We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“It's REALLY REALLY Mexican Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jalapenos

Jalapenos
Ranked #14 of 45 Restaurants in Atenas
Cuisines: Central American, Costa Rican, Latin, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
162 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“It's REALLY REALLY Mexican Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I grew up in southern California, lived for years in Oregon and LOVE Mexican food. My favorite is usually off of trailers because of the authentic flavors. Since moving to Costa Rica I had pretty much given up on good Tex Mex as a regular thing. But NOW, each trip to San Jose/Alajuela is an excuse to go to Jalapenos Central. Norman and his staff provide an very very good meal at a ridiculously low price and the BEST customer service of any restaurant I've been to recently. It aint faincy, but it is fresh, delicious, and full of traditional flavors and textures.
Do not miss the Sopa Azteca (sometimes called Tortilla Soup in other places), it is the BEST I've ever tasted. Also, LOVE the hot sauce they serve on the side. Lastly, the chicken enchilada is is simple but delicious!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janick2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atenas, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A place we visit frequently...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Close to home and nice local feel. Menu is great. Have tried their ceviche, margaritas, bloody mary (spicy) and lobster. Everything was quite nice. My only recommendation is to improve on their music selection. It was electronica (is that the name of it?). Consistent , repeating beat, and was a little bit loud. Service was good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and and very reasonable prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I eat at Jalapenos often and we have never had reason to complain. The food is good and the waitress is a sweetheart.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrbudbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, NC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Vegan Casado!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stopped here for our first meal in Costa Rica. After a horrible rental car experience (DO NOT RENT FROM EUROPCAR!!) we wanted to get out of San Jose as quickly as possible and get to Manuel Antonio before dark. We stopped here out of the blue, and I ordered Casado Vegetariano. Even though it was not on the menu, they had no problem preparing it for me, and it was delicious. I agree with the other reviewer about the music. It was some kind of mix tape that sounded like someone was scanning 70s and 80s radio stations, but all remixed to some kind of techno beat. Good food, though, and good service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Salette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
136 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place to eat outside of Atenas with a wonderful setting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We loved the food here. Simple but absolutely delicious. The service was good unfortunately our Spanish is terrible and the waitress did not know much English. We did fine except for the wine, which we always like good wine. We asked about bottles and she could only tells she had red and white. Found out when we went up to pay they had a good selection of bottles of wine. Now we know for next time. The biggest complaint was the music. Way too loud and all Electronica stuff. with the wonderful tropical setting they should have Latin music. We will go back for sure.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalapenos also viewed

Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Jalapenos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing