. The couple continuously went the extra mile to ensure the stay was just as we had hoped it would be including calling the local pub to ask if it was open for us before we even had to ask! I would definitely recommend, a really lovely family business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
17
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I wanted to keep this little gem to myself but it's only fair to share.
Overnight stay away from the madding crowd for next day business in nearby Bristol. The Tithe Barn is warm and welcoming, very clean with everything you need in a lovely historic building with a beautiful setting. What more can I say other than ...great breakfast and friendly hosts. You will not be disappointed. Good eating out and places of interest nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We are a couple in our late 20s who stayed here for 2 nights on 30th October and 31st October 2012.

This is a lovely homely B&B in Stanton Drew. Beautiful grounds and a lovely building. The rooms are comfortable and very quiet considering they are within the main family home. Steve and Pauline had family staying whilst we stayed there but we would never have guessed had we not been told. There are now tea and coffee facilities in the room as well as bottles of water. There are also toiletries in the bathroom for guest use. Towels were provided as were extra pillows. Breakfast was lovely. We had the full English the first day along with toast and honey (homemade as Steve keeps bees), which was delicious (photo uploaded). We had the salmon and scrambled egg on the second morning which was equally as tasty. Cereals, toast, juice and hot drinks were also available. Pauline shows attention to detail, remembering our breakfast preferences from the first morning, such as whether or not we prefer white or brown toast. Hosts were brilliant; Steve even helped carry our bags to the car!

The only downfalls were the shower, as the power was very weak, and the lack of toilet roll holder in the bathroom. We also couldn't pay on our card as we had booked through LateRooms so bear this in mind and have cash available. Although there is a cash point 5 mins away so wasn't a problem for us at all.

Overall, a lovely stay, comfortable rooms, very welcoming and everything you could possibly need from a B&B.

Room Tip: Ask if you can pay by card in advance so as you can have cash ready just in case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for five nights as we were visiting family. Steve and Pauline are superb hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. We felt very relaxed. Steve's breakfasts are amazing. The barn itself is such a lovely place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Everything was outstanding at this small B&B: the room, the setting, the breakfast and the hosts. It was a very peaceful and comfortable stay. Steve was friendly and makes a killer breakfast with only the best ingredients, such as fresh eggs from his farm and other locally sourced ingredients.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Very welcoming hosts who were also extremely helpful. The house is a family home and I got the impression that B&B is very much a sideline. Breakfasts were delicious. Room was pleasant but not made up after first night's stay. Morning tea was brought to us rather than facilities in the room. Overall a relaxing place to stay with friendly owners. Would def use again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank MarytheNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanton Drew
1.4 mi away
The Carpenters Arms
The Carpenters Arms
#1 of 1 in Stanton Wick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
4.1 mi away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
1.3 mi away
Summerhouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Bear & Swan Inn
The Bear & Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Chew Magna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Pig near Bath
The Pig near Bath
#2 of 3 in Pensford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
4.2 mi away
School Cottages Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tithe Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tithe Barn

Property: The Tithe Barn
Address: Tithe Barn Sandy Lane, Stanton Drew BS39 4EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Stanton Drew
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stanton Drew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tithe Barn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tithe Barn is a lovingly converted Grade 2 listed building, based in the beautiful, rural setting of Stanton Drew, in Somerset. The location offers guests a real feel for the west-country, yet it is easily accessible from most southern towns and cities. It's the perfect antidote for those hectic inner-city lifestyles, offering tranquility surrounded by truly beautiful scenery! People staying with us can expect a warm, inviting welcome by their hosts, Steve and Pauline Croucher. They can also expect the highest standard of accommodation and service, within an idyllic, tranquil setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tithe Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing