We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in an ever-so-charming village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mision Santa Barbara
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Barichara
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I thought I´d treat me to some luxury while in gorgeous Barichara and opted for the Hostal Misión Santa Bárbara, 2 blocks up a steep road from the main plaza.

The hostal is a lot bigger and even nicer than one would expect from outside. I received a very warm welcome - they had already been waiting for me. I was shown to my room in the beautiful garden. The room was nice, comfortable and squeaky clean. The bathroom was huge and equipped with everything you need.

There is a pool with sun beds in the garden, a little open-air gym, an open-air roofed breakfast area etc. Everything one could possibly need for a pleasant stay. The breakfast was included and was good Colombian standard (arepas, juice, fruit, eggs, toast, jam, and coffee, of course). Apart from breakfast I only had juices in the hotel, so I wouldn´t know anything about food.

The staff was absolutely delightful and of great help in case you needed information on Barichara, dining options and the like. No doubt I would come back to the Hostal Misión Santa Bárbara if I ever returned to Barichara!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OliverE77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mision Santa Barbara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 88 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

We went there on a Monday so it was not too crowded and we got a good deal, the lady was really nice and showed us all the room types and was very welcoming. The hotel has a pool, a small playground for kids and some hammocks to relax. The price included breakfast which was very good.
I'd definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lau376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

As with most places to stay in this wonderful town, the unassuming entrance leads to a number of courtyards and in this case a small swimming pool and orchard. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast adequate. The birdlife particularly the different finches are plentiful. Open roof showers and smallish but comfortable rooms. Free wifi in the breakfast area.

Room Tip: try to avoid low floor rooms
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikeyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We decided to visit Barichara at the spur of the moment. We had a very pleasant stay. People is sooo nice and it is a quite and family hotel. I habe been here for the third time!!!
It is a colonial house that has been growing adding the houses next to it. So you pass through the different patios of the added houses. All the rooms are different with the colonial furniture

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank claraemejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Mision Santa Barbara has the spirit of this beautiful colonial city! Charming hotel, with very helpful staff, and a very good bed. Very well located, at a calm part of town, close to the main square. And small pool which is very useful at the end of a warm day.

Room Tip: Rooms around the little fountain are the best ones.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BHohmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Nice and confortable rooms, good service, good location

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dadelgad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

About three blocks from the main square you find this nice hotel. Good rooms, good shower and nice pool. For smaller children there is also a small playground. The staff at the front desk was helpful, the other staff a bit official. The population was a nice mix of intentional and Colombian guests. This may lead to interesting conversations that open your vision on the country. The wifi was a bit up and down. From the hotel you can make a great walk to Guane, another charming village at about 2 1/2 hours walking over ancient tracks.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AdTum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barichara hotels
0.3 mi away
Achiotte Hotel Boutique
Achiotte Hotel Boutique
#1 of 12 in Barichara
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Oniri Hotel Boutique
Casa Oniri Hotel Boutique
#3 of 12 in Barichara
109 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Santos de Piedra
Hotel Santos de Piedra
#10 of 12 in Barichara
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Loma Hotel Barichara
La Loma Hotel Barichara
#2 of 12 in Barichara
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Portal de Barichara
Hotel Portal de Barichara
#7 of 12 in Barichara
18 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Hercilia
La Casa de Hercilia
#4 of 12 in Barichara
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mision Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mision Santa Barbara

Address: Calle 5 9 - 08, Barichara 684041, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Santander Department > Barichara
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barichara
Price Range: $83 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mision Santa Barbara 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mision Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Mision Santa Barbara Hotel Barichara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing