We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our trip”

El Toledo Coffee Tour
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Atenas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a sustainable organic coffee farm. We have been using sustainably organic practices for over fourteen years. Today we are happy to consider ourselves environmentalists first, and coffee farmers second.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We almost missed this tour after getting lost and driving in circles. we decided to give it one more try only to get stuck in road construction half way up the mountain. Gabriel rode down on his bike to look for us. we finally made it up and it was well worth the wait. the whole family did such a great job tailoring the tour for our family (our three young kids are neither patient nor interested in coffee). Aside from the tour, which was a great way to learn about costa ricin coffee as well as land use and ecology, we tasted coffee, milk shakes and pastries. then, much to our surprise we got to help grind sugar cane into juice and drink it! Gabriel p,ayes with the kids and got out a huge tarp full of coffee beans for them to play in. hen, to top it all off... We were led back to the main road so we wouldn't get list again. We felt like family and everyone had a great time...especially the kids!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuchofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    7
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great way to spend a morning”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful morning touring the coffee farm. The owner, Gabriel, showed us not only the farm, the equipment, the different types of roasts, but he also showed us the fruits and vegetables that grew on the farm and allowed us to sample the vegetation that was ripe. He was informative yet very personable. After the tour we were treated to a coffee sampling - delicious! We were very encouraged to learn about the organic farming that is done here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was an excellent opportunity to learn about the process of making coffee and the hard work that goes into every delicious cup! If you are a coffee lover and environmental enthusiast this is a very unique experience that you should consider. The plantation is family owned and operated.They are genuinely kind and love what they do. They are extremely knowledgeable and speak very good English. It was very educational and fun too. Their coffee is delicious! I purchased several bags to bring back to the states with me as gifts and some to keep for myself to enjoy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Traveler
Level Contributor
222 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“It's all about the People. It's all about the Coffee. El Toledo Coffee Tour has both.”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I would like to enthusiastically recommend El Toledo Organic Coffee Farm Tour. You might say I have been touring El Toledo Coffee Farm for 10 weeks now, since I have volunteered on the farm twice, once for three weeks in Dec-Jan 2011, and most recently for seven more weeks. Two things that highlight El Toledo Coffee experience: the people and the vertically integrated sustainable farm.

The people: you won’t run into friendlier and more informed coffee people than the Calderons who have run this coffee farm for generations. Their knowledge of permaculture and sustainable, organic coffee operations is uniquely expert and the Calderon farm story has been recently covered in several news pieces (see: http://www.dailyfinance.com/2012/04/07/saving-the-family-coffee-farm-an-Unintentional-organic-journey/ and the April 8, 2012 edition of:
http://wisdom-radio.com/blog/

El Toledo Organic Coffee Farm: from flower bud to cup, the coffee is grown, harvested, processed, dried, peeled, roasted and brewed entirely at this farm by the Calderons. I had the good fortune to arrive my first time in mid-December at the height of the harvest season. Each day we processed and sun-dried hundreds of pounds of coffee berries and beans. On this most recent volunteer stint, we have been peeling hundreds of pounds of beans each day. To see the whole coffee operation -- from flower bud to a brew of the most incredible tasting coffee you will ever drink -- is a real treat. And all of it done, step by step, sustainably.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is why I love Costa Rica”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Pura Vida! This is what Costa Rica is about - Pure Life. I have been to Costa Rica on three separate occasions and plan to move there when I retire. Atenas is a wonderful community full of interesting people. I was introduced to Gabriel at El Toledo Coffee in Spring 2011 by a U.S. Expat who runs an english/spanish school in Atenas (thanks Jennifer). With great passion and excellent english, Gabriel took us on a two+ hour journey through his farm, showing great knowledge of all facets of coffee production. The story of their transformation to organic farming was both interesting and inspiring. After tasting fresh coffee, we had enjoyed an amazing lunch with his family including fresh sugar cane for desert! We did not want to leave. Great people, a great day it doesn't get any better than this. My wife and I now spend the extra money on organic foods - people like this are worth it.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank SamAxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toledo Coffee Tour also viewed

Heredia, Province of Heredia
Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 
Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to El Toledo Coffee Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing