We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, a little piece a heaven!”
Review of Poco Cielo Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poco Cielo Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We loved our stay at Poco Cielo. This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we were delighted with the accommodations. The cabins and rancho are located so they have magnificent views of Grecia and the Poas volcano. The cabins are very comfortable, clean and spacious and the grounds are lush and beautifully maintained. The area is so tranquil with the sound of birds and gentle breezes. Gary and Josanne, the owners, were very gracious and helpful and did everything to make our stay pleasant. Poco Cielo is a short cab or bus ride ride to Atenas (or a 30 minute mostly downhill walk). There there are restaurants closer than that - a short walk away - that serve great food.
We wish we were there now!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 69 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

The cabin was comfortable and roomy, the access to Atenas by taxi or bus service is great. The pickup at the airport and travel to Poco Cielo went without a hitch. Gary & Josanna are friendly and helpful with all details. While we were there they were able to connect cable to our cabin, and the TV is now a modern flat screen.

I would recommend over other options in the Atenas area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Evelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had a great stay at Poco Cielo. These cabins are exceptionally well-built and ventilated. (No air conditioning is needed in Atenas.) Grounds are well maintained. Pool area is lovely and the ranchero has saddle-topped bar stools! Canadian owners are very helpful (and nice!). A few times during our stay they staged movies at the ranchero in the evening. They are about 3k from town so I would suggest you have access to a car while staying here. We went into town regularly and bought fresh produce off the many small vendors that sell from their small trucks. We plan to go back again.

Room Tip: Cabins are all are the same size and style but you can choose from a full kitchen with 1 bed or kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBlake_x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed here recently for two nights at the start of our Costa Rica holiday, arriving late at night and weary after our long journey.Had a brilliant nights sleep and woke up to discover the beautiful pool and grounds. We walked into Atenas for breakfast and to pick up some basic supplies.. very friendly place. Gary and Josanne were very helpful, pointing out restaurants to eat at and arranging taxis for us. I would say this is the perfect place to either begin or end your holiday and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The name doesn't lie. We arrived at Poco Cielo for the last leg of our Costa Rica trip and were delighted by the grounds, the views, and our cabin. Everything was just as we wanted it, informal, clean, comfortable, and gorgeous. The owners were out of the country at the time but Douglas and Roberto made us more than welcome and efficiently took care of us. The cabin had a separate bedroom with a comfortable bed, ceiling fans, a great room with a couch and chairs, a small but fully functional kitchen and a covered patio when we spent considerable time just admiring the view, the air, the flowers, the hummingbirds. There was a covered "rancho" with a pool, a barbeque, stove and refrigerator. There was also comfortable seating including lounge chairs, and a few games for those who need to be entertained. All in all we settled in happily and fell in love with the little town of Atenas which has a remarkable number of good restaurants.

Room Tip: There are only four rental cabins and the setting is peaceful. We were in an end unit near the bluf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, General Manager at Poco Cielo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thanks so much for staying at our place. Douglas told us you were very very nice guests. We would of liked to meet you however we thank you so much for taking such good care of our cabin . We are glad the portable bed worked for you and the rest of the property. Josanne and I thank you again and one day we might meet . PS Happy New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed in mid October and we were amazed and delited from day one.
The resort is located in a lush, tropical paradise. The owners Gary and Josanne were much more than accommodating, going out of there way to meet our every expectation. Would highly recommend this resort to all, whether first time visitor or seasoned traveler.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank debob1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, General Manager at Poco Cielo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing us . It was great having you here and we are very grateful for the time we spent together. We are still working on the project we showed you and will keep in touch. Please stay safe and happy holidays .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My family has done a LOT of traveling in Costa Rica over the last 20 years, staying at a lot of hotels, and my husband and I agree that this is definitely in our top five! The grounds are immaculate, the views are stunning, the cabins are clean, private, safe, and extremely comfortable, and the pool/rancho area is gorgeous. What stood out most to us, though, was the service of the owners, Gary and Josanne. They bent over backwards time and time again to ensure that our visit exemplified "pura vida..." and it did! From Josanne's initial hospitality (offering juice to my thirsty little ones when we arrived in the dark and rain) to their flexibility when we hosted a Tico-style get-together for my husband's extended family, to their helpfulness when my son needed to see a doctor, they were absolutely wonderful. Our relatives were in awe of the beauty of the place, and I have to say that our only regret was that we had to leave so soon!! This place is a true gem. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, General Manager at Poco Cielo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you so very much for staying at our place. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and the BIG get-together . Meeting your whole family was great . Your children are so nice and well behaved . We really enjoyed listening to then , laughing and giggling . Thanks again for choosing Poco Cielo , it's all worth it when we can share our home with such a wonderful family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atenas
2.5 mi away
The Retreat Costa Rica
2.4 mi away
Hotel Colinas del Sol
0.5 mi away
Barons Resort
Barons Resort
#2 of 4 in Atenas
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
872 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Toscana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poco Cielo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poco Cielo Resort

Address: West of the Coope Gas Station on Hwy 3 on the Right 3 KM | next to Futbol 7, Atenas 20501, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Atenas
Price Range: $75 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is set in the mountains of Atenas, overlooking the central valley below. We have 4 private cabins available, two with a kitchen and one queen sized bed, and two cabins with two queen sized beds and small kitchenette. The cabins all have Wi-Fi, 32" LED flat screen TV,DVD player , Cable TV and the rancho has surround sound an iPod dock and once in a while we do a movie on the big screen. All guest have access to the kitchen located in the Rancho pool-side. The "cabinas" are very private and surrounded with tropically manicured gardens and lawns that are frequently visited by toucans and parrots. Sit back and relax in our large Rancho area while you socialize with family, new friends, read a book or listen to your favorite music. There are some wonderful restaurants within walking distance or a short ride to town will provide you with many more restaurants. The grocery store in town is modern with just about everything you will need. Come and stay with us here at Poco Cielo for a little piece of heaven in the beautiful country of Costa Rica. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing