We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colinas del Sol, Atenas is a slice of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colinas del Sol
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Atenas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I have stayed at Colinas del Sol 5 times for a month each time. I have found such a vast improvement since the new manager/owner took over: a wonderful new chef, better outside lighting, new linens, hairdryers and TV in cabins and a complete re-do of the pool. Birgitta, the new manager/owner should be proud - she has made Colinas del Sol a top-of-the-line resort which caters to all ages. Breakfasts include everything from 3 kinds of cut-up fruit, rice and beans (the Tico staple), scrambled eggs, dry cereals, yogurt, toast, jam and peanut butter, orange juice and an endless supply of wonderful Costa Rican coffee. Lunch and dinner menus are varied and all selections are delicious and priced very reasonably. Lastly, most of the staff speak a little english and all staff will go out of their way to accomodate your every request.

Room Tip: Somewhere in the middle of the lower level cabins (4 or 5) is best. You won't hear cars coming i...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_colinas, Propietario at Hotel Colinas del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thanks so much for your recomendation. Very glad you liked our changes. Hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Colinas del Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 104 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a great place if you want to be in a secluded paradise. I discovered one of the most amazing birds there, called the oropendola. Wonderful.

I just wish they had bigger pillows.

And fewer ants.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MardiRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_colinas, Gerente at Hotel Colinas del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thanks for your nice review. Hope to welcome you again soon.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The location is pretty good. It's the nicest close place to downtown Atenas but the good views are owned by the nearby homes and not the inn. The entry drive and parking is very rough and unimpressive. The dropoff area is small and not very special. The rooms are nice sized and it's great they have a kitchenette but they could be modernized. The doors and screens do not work well but the rooms and patio are nice as is the landscaping. The restaurant is a nice communal gathering area and the owner and staff are very nice.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms closer to the entry to get cell service.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garybuilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_colinas, Director General at Hotel Colinas del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Thanks for your review. Parkingground was just redone. And rooms are repainted this month.
Sorry did not like our kichentette. It is made for basic needs.
You stayd in one of the rooms near restaurant and pool. The rooms up hill have a few on the valley to the volcano poas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Colinas del Sol in Atenas, is a beautiful place. I loved the bungalows!!!! Everything was so clean and cozy. The view is awesome. The nights are peaceful. The owner is friendly and extremely helpful. Lovely swimming pool, perhaps on of the best in Costa Rica. Breakfast includes always fresh tropical fruits! Delicious and refreshing and ...healthy!!!! I wouldn't recommend a better place to stay in Atenas. Colinas del Sol isn't just nice pictures. It's really a wonderful and peaceful place, so nice and clean. Familia Jorge Sancho

Room Tip: A room with a view no matter towards where
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_colinas, Propietario at Hotel Colinas del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Thanks for your nice words. He hope we can welcome you again in our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed here on our last night of a trip all over Costa Rica. It's a great hotel with a great pool and just a short distance from the town of Atenas. The property is a bit more secluded, so less good for the adventurous sort, but after a week of adventuring, a day and night of relaxing felt great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_colinas, Propietario at Hotel Colinas del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Thanks, for your review. Hope to welcome you on your next trip to Costa Rica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Hotel Colinas del Sol in Atenas is like a home away from home. The cabins are simple and straightforward with private porches, all clean, comfortable and updated. The pool is great, the grounds lovely and private. Brigitta is the consummate manager; always making sure that guests are taken care of. Colinas del Sol has the right combination of very reasonable prices, great food, comfortable rooms, a fantastic pool, lovely grounds, and excellent, friendly, warm service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBrownCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_colinas, Propietario at Hotel Colinas del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thanks for prefering us. We always pleased to serve you. Hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Colinas del Sol four times in the past year while visiting our son and experienced a very good facility go through improvements that have made it excellent. There are a number of features of this property that have made it one of our favorite places to stay in the world. First, and this is unique among the places in the Atenas area, is it is close to town. It is about a mile walk through the neighborhoods to get into Atenas, which is a great way to get a bit of exercise and see the real Costa Rica. This gives you access to shops, bakeries, grocery stores, restaurants, and an opportunity to soak up the relaxed vibe and balanced lifestyle of Costa Rica. The management is glad to call you a cab, which will arrive within about 5 minutes and is about $2 into town, but why? Also, it saves you the hassle of finding a cab to get back to the facility later, although you will need a cab for some of the restaurants scattered around the area and outside of the town itself. Always about $2 and you can use dollars (500 of the local currency is $1 roughly, and it is find with cabs, restaurants, shops, grocery stores and just about anywhere you want to buy something; you may get change in colones).

The owner of Colinas del Sol, Birgitta, lives on the property and is ever present making sure all the guests are well taken care of and is also a good source of information on things to do in the area. Half the time she will make your breakfast to order for you. The morning menu has traditional Costa Rican (Tico) fare of gallo pinto (black beans and flavored rice mixed together), eggs, and tortillas, American eggs and ham or bacon with toast, Continental pasteries, or German with sliced meats and cheese (Birgitta's home country). They also have a la carte omelets with cheese and ham options. All breakfasts come with a large plate of cut fruit and an even larger plate of cut fruit is on the sides menu.

The property has a number of two-room cabanas with private porches and a set of smaller rooms up the hill that are built condo-style. The decor is minimalist, but everything is clean and tiled or natural wood finishes. The bathroom is spacious with a large walk-in shower and there are adequate plugs for hair dryers and near the beds for recharging electronics. All the rooms have flat screen TVs, although we were out and about so much that we did not really take the time to do much more than watch ESPN Sports Center one morning.

The veranda dining room and lobby-bar is one of the nicest features of the property, and we spent many hours sitting around reading on our iPads (there is free wifi that works well), working from our laptops and drinking coffee. There is also a bar where we typically end our evenings having a local beer or South American wine and getting to know the staff, most of whom speak excellent English and are very friendly and anxious to share information about the town and Costa Rica. We had our morning breakfast at Colinas del Sol most mornings -- we did Sunday brunch in town -- and had lunch and/or dinner there a few times when it was raining heavily, which is does for short periods of time. The restaurant menu is very diverse with salads, sandwiches and substantial main courses of grilled meats and pastas, all very reasonably priced. The experience staying here is so personal that you can ask the kitchen for special preparations and the cook will come out and make suggestions, plus there is a daily pre fixe dinner with soup or salad, entree and dessert, which often one of Birgitta's homemade German-style cakes with fresh fruit and cream topping.

There is also an excellent and crystal-clear pool that is great for swimming laps and sunning. In our time visiting, hardly anyone is at the pool, although occasionally someone from the neighborhood with a pool membership will come by.

The property also has a reception facility suitable for parties and there are yoga sessions there several times a week that attract people from town as well as people staying at Colinas del Sol.

The one challenge is there is no air conditioning, but there are ceiling fans and we ran them at night most of the time. Costa Rica has a very mild climate, but it can be very humid and warm during the day and into the evening. The cabanas have screens at ceiling level that let in fresh air, and as long as you keep the air moving it is pleasant at night. With luck, you have an evening rain that breaks the humidity and then it is very pleasant. So pleasant, you want to sit up at the bar until closing time and enjoy the pleasant company and relaxed hospitality that for us defines Colinas del Sol.

Room Tip: Cabanas up front have the best internet reception and are also closest to the pool.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_colinas, Propietario at Hotel Colinas del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thanks for your great review of our little place. Hope to welcome you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atenas
2.4 mi away
Barons Resort
Barons Resort
#2 of 4 in Atenas
76 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Retreat Costa Rica
7.9 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 27 in Alajuela
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
12.3 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
869 reviews
2.3 mi away
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colinas del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colinas del Sol

Address: Calle Boqueron | 600 metros este del gimnasio del liceo, Atenas 20501, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Atenas
Price Range: $60 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colinas del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sins last year 2012 we got 4 stars under international standard form the localICT Instituto Costarricense de Turismo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colinas del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing