We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place & wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Achiotte Hotel Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Achiotte Hotel Boutique
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Barichara
Certificate of Excellence
Daventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place & wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

A tranquil oasis with the enchanting town of Barichara on your doorstep. Rooms, gardens & breakfast were all great & our hosts, Mauricio and Gloria, were very welcoming and so helpful.
In particular, a big thank you to Mauricio for helping me so much when I lost my mobile phone. He spent a couple of hours helping me to contact the local police & get an official statement from them. His kindness & local knowledge were really appreciated.
I would definitely recommend Achiotte Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ovMauro, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, is our goal to make our guests feel like they are in home, and that they learn to love Colombia like we do so, when you think in Barichara, Think in Achiotte Hotel, we will be here happy to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    28
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
56
79
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

And what a view. This town is a delight and our stay at Achiotte was superb. Mauricio's emails were always responsive leading up to our stay. Gloria and Irene met us at the door and in our combined Spanglish we had all our wants catered for during our three night stay in this well located hotel. Great bed, hot showers, fabulous hammocks and delicious breakfasts that filled us from 7:30am through to 3pm. Eggs that taste like EGGS and yellow that I haven't seen since I was a kid. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: We chose suite 2 which doesn't have the open shower (Mauricio told us this when we booked) but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank effanelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, March 23, 2015
Google Translation
Gracias por su exelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen for rest .. The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this charming hotel over Christmas. The owners were understandably away for the holidays but the kitchen/bedroom staff were incredible. So attentive and caring, but most impressive, they provided breakfast well after the closing time for a member of our party who overslept. They did it with a smile and it was Christmas day. Thank you!
We loved the open showers (boiling hot water even on a cool evening as we looked out at the hills.) Our only quibble was the bed linens/pillows. Pillows were a bit hard and a brown blanket was under the colored duvet. Perhaps we're now just used to North American white, clean-looking duvets and choice of feather pillows on the bed. If this doesn't bother you, this hotel is top-notch. I should also add that our contact with the owners when booking was excellent and they kindly organized transportation for us from Giron/Bucaramanga and back again. The driver was most reliable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naturelover_777983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, March 23, 2015
Google Translation
Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen for rest .. The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Imagine if you had first made reservation and paid a 50% deposit nearly four months before to receive a phone call just a few days before arriving to say that we would need to change hotels for our third and final night because the hotel was overbooked! This happened to us with Achiotte Hotel - not very feasible with aged parents travelling with us.

Nevertheless, having stood our ground, we enjoyed our three nights at the hotel. The good things are that there are lots of communal places to swing in hammock or relax in the shady, leafy garden. The staff work very hard to provide a friendly and excellent level of service. Even the standard rooms are of a good size and the partly open-air bathrooms well appointed - showering in the open air with lashings of hot water and a view of the countryside was a memorable experience.

The only niggles, other than the shock phone call already described, are the noisy local roosters/cockerels and a nearby party on the Saturday night that went on ‘til quite late. The rooms do not have fans or A/C, so get quite hot. We slept under just a sheet and the glass-less windows open. The hotel provides a plug-in mosquito repellent (take your own tablets), and we didn’t have any mosquitoes in the room – I was bitten just once at breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 6 is a good standard room as it is away from the street and has a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisinbogota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, March 23, 2015
Google Translation
Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen for rest .. The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

A great little hotel in the middle of Barichara - really friendly owner who speaks good English and is one of the best hosts we have ever come across - so helpful & friendly and cannot do enough for you. We were on our honeymoon in November 2012 (travelling around Colombia - including 3 nights in Barichara), and we we stayed in Suite 2 which was beautiful. The breakfasts were also good - homemade cheese, homemade jam, and even home grown coffee - amazing! Barichara is a small town - the Achiotte is about a 2 minute walk from the central square, and very peaceful too. Barichara was somewhere I was struggling with, regarding hotels, as nothing looked that appealing, but I am so glad we found Achiotte Boutique Hotel!
thankyou!
Rachel and James Whittaker

Room Tip: Suite 2 was great - nice spacious room, and great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelinNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, March 23, 2015
Google Translation
Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen for rest .. The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucaramanga, Colombia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I was a bit put off when the person who greeted us (Mauricio had to go to Bogota for the weekend) wasn't expecting us to arrive until the next day. Fortunately this didn't seem to be much of a problem and our room was ready quickly.

I loved the open shower/bathroom (room #4). I could see birds and the sun shining through the leaves while showering, but unfortunately it meant I got bit by mosquitoes a few times and they easily entered the room. I was expecting mosquitoes and had my repellent, but you can't always be 100 percent covered (got bit on my eyelid while sleeping at night). The hotel would be perfect if there were mosquito nets over the beds.

In the morning they put out fruit for the birds making for good photo opportunities, quite a few species come around. The man who takes care of the dogs also knows a lot about the local birds, he would be a good source of information for bird watchers. The hotel is such a great place to relax anytime of day, but especially at night. The lights create such a beautiful environment in the courtyard, the furnishings and hammocks have a simple elegance, and Dali the cat will lounge around with you. Definitely a great escape in the most beautiful town in Colombia!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, March 23, 2015
Google Translation
Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Hotel Boutique is somewhat of a misnomer. It is not a hotel; it is a B&B. Hotels have someone in reception all the time; at this B&B it is only on occasion that management is around.

When I checked in originally, they wanted to give me a room right by the entrance which I thought would be noisy so I asked for another room and the staff member went to talk to Gloria and Gloria said that I could stay in another room further inside. Although she did say that it was for more than one person as there were two beds in that room but since I didn't want to stay by the entrance, she would let me stay there. Unfortunately in that room there were mosquitoes so I asked the staff member if I could switch to the room next door which didn't have mosquitoes but she said it was for several people as there was one queen size bed and then a bunk bed. Perhaps I could have insisted on talking to Gloria but I didn't push the issue and the staff member told me that I could plug in the mosquito deterrent to help out with the mosquitoes. While putting my suitcase in the room, there were so many mosquitoes at least five that I was bitten a few times in the few minutes I was there. I wanted to go out but when trying to lock the door, my key got stuck in the door so I couldn't close the door but the staff member told me she would be able to get the key out. However, when I returned four hours later or so, the door to my room was still open and the key was still stuck. At that time, another staff member was there and she was able to help me get the key out. I didn't feel that great that my door had been open for hours but I suppose it was ok because at the time, there were no other guests (the only other guests, a couple, arrived in the evening). When checking in, I asked about a laundromat and was told they could do my laundry and I had asked how much it would be and they said about 12,000 pesos and they would do it inhouse. Around 6PM, I asked about my laundry because when I made my reservation I had only booked one night and although when checking in I asked if they had availability if I wanted to stay additional nights and they told me yes, but upon thinking about all the mosquitoes I decided it was best to only stay one night. The other staff member wasn't sure where my clothes were and said Gloria would be back later and she could help me. An hour or so later, they found my clothes but they hadn't hung them up at all; I think the other employee had not only forgotten about my stuck key but also about my clothes. Also I found out that I had to pay 15,000 instead of the 12,000 which was the original quote and I feel it was a little unfair because my clothes were returned wet to me so I don't think they should have increased the amount. (The reason I wanted my clothes was because I was going to take an early bus to Bucaramanga so it would be too early to get them in the morning.)

All and all I got over fifteen mosquito bites from staying at this B&B. So if you tend to get bitten a lot, I don't recommend you stay in the garden rooms. Besides the one room by the entrance and the two rooms in the garden, there are three suites. I spoke to the couple staying in one of the suites and they said they didn't have mosquitoes in their room, so if you can afford the suites, I recommend them instead. Personally though I would stay elsewhere because breakfast is in the patio and there are mosquitoes there as well so it is almost impossible to avoid being bitten and one can't wear repellent at night and I got several bites at night despite wearing long pants and long sleeve shirts at night. Also in my garden room, around 6 PM, I saw two six inch bugs in the shower area. I suppose since it's a garden, there will be some bugs in some garden rooms and that's another unfortunate drawback.

The hotel has six rooms and if they are fully booked, and you are a single person or couple you may have to stay in the room by the entrance because the other two regular rooms are for people traveling with friends or families.

The positive points are the very nice showers and soap.

Although the people are nice, and the shower is nice, I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you tend to get bitten by mosquitoes or you don't like bugs. I walked around town and other hotels didn't have huge gardens so they were no mosquitoes there.

Room Tip: There are many mosquitoes in the rooms. I don't recommend it if you are the type of person who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sigulda158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, March 23, 2015
Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.
Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen to break .. We have solved the problem of mosquitoes, thanks for your opinion, was invaluable. The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.


Mauricio Ospina Villegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barichara hotels
4.3 mi away
Casa Oniri Hotel Boutique
Casa Oniri Hotel Boutique
#3 of 12 in Barichara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Loma Hotel Barichara
La Loma Hotel Barichara
#2 of 12 in Barichara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Mision Santa Barbara
Hotel Mision Santa Barbara
#5 of 12 in Barichara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hotel Santos de Piedra
Hotel Santos de Piedra
#10 of 12 in Barichara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Casa de Hercilia
La Casa de Hercilia
#4 of 12 in Barichara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Hicasua
Hotel Hicasua
#9 of 12 in Barichara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achiotte Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achiotte Hotel Boutique

Property: Achiotte Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle 5 No 3-52 | Steps Down, Church of San Antonio, Barichara 684041, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Santander Department > Barichara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Barichara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Achiotte Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Achiotte Boutique Hotel is a place of rest and tranquility. Where our customers enjoy excellent service and comfortable facilities, where breathe peace and in contact with nature. We are 2 blocks from the main park in the quietest area of ​​Barichara and have a spectacular view of the mountains. We wait to discover the most beautiful village of Colombia. Mauricio Ospina Villegas Owner and Sales Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Achiotte Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing