We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility in Katima Mulilo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katima Mulilo
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tranquility in Katima Mulilo”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and used the day inbetween just soaking up the view and tranquility of the venue. Our room wasn't more than 25 paces from the Zambezi's water. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Room, although old, clean and spacious with a walk in wardrope leaving the room without luggage etc. Had 2 dinners and 2 buffet breakfasts and cannot complain about the food and the service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    27
    13
    11
See reviews for
14
29
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Zambezi River Lodge is situated in the Caprivi Strip, on the Zambezi River, across from Zambia. The view alone is probably worth the visit. The surrounding countryside consists of unspoilt bush and lush forestry along the river. A boat trip on the river is a must as hippopotami and bird life are a sight to behold. For the businessperson and holidaymaker who want to keep contact with friends and family, the hotel suffers from not being able to extend WiFi to the bedrooms and conference centres. WiFi is only available in the main building but there is little access to electrical sockets for charging laptops and tablets. The restaurant functions below what one expects of a hotel of this expected quality. Dinner takes that long to arrive. One should place one's order and then go for a stroll, a boat ride or drinks in the bar.Breakfast is a buffet so that goes quicker. All in all, a lovely place for a relaxing holiday, honeymoon or just a getaway from the rat race.

Room Tip: Rooms V1-V4 are luxury rooms but only two face the river. Standards rooms have better access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We enjoyed a one night stay in May 2014. The element that makes this place worthwhile is its wonderful position on the river. We enjoyed supper at the restaurant and a good breakfast buffet as well. Good spot.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ducimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We arrived in Katima in the late afternoon, after a 700kms. Very impressed with the rooms as well as the lovely view we had. We went for supper and we hardly sat for 10mins and the mosquitos was all around us and the had nothing for us to use. The malva pudding we ordered was dry and the fruit salad brown. The next morning at breakfast the tomatoes was covered in mould and no one was present at the egg station. Although management sent us a fruit basket, we still ended up not having breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms next to river will give you a great sunrise and sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jhanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Best place for a sundowner in Katima Mulilo but at a price. Drinks are more expensive here than other places in town but the view is worth it. Very laid back and friendly staff. The hotel restaurant is average at best with poor service and very slow. We waited more than an hour for our dinner in a largely empty and souless restaurant in an area that looks like it might double as a banquet hall with not more than three other tables occupied. The food was not as good as expected and I would not eat there again. They have such a beautiful location but the restaurant tables are largely cut off from the beautiful river views.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Katima Mulilo hotels

Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

To whom it may concern

What is the use to send the guests the proof of payment if the hotel does not have it on their system or the system is not up to date resulting standing the next morning debating with the GM over the phone regarding the payment which was made as the email below and the proof of payment on my banking site How the system works got nothing to do with me but I tried seeing that the Wi Fi was not working I still manage to get on to my banking site and send yet again the proof of payment at my cost but all for nothing as the computer system is so out dated - Adobe reader version 4 we currently on 11 which result in not opening the proof of payment. We travelled from Upington to Gaborone, 12 different sleepover locations in 3 countries all my payments were done on the 2013/10/30 (You may confirm this with Safari Now) and the GM accused me of not paying ???? stating that there are 10 similar cases and the front desk ladies are paying this back monthly – I am still awaiting feedback from her regarding the payment !!!

There are no communication as she was there when we arrived but nothing was done not even one word was spoken until the next morning when we wanted to depart to cross the border in to Zambia. Breakfast was not ready at the time provided which are 06h30 The evening dinner service was horrific and there are no control

Not to mentioned that the room we were placed in (No.7) had a tree branch thru the roof as the roof was recently repaired with the ladder still on the roof The room itself had a strong smell as wet carpet s as well as new paint Only after complain and after having one of the front desk assistants in the room we where than moved to another Why give this out if the room is in no state for guests

This is a shame that one Hotel can damaged the brand so bad that I will never visit a Protea again and that the so called I have sent Tweets, emails, and also rate on the Hot and Not site and still haven’t received any feed back

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 11 days on the campsite. So we saw interesting things:
The gate is often guarded. And often unmanned. And if someone is actually there, they never stop anyone. So why bother with a gate? Same with internet: it often works. And it often doesn't. Which is not much of a problem, since wifi only is available at the reception.
The light at our campsite was broken. So every single evening the guards would come to turn it on, and every single evening they would be surprised to find it malfunctioning. But they'd never actually get it fixed.
Restaurant food average at best. Tapwater only potable for strong stomachs.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mischa_zelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katima Mulilo
2.8 mi away
Caprivi Houseboat Safaris
Caprivi Houseboat Safaris
#2 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
66 reviews
4.1 mi away
Island View Lodge
Island View Lodge
#6 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
17 reviews
13.4 mi away
Caprivi Mutoya Lodge & Campsite
Caprivi Mutoya Lodge & Campsite
#4 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mukuku Rest Camp
Mukuku Rest Camp
#3 of 13 in Rundu
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chobe River Camp
Chobe River Camp
#3 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mobola Lodge
Mobola Lodge
#3 of 8 in Divundu
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge

Property: Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge
Address: Ngoma Road, Katima Mulilo, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Caprivi Region > Katima Mulilo
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katima Mulilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Zambezi River - Gateway to Victoria Falls and the Chobe National Park. Set in natural surroundings on the banks of the Zambezi River, Protea Hotels Zambezi Riveroffers comfortable facilities, ideal for an overnight stay en-route to the many tourist destinations in the area. Accommodation comprises 38 standard twin and 4 luxury double en-suite rooms overlooking the Zambezi River or garden and pool area, with restaurant and bar facilities are available daily. You can take a boat cruise on the Zambezi River with excellent opportunities to observe hippos and crocodiles. Or you could stroll through the lively town of Katima Mulilo, enjoy the African flair at the open market and buy original crafts ranging from baskets, jewellery, traditional musical instruments to animals made of scrap metal or wood. Excursions to the nearby National Parks (Mudumu, Mamili and Bwabata), Victoria Falls (Zimbabwe or Zambia) and to the Chobe National Park can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Zambezi River Katima Mulilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing