We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place - going back for sure someday!”
Review of Barons Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barons Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Atenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

You can't go wrong. Nice rooms. Jerry, the owner is a great resource for any of you needs - day trip suggestions, restaurant suggestions and any thing else. The place is new and clean Views are unbelievable and the breezes keep you very comfortable. We will definitely return someday. THANKS JERRY

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Barons Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 76 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

We have been to Costa Rica one time before but this time it was total relaxation. Jerry (the owner) is the consummate host, from the moment he greeted us at the airport until the time we left we felt like family. The room had panoramic views with every amenity you would want or need, including a full kitchen, satellite television and Wi-Fi which we used to stay in touch with family and friends at home. Our evenings were spent on the ranchero having wine and cheese, talking with other guest. Barons is a great place to escape, relax and to enjoy the culture of Costa Rica. We would highly recommend Baron Resort for you stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Yes, the facilities are very nice. However the operational side far outweighed the facilities.

We exchanged many emails with Barons before we arrived which left us with the impression the management was well organized. Unfortunately when we arrived we experienced one problem after another to the point of me taking the time to write this review am warn other travelers.

This new 6 room accommodation is located on the top of a very steep hill. You will find it a bit interesting if you rent a low powered vehicle (we had a Suzuki Jimmy). We made it only to discover the gate was locked and no one was there. We rang the bell, we slipped around the gated in search of anyone. No luck. There was no note - nothing. We ended up going next door to the Vista Atenas B & B where the owner was kind enough to phone around and track down the owner of Barons to let them know we had arrived per our reservations.

The owner told us to come back in 1-1/2 hours and he would unlock the gate and let us in. He said we were supposed to arrive a day later (wrong on his part). We did as instructed and he let us into our room - not #2 as we had booked, but #6. Room 2 had the best view of the two, but he said he moved us to give us 'privacy'. Interesting claim as #6 is located right next to the public shower and restrooms and directly under the outdoor patio. It is however the fairest away from his room.

He did not offer an apology for not being here for our check in. Instead saying it was a 'misunderstanding'. He said he would 'check to see if he could compensate us in some way'. Mind you, this is the owner - who exactly is he checking with?

I own a restaurant and my traveling partner owns vacation rentals so we are sensitive to travelers expectations and and what to do when a guest encounters a problem. I felt like there was a complete disconnect here.

Now I get onto the picky details that added up - There was supposed to be daily maid service. There was not. The electricity was shut off at least once a day. There is no soap for the bathroom sink - you have to grab a squirt from the shower to wash your hands. Was there supposed a 'free small gift' per their ad in Trip Advisor? Don't count on it.

The manager did go out of his way by helping with Spanish when I had to see the doctor in town. That act of kindness was greatly appreciated.

Again, this is a beautiful setting, but if the service and hospitality is completely lacking it really leaves me cold. I would advise passing on this place and trying a more established and reliable lodging choice.

Room Tip: 1, 2 & 3 have the best views. #6 is by the road.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CaptRandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

First of all the website photos do not do it justice. It is even more beautiful than what you see online. This exclusive, gated resort is magnificent in every way. From our bedroom we had the option of watching the beautiful sunrise over the mountains each morning or relaxing on our balcony overlooking San Jose in the distance at night. I loved the two gathering places. One large area is enclosed entirely with glass and has a 270 degree breathtaking panoramic view. The other "Rancho" was huge open and airy (but covered so you were shaded) with a view of San Jose with comfortable couches, tables and chairs. Each of the 2 nights we were there we were invited to gather for wine and cheese and the opportunity to meet other guests and even some of the locals.
Our "room" was really a suite with a kitchen that included full size appliances, granite counters and every small appliance you would need. The marvelous host and owner, Jerry, thought of everything for the fully stocked kitchen, right down to the wine opener. The remainder of the suite was furnished beautifully with more than ample storage. We had a huge closet to stow our luggage as well as enough drawers to store our clothes and personal belongings.
It was important for us to have internet access and our wifi worked perfectly. Also it is very difficult for me to sleep if I'm not comfortable and I slept like a baby both nights. The mattress is state-of-the-art.
Definitely 5 stars. Can't wait to go back and stay longer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 104LoveToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at Baron's Resort in Atenas, Costa Rica for nine days. This was our fourth trip to Costa Rica and it was by far the most enjoyable and relaxing. The views at the resort were spectacular! Jerry was a perfect host, presenting us with a "mocktail" upon arrival and always checking with us to make sure we had everything we needed. Our room had the best view, especially for the 6AM sunrise everyday. The Rancho area was very inviting for late afternoon drinks and conversation with other guests. The location is within the gated community of Vista Atenas. There are many North Americans living full or part time in the community. They have a monthly Pot Luck Dinner and as guests, we were invited to attend. It was a great way to meet people and talk about living in Costa Rica. It was especially great for us as we are considering moving to Costa Rica, at least part time. We made friends with residents other guests who will be lifelong friends. Baron's Resort deserves a five star rating in my book!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rotorhead100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We usually rent a small casita here, but Andrew, our agent, encouraged us to try Barons. It just opened in January, but the proprietor handles this like a pro. I would challenge you to find a more congenial host than the owner, Jerry.

We are nearing the end of our 20 plus day visit and whether giving directions, finding a tour guide, locating a good restaurant, great conversation, or just everyday needs for the room, the owner and staff are awesome!

We are so pleased by the rates, the size of the villa, the huge bath with a huge shower with hot water on demand.and I enjoyed details like a magnification mirror and stool as well. The kitchen has a full-sized stove, refrigerator, with coffee maker, blender, toaster, and a crockpot!

The kitchen is stocked for eating in with a nice table and chairs. A sofa, coffee table, and end table furnish the living area.

The design of the villa is airy and the wall mounted flat screen TV can adjust to face either the living or sleeping area.

The bedroom area is roomy with a queen size memory foam mattress. It has many drawers, shelves in closet, a safe, and a large closet for hanging clothes. Here again, attention to detail in the design provided us with more space to store our luggage above the large closets. There is ample space in the bathroom for more storage with four more drawers and a large space under the sink, and then floor to ceiling shelves built in as well for linens.

The quality of building, design, landscaping, granite counters, beautiful cabinetry, and a safe gated residence spells comfort in an already gorgeous location. One gem is the solid glass panoramic viewing room that serves as a gathering place for pot lucks or casual get togethers if you are fortunate to be around then.

Outdoors is lovely here. Our vista from the balcony is spectacular. The azure pool is perfect for burning a few calories or to cool off midday. The large covered rancho has half a dozen tables with chairs and it also can double as a reception or event center. The sound of birds and wildlife calms as the flowing water from the front fountain and water flowing into the pool adds a soothing touch to the symphony.

In case you can't tell, we are enchanted by this lovely resort. The personality and attention to detail are apparent. Jerry loves his creation. He loves meeting and sharing information.

For instance, we came and ended up going to see Dr. Mario for dental work. When I came back once with my husband still a little under the anesthesia,Jerry and Fred jumped up to help me get my husband into our room. Frequently, we were checked in on to see if we needed anything and if all was going well. It was reassuring to know we were not alone if there had been a need arise.

Come to the best new resort in Atenas! Central to anyplace you would want to go. Barons will not disappoint you. If you want value, fair pricing, and comfort with a view, you had better reserve ahead. The resort has been hopping with satisfied clients since opening day.

Room Tip: All rooms are great! We stayed in room 2 and loved the view and the breeze from the Valley. Rooms...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryetr03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Baron's resort so much that we changed our travel plans and returned for the second half of our month long vacation in Costa Rica. Jerry is the owner of the resort and is a wonderful host; he is very informative, warm and caring. Baron's is a beautiful boutique resort and the views from this resort are absolutely breathtaking! And, I mean breathtaking! The resort is situated close to the quaint town of Atenas, which has all of the amenities that you could want. The resort however, is located just on the edge of town affording guests a quiet, private and safe place to enjoy the incredible weather and area.

Our small apartment was new, comfortable, very clean and equipped with everything you need to make your own meals. We went to the local supermarcado for groceries, and on Fridays to the open air market for farm fresh fruits and vegetables.

We also loved where the resort was located as it was central to many activities. It is located about 30 mins. from the Sans Jose airport, 10 minutes from great shopping (you wouldn't believe the mall/shops available in Escazu!), 40-45 minutes from the beach areas (and there are many to choose from), and is in a perfect location to access the myriad of activities available in Costa Rica. Be sure to go to the organic coffee farm, El Toledo and experience the tour provided by Gabriel and his family - a must see!

If you are wanting to visit the Atenas area, seriously consider staying at Baron's resort. Jerry is just wonderful and will make you feel so welcome. This resort is a real gem!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karenpBarrie_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atenas
2.5 mi away
The Retreat Costa Rica
2.4 mi away
Hotel Colinas del Sol
4.6 mi away
Amatierra Retreat and Wellness Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
673 reviews
14.6 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barons Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barons Resort

Address: Vista Atenas 59, Atenas 20501, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Atenas
Price Range: $72 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barons Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barons resort is an amazing new boutique resort with old world charm and luxurious full service accommodations. This 7000 sq ft complex is uniquely situated on top of a mountain with the most incredible 360° views. Surrounded by hundreds of acres of conservatory land, the property can accommodate 14-20 guests with six top-of-the-line furnished villas. Each villa has over 500 sq ft. of living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Barons Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing