We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mision Santa Barbara
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Barichara
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We decided to visit Barichara at the spur of the moment. We had a very pleasant stay. People is sooo nice and it is a quite and family hotel. I habe been here for the third time!!!
It is a colonial house that has been growing adding the houses next to it. So you pass through the different patios of the added houses. All the rooms are different with the colonial furniture

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank claraemejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 88 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

Mision Santa Barbara has the spirit of this beautiful colonial city! Charming hotel, with very helpful staff, and a very good bed. Very well located, at a calm part of town, close to the main square. And small pool which is very useful at the end of a warm day.

Room Tip: Rooms around the little fountain are the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BHohmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Nice and confortable rooms, good service, good location

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dadelgad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

About three blocks from the main square you find this nice hotel. Good rooms, good shower and nice pool. For smaller children there is also a small playground. The staff at the front desk was helpful, the other staff a bit official. The population was a nice mix of intentional and Colombian guests. This may lead to interesting conversations that open your vision on the country. The wifi was a bit up and down. From the hotel you can make a great walk to Guane, another charming village at about 2 1/2 hours walking over ancient tracks.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AdTum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I had the most wonderful surprise when the receptionist showed me to my lovely hotel room, it was not the cheapest room in the hotel at 165,000 COPS (they start from about 130,000COPS) but it must have been the nicest ! (room 5) I would have stayed longer, but two days in barichara is probably enough, since there isn't an awful lot to do! the hotel has (which I didn't realise before arriving) a swimming pool, lovely gardens and a few fitness machines, so if you have good weather it's a fab place to relax. the hotel is up a hill 2 or 3 blocks which shouldn't put you off because the views are great . the breakfast was lovely, the traditional fruit, fresh juice, eggs and bread. there was no restaurant in the evenings as low season, but the staff were helpful and very nice. they even offered me some home-grown grapes on my departure! definitely like to go there again!

Room Tip: room 5 high ceiling and stained glass window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank serena99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2008

Barichara is a must-see village in Colombia. It's about a 1-day's drive north of Bogota, and perched on the edge of a mesa. Perfectly preserved Spanish colonial architecture and completely unspoiled. Middle-class Colombians and foreign tourists know of it, and come here to relax. The Hostal Mision Santa Barbara probably offers the best accomodations in the town. Rooms in the main building surround a small courtyard, and there are more rooms in the attached buildings. Beautiful, clean pool. Homey little restaurant. No a/c, but it is unnecessary -- temps were in the 70's when we were there in December (Summer.) Each, very clean, room has unique decor. Very professional staff, but spoke Spanish only. Described in Lonely Planet Colombia.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank blueorbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank PhilippeMParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barichara hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Oniri Hotel Boutique
Casa Oniri Hotel Boutique
#2 of 12 in Barichara
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Loma Hotel Barichara
La Loma Hotel Barichara
#3 of 12 in Barichara
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Achiotte Hotel Boutique
Achiotte Hotel Boutique
#1 of 12 in Barichara
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Santos de Piedra
Hotel Santos de Piedra
#10 of 12 in Barichara
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Portal de Barichara
Hotel Portal de Barichara
#8 of 12 in Barichara
18 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa de Hercilia
La Casa de Hercilia
#4 of 12 in Barichara
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mision Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mision Santa Barbara

Address: Calle 5 9 - 08, Barichara 684041, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Santander Department > Barichara
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barichara
Price Range: $70 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mision Santa Barbara 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Mision Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Mision Santa Barbara Hotel Barichara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing