We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great service”

El Restaurante Guanacaste
Ranked #10 of 51 Restaurants in Atenas
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Description: One the best restaurants in Atenas. Only La Trocha compares.
Restaurant details
Description: One the best restaurants in Atenas. Only La Trocha compares.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always great service”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I have been to Guanacaste several times. The food is great, and the service is as well. They also do an excellent job with large groups--always getting the order right and bringing the food out quickly. This is a hidden gem in Atenas.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    24
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Atenas!!!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Now this is the best restaurant in Atenas, bar none. The Guanacaste consistently has the best food all the time ... especially the Sea Bass (Corvina), garlic shrimp (camarones al ajillo), chifrijo (a Costa Rican specialty), and the pork ribs (costillas de cerdo). The ceviche is the best in town. Oh, the tortilla soup also! For wine, ask for the Argentinean wine El Portillo. Far better than any of the Chilean mass-produced supermarket stuff.
I can hardly believe this restaurant is only ranked #9 for it is the absolute best in town.
Service is sometimes a bit "local" ... meaning some of the waiters care to give good service and some don't. Just the way it is ... but patience, kindness, understanding and smiles when you ask for anything produce great results!
I am a permanent Atenas resident and we eat here all the time!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gringa-tica28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant outside of Atenas”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have eaten here two times. The food is typical Costa Rican and quit good. They are supposed to have some good wine (according to the wine distributor) but we can not get them to bring it out or even acknowledge they have some good bottles. It is a language problem but still just show off what you have and we can figure it out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place!!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have eaten here several times and have always been happy and full when I left. A little hard to find but worth the hunt.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrbudbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Sea Bass in Atenas (with white sauce)”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This restaurant is a short drive from the center of town and was the second restaurant we visited upon arriving (and now living) in Atenas. The setting of the restaurant is private, warm and inviting. The wait staff are very good. I have to force myself to try other things on the menu besides Sea Bass....and the 3-4 items I have tried are good. But I do keep going back to sea bass.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Restaurante Guanacaste also viewed

Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to El Restaurante Guanacaste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing