We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place”
Review of El Cafetal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Cafetal Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Atenas B&B and Inns
Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed February 10, 2010

We stayed here with our 3 young kids and it was wonderful. We enjoyed the beautiful view, the clean and quiet room, the kind owners and staff, the tasty breakfast, and the pool. Though we did not have a car at first, we quickly rented one and explored the area. Though this was last summer, our 4-year-old still talks about "that butterfly pool" and wants to go back to Costa Rica just for that pool - haha! This is the kind of place that makes you dream of settling down in the countryside in Costa Rica and spending long evenings watching sunsets and mornings listening to birds sing with your delicious coffee in hand.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayajana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    16
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
19
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

I stay at El Cafetal with a group of friends, We were there on a local off road bike trip. We stayed 4 nights in total. 2 days leaving to stay else where and returning few day later to spend 2 more nights.

The Hotel is basic with no TV / phones in the rooms. The pool is very nice . We ate there each night . The menu is very basic but we were happy with what we got. The kitchen is only open for very short periods but as there is only a small number of rooms I can understand that.
The Staff are nice but one thing that we did not like was on our last night we went else where to eat. We returned to El Cafetal at approx 0930pm to drink in their bar to find the bar closed and the owner would not open it up for 6 male drinkers! The next morning the service at breakfast was very much down on other mornings. Was the owner sore we ate else where the night before? I think so ! Pity because everything was fine up until then.

Please note there has been no coffee grown there in over 10 years .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roost7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTERVILLE, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Our host and his staff made us feel at home in this lush setting. We loved the outdoor breakfasts and enjoyed the sparkling pool, surrounded by flowers and fruit trees. Our room was comfortable, and the on-site restaurant served tasty, fresh food.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

This inn is extraordinary in every way...ambiance,appearance,cleanliness, friendliness of staff. Location is great. The area is close to many great Costa Rica attractions, and the airport. There is no noise, it is very tranquil, pool is great.,grounds are beautiful. Next visit I will stay 2 nights.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

My husband and I stayed here our first night in Costa Rica, rather than driving to Manuel Antonio the first day. The setting was perfect and the views from all around the grounds were spectacular. Our only regret was that we didn't stay here longer and take in the sights of the nearby towns. If you are looking for a spot to stay at the beginning or end of a trip in CR, near San Jose, this is it!!
We're actually considering spending and entire week here next year. The El Cafetal is the perfect spot for rest and relaxation.
Celia and Greg

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Az.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

If you want a unique experience in an absolutely gorgeous place you should spend a day or two here. Do not come if you are looking for the Hilton. The place is unlike any other other I have ever stayed at. The grounds are incredible. The rooms are fine but different. The breakfast is amazing. The owner is fascinating. Do not come however if you expect an American hotel. Come if you want something different and want to get to know more about Costa Rica and experience a different country.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vcgeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2009

my fiance and i were trying desperately to plan our wedding there but recieved no support from the person in charge of weddings. we really liked the place and wanted to rent the whole thing out but it would take her weeks to reply to our emails and then she wouldn't even answer the questions we did ask! if you are trying to plan a wedding there from the states, i would deeply discourage it. it's hard enough to plan a wedding much less without any support!!!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank wildbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atenas
2.1 mi away
Hotel Colinas del Sol
Hotel Colinas del Sol
#1 of 2 in Atenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
3.1 mi away
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Eden Atenas
Eden Atenas
#2 of 8 in Atenas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Toscana
2.6 mi away
Orchid Tree
Orchid Tree
#3 of 8 in Atenas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cafetal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cafetal Inn

Property: El Cafetal Inn
Address: Carretera Sta. Eulalia | 100 mts norte de la Iglesia de Santa Eulalia, Atenas 20505, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Atenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cafetal Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Cafetal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cafetal Hotel Atenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing