We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La trilla

La trilla
Ranked #13 of 43 Restaurants in Atenas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Costa Rican, Seafood, Spanish, Fusion, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Nice place for great time, dinner and enjoy!!! New manager
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Everything to like. The food, the hospitality, the environment...just very very nice. Easy to find. English is spoken. Met the owner, who went around talking with the guests ensuring that they were happy with everything..

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ladyrain7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    51
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Great Dining and Social Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

From the moment we arrived, the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. We were with a 16 month-old who was a bit fussy, but they were fine with that. The manager/owner introduced us to some of his other guests as they and my partner have Norwegian blood in common. He took time to converse with us and it surely came from the heart.
The decor of the restaurant was superb and we felt it was very clean. The food was delicious and we have been constantly surprised at the quality of dining experiences here.
I would say that La Trilla is an experience that should be tried at least once.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New Management and Better Than Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I own a home in Atenas and have been going to La trilla for years. We have however, been away for more than a year and were initially disappointed to hear that one of our favorite restaurants had changed hands. We couldn't have been more misguided as the new management has transformed a good restaurant to a truly great restaurant in every way. Service is outstanding and the quality and variety of the food is as good as any we have ever experienced in any setting in Costa Rica. This is a 5 star restaurant with 2 star prices. Very reasonable prices and the best Shrimp Bisque I've ever tasted.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“On our short list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I have been here several times. Consistently good food and service. We're working on our Spanish, but our waitress is bilingual. Margaritas are refreshing on a hot night. Costa Rican meals are pretty well balanced - small starch, meat and generous portion of vegetables. This Atenas restaurant is in our top 5.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, Best in traditional Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

During our stay in Atenas, La trilla was the first establishment where we sample Tico cuisine. It was simply amazing! The open atmosphere is warm and cozy. The service was great, and the food was delicious. I had the rice with chicken dish......wonderful flavor and plenty of it!

An absolute must- The "House" Tea. It is a wonderful blend of ice and their special tea. It arrives at the table with a frothy head resembling beer, but it is an intense flavored tea.

I asked how they make it, but the answer was "It's my secret"

We visited La Trilla several times. We always received excellent food and outstanding service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La trilla also viewed

Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
Atenas, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to La trilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing