We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping in Katima”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caprivi Houseboat Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed for three nights - two in the camp site and the last night on the Boat House. The camp site is equip with water and electricity. Free Wifi is available at the lodge. We had a lovely meal of Boboti and Yellow Rice at the lodge. A visit to the nearby town, Katima Mulilo offered a cultural experience of the local community and still have many battle scars of the Angolan war. Although an overall pleasant stay, the lodge carry sad signs of poor management, broken equipment, unhappy and miss grunted staff. A rustic experience that may not appeal to everyone.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ZuZanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curt-Ingo S, Owner at Caprivi Houseboat Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Good day ZuZanna

Thank you for your review.

I'm sorry to see that you feel to insult us by telling the world that we poorly manage our little place. We pour our life into this place.
You were and are still welcome to discuss any problems or faults that you noticed with us. I will not try to explain staff issues to you, but if you felt it was an issue, once again, you were more than welcome to discuss them with us and we could explain the challenges we face.

Thank you for visiting us and please feel free to discuss any issues with us.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 70 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed with our family for one night at Caprivi Houseboat Safaris and we absolutely enjoyed our time. The lodge is very rustic and down-to-earth (but very clean) and lovely situated at the Zambezi river with a great view from your bed into the green. Food was excellent. We did also a sundowner on the Zambezi with Steve which was awesome with a beautiful sunset. Overall, it was one of our highlights on our tour through Namibia, Botswana and Zimbabwe.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Thorsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curt-Ingo S, Owner at Caprivi Houseboat Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is the ideal spot for anyone who would like to experience camping in Africa but would still like a few home comforts. The chalets have three reed walls and a thatched roof. The front is totally open looking out over the Zambezi River. When the river is high the water actually reaches to under the chalets.There are heavy canvas curtains that can be pulled across if required. The very comfortable bed has a very well designed mosquito net which hangs down well away from the edges of the bed so there is no chance of an arm or leg touching the net and giving a mozzie a chance to bite. The bathroom is open to the sky but has a brick outer wall. The only snag is that after a couple of showers the floor is pretty wet. A pair of rubber sandels make life a lot easier. The lodge is owner run and the whole atmosphere is totally relaxed. The is an honesty bar on the deck over the river where meals are served. Meals are good and attractively served but must be ordered ahead of time. They also operate two small houseboats for 1-3 day trips down the Zambezi and into the Chobe river. Game viewing, I believe, can be very good. (There are more elephants along the Chobe than anywhere else in Africa)

Room Tip: Not all roms have a double bed check when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Chalets are different! Straw walls and roof withn one wall being a canvas curtain opening up onto a magnificent view of the Zambezi - certainly very different. But dont worry, all very clean & tidy, beds very comfortable and the open air bathroom is wonderful if quirky. I would be delighted to stay again.

Service was half very welcoming but husband was more interested in talking to friends at the bar rather than attending to guests. Sort that out and clean up the pool and you will have an excellent place at no extra cost to you.

Food was excellent in very generous portions. Vegetarians advise in advance & you will be well catered for.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arkivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

For us it was only a one night stayover, but we will most certainly be going back. With the thatched chalets basically "in" the Zambezi, there is no way to describe the beauty of the area. Beds are comfortable, with a choice to open the canvas "wall" and look out onto the river. Food is good, staff very friendly, all the factors present to make this a memorable experience.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had previously stopped at this establishmnet for lunch and this year decided a stay here was to be part of our trip.
We opted for the Zambezi/Chobe combo which entailed staying one night at the lodge and 3 nights on a houseboat travelling to Kasane where we had arranged our vehicle to be transferred.
The night at the lodge was awesome. Lovely rooms, good food and relaxed atmosphere. At supper time we were seated with a German family who were going on the fishing safari and would then spend another 4 weeks travelling Zimababwe, Botswana and Namibia!!
Our boat departed the next day but setting the boat up and leaving took some time. The boat had only come in that same morning so they needed to unload, clean, load up again and refuel. It was past 1pm by the time we left which left little time for fishing as we had to reach our first night destination.
What a destination it was though! Beautiful beach with loads on birds on the island, especially African Skimmers. Food cooked over the fire and local fisherman gluiding silently by in the mokoros as the sun set.
Day 2 was a drive down to Chobe River. This was a long day and I feel that the owners should forewarn before embarking on this trip. It took us the whole day to get there with VERY LITTLE stopping along the way - half an hour for lunch and a bit of fishing. Another lovely spot on the Chobe River this time. On the oppposite bank was the Chobe National park and from our bank we could view elephant, buffalo and a large variety of birds. We stayed at this destination for two nights spending the 3rd day on the water doing a spot of fishing and some game viewing. Fishing on the Zambezi was better though.
Boat is comfortable. We were 6 people so the tents on the roof were used to accomodate 4 of us and the other two slept downstairs on the table and beanch seats which were adjusted to make a bed. Crocs munching round us all of second night at this stop.
Our guide, Daniel was brilliant. Knew a lot about the area and the wildlife and birds.
Food was excellant at the lodge and good on the boat. We went for the catering option and feel that the snacks provided were too little especially for 6 people for 3 nights. Lunch maybe also needs to be revisited by the owners as two of the days entailed bread which dried out very quickly.
After arriving in Kasane on our last morning, 10 minutes later our vehilce was there.
We thoroughly enjoyed our trip butfeel that there are a couple of things as mentioned in the report that need to be considered by the owners.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DebbiJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were looking for a place to stop as we drove across the Caprivi in Namibia enroute to Kasane. The Caprivi Houseboat Safari Lodge was perfect! We loved everything about it. The rooms were charming and very comfortable, overlooking the Zambezi River. The hosts couldn't have been nicer and were very enthusiastic about their lodge. They obviously love what they are doing. The food was delicious. A highlight was all the wonderful bird life we spotted on our sundowner boat cruise. We would definitely stop here again.

Room Tip: Choose a chalet overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junglejudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katima Mulilo
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge
Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Katima Mulilo
81 reviews
10.8 mi away
Caprivi Mutoya Lodge & Campsite
Caprivi Mutoya Lodge & Campsite
#2 of 11 in Katima Mulilo
20 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caprivi River Lodge
Caprivi River Lodge
#7 of 11 in Katima Mulilo
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Kalizo Lodge
Kalizo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Katima Mulilo
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chobe River Camp
Chobe River Camp
#5 of 11 in Katima Mulilo
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mukuku Rest Camp
Mukuku Rest Camp
#4 of 15 in Rundu
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caprivi Houseboat Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caprivi Houseboat Safaris

Address: Hippo Road, Katima Mulilo, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Caprivi Region > Katima Mulilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Katima Mulilo
Price Range: $65 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caprivi Houseboat Safaris 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming property located on the bank of the mighty Zambesi. 5 Rustic chalets and one tented room will entrance you and let you sleep peaceful and as close to nature, giving you an unequaled rest.For the more adventurous we have 3 campsites with communal ablutions with hot water. Power, water and a light are provided on the sites.Boat cruises and fishing trips are offered locally. For an ultimate experience though, nothing beats the safari boats cruising on the Zambesi and even down to the Chobe river for an amazing gameviewing experience.Daytrips to Victoria Falls and Chobe can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Caprivi Houseboat Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing