We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Cultura - CLOSED

Cafe Cultura
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our trip to Atenas was our first and we visited several restaurants. Cafe Cultura was recommened by the manager of our B&B. The service was good and the food was excellent. We met the owner and found that the restaurant had only been opened for about one month.
His menu was fairly extensive and had some different and very good dishes. It is well worth the visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Refreshingly excellent cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Those of us who are permanent residents in Atenas really, really hope that the new folks in charge of Cafe Cultura -- Jed and Esther -- stay! The restaurant re-opened under their management is at least 1 million percent better than the last owners/managers.

The menu is new, fresh, innovative and crafted with a flair by "chef" Jed ... who is not bashful at all to tell you what's good that day! I keep coming back to work my way through the menu because it all is so good!

Fantastic dishes I've tried:
Fish curry, Veggie salad (cooked butternut squash, potatoes, cashews and more!), Waldorf salad, Cultura hamburger (finally, a REAL hamburger in Costa Rica!), falafel pita.
For drinks, go for the Sandia Lambada with watermelon juice or the Detox with ginger, pineapple, celery and carrot. Yum!

I tried Jed's chocolate pie last night ... heaven!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gringa-tica28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
136 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Getting better every day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Went in for my second time and had a very nice lunch. The owner has found someone to purchase fresh local meat and the chef is showing his talents. Look forward to the next visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“1st night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a combination between tea/cafe shop and restaurant. Owners Jed and Esther are very sweet and attentive. Until they get their wine license, you can bring in own wine. That is a very smart decision. They take credit cards - for a new business, that is great. Food starts with fresh ingredients. Great selection of loose leaf teas.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“For the price we could have coffee in central park NYC”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The most expensive place I have ever eaten... 40 dollars for 3 coffees and 3 piece of cakes. Never again! Sorry.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cultura also viewed

Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing