We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Experience”

El Toledo Coffee Tour
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Atenas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a sustainable organic coffee farm. We have been using sustainably organic practices for over fourteen years. Today we are happy to consider ourselves environmentalists first, and coffee farmers second.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Authentic Experience”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is one of the best coffee tours I have been on. Our guide spoke great English and was very personable. He explained the whole process of organic coffee in Costa Rica. We ended up staying for over an hour just drinking coffee with our guide and learning more. A wonderful extra treat. I highly recommend taking this tour!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nextstop99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    7
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great coffee!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a great place to see how coffee is processed here in Costa Rica. The coffee is AMAZING! If you mention Residencia de Vida children's home part of the proceeds of the tour will help feed the children in this children's home. Not only is it a great tour but they are giving back to the community. They are wonderful people who care about others.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CherieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
174 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Home Grown Excellence”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is a small enterprise that takes its coffee seriously. The tour is held in small groups. The hosts are multi-lingual (hint hint all us Americans!) and take their time telling you the history of Costa Rican coffee. It is with much pride they share their industry with you. At the end of the tour you are treated to fresh brewed products from their fine line of coffees. I dare you to try not to purchase something from your delightful tour guides! This is a friendlier, more intimate coffee tour. Sure you'll enjoy Cafe Britt's over the top tour....but I bet you'll appreciate this one more!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazrlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
226 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“these reviews speak true”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Gabriel and his family really deserve the accolades. This was a most enjoyable and informative tour, about much more than coffee. So I'll restrict my comments to a few helpful pointers: first, getting here by rental car is tricky, and don't attempt this without 4WD. Our usually reliable GPS guided us wrong but fortunately we had Spanish to fall back on. Gabriel says he is putting up some extra signs along the road to direct people to the tour, and that should help. Secondly, bring your own water and insect repellant, as you will be hiking back into the plantation. Finally, although I am sure that modifications to the tour could be made for those who cannot walk well, this tour requires some dexterity to see everything. We loved it all, including the visiting toucan. Gracias a todo!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gazooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must see!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

A huge thank you to Gabriel and his wife for an exceptional experience. What they are doing on this plantation to grow truly organic coffee beans is extraordinary. The story of this family and the tour that follow is nothing short of inspiring. If you are in the Atenas area, this stop is a definite must see!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank karenpBarrie_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toledo Coffee Tour also viewed

Heredia, Province of Heredia
Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 
Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to El Toledo Coffee Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing