We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be careful- new management and the food is suffering!”
Review of La trilla

La trilla
Ranked #23 of 53 Restaurants in Atenas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Nice place for great time, dinner and enjoy!!! New manager
naples,fl
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Be careful- new management and the food is suffering!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

You will see a marked decline in the quality of the food being served here in the last few weeks.
The owner of the property has decided to take over the restaurant and sent the old manager and chef packing. This has gone from arguably the best restaurant in Atenas to undeniably the most mediocore. If you have eaten here in the past, it won't be the same!
Prices are up and the quality is down!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank onedumgoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birgitta P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La trilla, responded to this review, January 25, 2017
Dear Visitor, we would like to let you know that La Trilla has a new administration from october 2016. And we hope to welcome you.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    53
    19
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lousy service and over priced for the quality of the food”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had been regulars at La Trilla for the past couple of years and the food was always good and reasonably priced. We hadn't been there in a couple of months and the recent management change may not have been such a good thing. We arrived shortly after noon on a Saturday for lunch. There were only 5 other tables occupied, with 3 wait staff running around. Our waiter gave us a menu and never returned, He never took a drink order either. We reviewed the menu and found their prices have sky rocketed under the new management. Unless there has been a 300% increase in the quality of the food, there is no way these prices are justified in this little town. There are far better places to eat, with much better prices. We found a number of our favorites are no longer on the menu either. After 25 minutes of waiting for any one of the 3 waiters to take an order, we finally decided to go somewhere else. I have never been an a restaurant like this, where the customer is totally ignored. We will not be back and we will share our experience with our friends that live in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Everything to like. The food, the hospitality, the environment...just very very nice. Easy to find. English is spoken. Met the owner, who went around talking with the guests ensuring that they were happy with everything..

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ladyrain7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Great Dining and Social Experience”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

From the moment we arrived, the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. We were with a 16 month-old who was a bit fussy, but they were fine with that. The manager/owner introduced us to some of his other guests as they and my partner have Norwegian blood in common. He took time to converse with us and it surely came from the heart.
The decor of the restaurant was superb and we felt it was very clean. The food was delicious and we have been constantly surprised at the quality of dining experiences here.
I would say that La Trilla is an experience that should be tried at least once.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New Management and Better Than Ever”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I own a home in Atenas and have been going to La trilla for years. We have however, been away for more than a year and were initially disappointed to hear that one of our favorite restaurants had changed hands. We couldn't have been more misguided as the new management has transformed a good restaurant to a truly great restaurant in every way. Service is outstanding and the quality and variety of the food is as good as any we have ever experienced in any setting in Costa Rica. This is a 5 star restaurant with 2 star prices. Very reasonable prices and the best Shrimp Bisque I've ever tasted.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La trilla also viewed

Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to La trilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing