We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is as close to paradise you will find on this planet!”
Review of Kalizo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kalizo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had to arrive by boat as the river was rising, flooding the road! What a beautiful place to stay, the tented accommodation, right on the edge of the Zambezi River. What a beautiful spot, birdlife like I had never seen before and tame,not disappearing, into the bush! Excellent food served in the pleasant restaurant. The new owners are passionate about the Lodge and entertaining their guests. We had two stunning nights there in April and are planning another visit in November this year!

Room Tip: The tented accommodation is brand new, clean, comfortable we woke up looking out the French doors at...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueStiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Kalizo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 111 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

My holiday at Kalizo over the December period was magical. The new owners are enthusiastic and so accommodating. The place is lush with excellent bird viewing. The lodge is situated on the banks of the Zambezi allowing for great fishing and site seeing. They currently have two or three luxury tents (still erecting more) with a view of the Zambezi simply to die for. Absolute bliss! They also have a great campsite and other shallot accommodation. If you have been before 2012 I highly recommend visiting this special location again as the new owners are doing a complete revamp and upgrade making the spot the best in the area. Just make sure when you phone and book to enquire about rainy season. The service is great. Food and restaurant outstanding. All in all, one to remember! Thanks to the wonderful Kalizo family and the resident otter.

Room Tip: The luxury tents have a great view and are very comfortable.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I strongly recomend a 4 x 4 to get there especially if it's in the rainy season, which it was for us. We drove through a lot of mud and water to get there but the husband loved putting his 4 x 4 to the test.
It had been raining quite a bit and the camp sites look very wet so we decided to change our booking from a camping to a chalet. Fontunately we managed to get one for two nights. Accommodation was very comfortable. Fans, mosquito nets and nice clean towels are provided.
We took a sunset cruise which was most enjoyable. Kelvin our skipper was very informative and only too happy to answer all our questions.
Bird life was exceptionally good but we didn't get to see much of the wild life due to the time of the year.
New owners were really nice to chat to and are very enthuisiastic about the changes that they are planning in the near future.
Breakfast was good but I would have like to have yoghurt instead of milk with my cereal. Unfortunately dinner was not very good. Too bland and not enough colour but then we are a touch fussy about our food.
We bought wood by the wheel barrel (good value) for such a huge amount of wood.
We really enjoyed seeing the orphan baby otter that the owners are hand rearing and are hoping to release back into the wild.
I believe the fishing is really good but we will have to give that a try next time.
Staff were all really helpful, especially the lady at the reception.
Sadly there is no WiFi but they will allow you to use their internet if you really need to use it.

Room Tip: Zambezi house (self catering) two rooms
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Brilliant spot on the Zambezi from Namibia. Excellent fishing, possibly one of the best in the area - with brilliant guides, boats and location. New owners have a fantastic attitude to please and make your stay as memorable as possible. Renovations at lodge are on going, but does not intrude on guests. Access to lodge can be tricky in rainy season if you are in a car BUT alternative route and assistance is available. Brilliant staff, great for kids, fishing adventures, birding and all round "get away from it all"

Room Tip: Our unit - Zambezi Self Cater - was in front of the boat launch. Brilliant for fisherman/early risin...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank houart n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our recent trip to Kaliso was superb. The owners are amazing and all so friendly. Tony you are the master of your kitchen and the meals were great. Keep up the good work guys we will definitely be looking to coming back in the future

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSnyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have been to the Kalizo lodge a couple of times during the last few years and it always was ok. Since new owners took over it is revamped: new restaurant area, new safari tents. The road to the lodge is difficult (4wd recommended) but owners are happy to help if you got stuck. Very nice boat trips on the Zambezi.

Room Tip: Go for the safari tents!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerrieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Great spot and even greater experience. Stayed in luxury tent and woke up in the morning to the sight of the Zambezi river from my bed! Excellent food made by the affable Tony, and plenty of it. We had three days and could have stayed longer..... Good birding. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: The tents are great with a wonderful outside shower.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maria963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katima Mulilo
19.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge
Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Katima Mulilo
78 reviews
16.3 mi away
Caprivi Houseboat Safaris
Caprivi Houseboat Safaris
#2 of 11 in Katima Mulilo
68 reviews
15.0 mi away
Island View Lodge
Island View Lodge
#6 of 11 in Katima Mulilo
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Caprivi Mutoya Lodge & Campsite
Caprivi Mutoya Lodge & Campsite
#3 of 11 in Katima Mulilo
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chobe River Camp
Chobe River Camp
#5 of 11 in Katima Mulilo
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Popa Falls Resort
Popa Falls Resort
#6 of 10 in Divundu
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalizo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalizo Lodge

Address: D3508, Kalimbeza Road, Katima Mulilo, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Caprivi Region > Katima Mulilo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Katima Mulilo
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalizo Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Kalizo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing