We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfull Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Toledo Coffee Tour

El Toledo Coffee Tour
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Atenas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a sustainable organic coffee farm. We have been using sustainably organic practices for over fourteen years. Today we are happy to consider ourselves environmentalists first, and coffee farmers second.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfull Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a great activity ,for both people who know about coffee and for those who do not , this tour is very educational and teaches people that it´s posible to live in armony with the nature and at the same time to have a business .
i highly recommend this activity , people are kind and they really know what they are talking about it´s just marvelous And the coffee is delicious.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adri1487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    5
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aguacate, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Coffee Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had taken the tour with Gabriel about 18 months ago on our visit to Costa Rica and it was a highlight of our trip! Now that we live here, we take our guests to this tour as well.

This past week, my Mom and her husband came to visit. Although it was raining, they adapted the tour for us and it was still incredibly informative and a great experience! Not only did he tell us about the entire organic process from start to finish, but he was able to show us how it all comes together. Another organic farmer had stopped by and also gave us some insight from his perspective. Afterwards, his wife prepared 3 different roasts of their coffee and food to accompany the coffee. They make you feel at home!

We have attended tours at other coffee farms before, but this one is by far the best you will see. True local farmers, doing what they love, and having the passion to share the experience with you...

Oh, and amazingly great coffee too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“best coffee beans in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Came across this coffee at the Market in Grecia on Friday and Saturday. Purchased two bags and brought them back to the States. If it wonderful, wish I purchased twenty bags instead of two. We are headed back in the near future and will stock up then. Hope we find you somewhere there on Sunday at a market near Grecia.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Coffee Tour in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Skip all of the other coffee tours in Costa Rica and just do this one. We were in Costa Rica for a month and did the larger coffee tours and some smaller ones. This is the best. Although very hard to find unassisted, it is worth the search. We spent about three hours on the tour. It really focuses on organic farming and coffee. Do not expect a lot on the processing, roasting and serving of coffee. It is a coffee farming tour and best best I have seen. The entire family was terrific and spent a long time answering our questions. We also had some tasty surprise treats at the end of the tour. This tour is worth the drive from anywhere in Costa Rica.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank chamarivercr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You shouldn't miss this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I noticed at least one other traveler had trouble finding El Toledo..We (my wife and I) spent about 2 or 3 hours looking for this place one afternoon, then came home and finally found the GPS coordinates (N09°59.817' W084°25.773'). The next morning we found it right away..I am glad we did. Gabriel and his family are VERY passionate about organic sustainable coffee farming. The tour was very informative and fun. At the end we sampled light, medium and dark roast coffee and had to guess which one was which. We were there for about 3 hours, about an hour and a half for the tour and the rest we just sat around and talked. It was very nice. You should bring a camera and walking shoes! It's no wonder all of the reviews are 5/5!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnnyboy1576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toledo Coffee Tour also viewed

Heredia, Province of Heredia
Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
 
Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to El Toledo Coffee Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing