We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katima Mulilo
Reviewed January 26, 2013

we were there for dinner and got nothing else than a normal quality one. most of the meals were not available at this time. our choice was even difficult to modify. the staff was not able to argue comprehensible why something is not available or possible. apart from the dinner, the staff was not able to organize a taxi before 22h...
nothing to add.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Manuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel C, General Manager at Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Manuel,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. I have taken note of your concerns experienced and we are working towards improving staff enhancement through training as well as product availability throughout service periods.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 83 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

We've recently stayed on the campsite here twice on our way in and out of Zambia, it's very convenient for the border crossing.
The ablutions were ok - nothing special, the campsite location is fabulous on the banks of the Zambezi with hippos, crocs and birdlife aplenty.
The swimming pool was a disappointment - it hadn't been maintained and the water had a scum on it (including a dead toad).
The restaurant was a joke - the buffet looked great (losts of hot stainless cauldrons), but on opening them up the choice turned out to be cottage pie, chicken stew, mash, rice, cabbage - and that was it. The quality was like school dinners, the service minimal - all for $N165 each! Not good value.
The registration and payment processes were extraordinarily slow with staff seemingly using steam-driven computers and having to enter too much data (?)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yenrab666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel C, General Manager at Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Yenrab666,

Thank you for your review on our hotel.

We had taken note of your review and shall make amence with improvements to satisfy our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

N$85 pppn camping with clean toilets and hot showers. Use of all hotel facilities including the pool. The spot is right on the river although the pitch is not particularly level there are level places to be found. All pitches have RSA sockets for power hookup and a light, table and Braai. Reception was a bit longwinded as they treat you like you're staying in the hotel but thats not a problem.

There was some noise (music) from the other side of the river and this continued almost all night. It did not really disturb me but it bit disrupt my wifes sleep slightly. The guard on duty introduced himself early on.

3G access on MTC was patchy but we did get GPRS Edge quite easily.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tweetyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel C, General Manager at Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Tweetyduck,

Thank you for your stay at Protea Hotel Zambezi River.

We are improving our Wi-Fi for the enjoyment of our guests. A return visit will always be welcomed at our esteemed hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I went for a holiday with my family to Protea Hotel Katima and I did not regret. The staff were very friendly

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel C, General Manager at Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Florence P,

Thank you for staying with us at Protea Hotel Zambezi River.

We would like to invite you again to come and experience the tranquility at Protea Hotel Zambezi River.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The protea is by far the best and most comfortable hotel in Katima. It has clean comfortable rooms - the larger rooms are often available for a good deal to walk in guests so worth asking about those. The setting of the bar is amazing - views over the Zambezi watching hippos and crocs. Amazing. Highly recommend this place - breakfast buffet also pretty good value.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingnickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel C, General Manager at Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Lundean,

Thank you for your stay at Protea Hotel Zambezi River.

We certainly strive to satisfy and keep our guests happy. We work to offering the best available rates to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

An old institution in Katima, with Protea comforts. A laid back option on the ever-beautiful Zambesi, with large, private bungalows along the riverside and a large, lazy pool, it offers a little luxury en-route, or while exploring the area. Drinks on the balcony, friendly staff and balmy evenings on the great Zambesi, it is not a place to be in a hurry (or expect super-reliable access to the internet), and rightly so. Thoroughly recommended for families too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Stayed here for a night- 24th Jul 2011. The hotel location is on the banks of blue waters which was great to navigate. Very convenient for a stop-over after or before the caprivi strip drive.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katima Mulilo hotels
2.9 mi away
Caprivi Houseboat Safaris
Caprivi Houseboat Safaris
#2 of 13 in Katima Mulilo
72 reviews
13.6 mi away
Caprivi Mutoya Lodge & Campsite
Caprivi Mutoya Lodge & Campsite
#1 of 13 in Katima Mulilo
24 reviews
19.2 mi away
Zambezi Mubala Lodge
Zambezi Mubala Lodge
#10 of 13 in Katima Mulilo
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
Capricorn Guesthouse Zambezi
#11 of 13 in Katima Mulilo
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge

Address: Ngoma Road, Katima Mulilo, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Caprivi Region > Katima Mulilo
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katima Mulilo
Price Range: $103 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Zambezi River - Gateway to Victoria Falls and the Chobe National Park. Set in natural surroundings on the banks of the Zambezi River, Protea Hotels Zambezi Riveroffers comfortable facilities, ideal for an overnight stay en-route to the many tourist destinations in the area. Accommodation comprises 38 standard twin and 4 luxury double en-suite rooms overlooking the Zambezi River or garden and pool area, with restaurant and bar facilities are available daily. You can take a boat cruise on the Zambezi River with excellent opportunities to observe hippos and crocodiles. Or you could stroll through the lively town of Katima Mulilo, enjoy the African flair at the open market and buy original crafts ranging from baskets, jewellery, traditional musical instruments to animals made of scrap metal or wood. Excursions to the nearby National Parks (Mudumu, Mamili and Bwabata), Victoria Falls (Zimbabwe or Zambia) and to the Chobe National Park can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Zambezi River Katima Mulilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing