We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VILLA BERYL GUEST HOUSE -VRYHEID R.S.A.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Beryl Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 17 Vryheid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VILLA BERYL GUEST HOUSE -VRYHEID R.S.A.”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at Villa Beryl. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are well appointed and the beds very comfortable. Value for money, this has to be the best place to stay in the region.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    24
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
17
2
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuils River, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great accommodation, friendly staff but not overwhelming. I liked the sense of privacy which allows one to work without interruptions. The breakfast are served on time and the service efficient. Would recommend that the instant coffee be replaced by filter coffee.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

What a fantastic place! Hosts are very special people and the service was excellent. They went the extra mile for us. Food was great.
Garden are beautiful. Exceptional security.
Will recommend Villa Beryl to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101Annelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is by far the best guest house in Vryheid. Good value for money. Will definately recommend this to anyone that needs to sleep over in Vryheid. The owner and staff were very friendly and the breakfast was great. Great place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Lovely setting with all the requirements one needs, including exceptional security. Only disappointment was the noise factor in the morning from 6am from other guests and kitchen staff. Dinner was offered as an extra, but possibly home-cooked could be a better option than out-sourced options. If a little more attention to detail, could make it a well-recommended venue. Good luck.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude_R1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Ended up staying here by default after it was recommended by another guesthouse which was full; and we are so happy we did. The accommodation was really good: big, comfortable bed, clean linen, comfortable pillows. Breakfasts were good. The location is central and safe. The hosts and owners were exceptional friendly and willing to provide whatever we requested. this is where I will now stay whenever going to Vryheid.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which was very spacious. All rooms have an en-suite, I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbn_Trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Villa Beryl is a newish renovation/refurb of a big old (Victorian?) home in central Vryheid into an 8 room guesthouse. Clearly some careful thought has gone into turning the house into a guesthouse business. It is all oregon pine stripped floors, high ceilings and air conditioning - although it is unfortunate not much of the house's long history is retained or shared with guests. Service was professional and breakfast good (dinner also served on request). Seems to cater mostly for business people and government officials. I would definitely use Villa Beryl again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different so discuss your requirements when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CIVUH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vryheid
17.0 mi away
Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
0.2 mi away
Fever Grove Guest House
Fever Grove Guest House
#2 of 17 in Vryheid
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
The Oxford Lodge
#8 of 17 in Vryheid
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rita's Guesthouse
Rita's Guesthouse
#7 of 17 in Vryheid
9 reviews
3.6 mi away
Petra's Country Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Shonalanga Lodge
Shonalanga Lodge
#1 of 5 in Vryheid
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Beryl Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Beryl Guesthouse

Property: Villa Beryl Guesthouse
Address: 169 Hoog Street, Vryheid 3100, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Vryheid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Vryheid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Beryl Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Beryl Guesthouse, is your home away from home. It is one of Vryheid's surviving classic old South African homes, with its sandstone foundations, Oregon pine floors, high ceilings and wide verandahs. The guesthouse consists of 9 all-en-suite rooms and 3 self catering rooms. Each room and its bathroom has its own unique "feel", its own atmosphere, its own look. No two rooms are the same.The result is individuality. Each room is luxuriously finished and furnished, the bathrooms are marvellously modern. Comfort is everything. Villa Beryl serves English and Continental breakfasts, and dinner on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Beryl Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing