We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Must be experienced because words cannot describe it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Tree

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchid Tree
Ranked #3 of 9 Atenas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maumelle, Arkansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must be experienced because words cannot describe it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I could say staying at the Orchid Tree was a once in a lifetime opportunity, but we intend to return. Pat and Brad (the owners) are tremendous to say the least. My wife and I are considering moving to the Central Valley area of Costa Rica, and this was our first visit. Brad was extremely helpful in showing us places and making suggestions. He drove us around and introduced us to some other expats - and wouldn't let us pay for any gasoline expense. Our son and a friend accompanied us, and Brad made arrangements for them to rent a car from an honest company. Brad both picked us up at the airport and took us back. We had an early return flight so Pat got up before sunrise and cooked a great breakfast to send us on our way. These are just a few of the things they did to make our stay so great. I'm recounting them to show why staying at the Orchid Tree is such a special experience. The attention to detail Pat and Brad demonstrate cannot be surpassed - it's like having personal concierges that are also friends.

As for the facility itself, it's like staying in a little Garden of Eden. The open Balinese style is wonderful. Open the door from your room and you step into a lush landscaped setting (with a roof over the walkway which is good if a rain shower is passing over) packed with tropical plants and fruit trees. The breakfasts are wonderful with lots of fresh fruit and that's just the beginning. Eat an Orchid Tree breakfast and you won't be hungry until dinner - at the earliest. The pool is like crystal and with only 4 rooms at the Inn, it is never crowded. In the more mundane, but heavily desired areas, there is good water pressure, plenty of hot water, and all the towels you want for both pool and shower.

All I can say is you owe yourself a stay at the Orchid Tree. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
57
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just got back from a stay at the Orchid Tree. Serene, private, and welcoming. I would never stay near the airport or in San Jose when you can experience the real Costa Rica. The Orchid Tree is a half hour drive from the airport and is at a slightly higher elevation so the climate is very comfortable. The innkeepers are friendly and are happy to make your stay as relaxing as possible. Atenas is a charming community with many goo restaurants and close to attractions such as volcanos and coffee plantations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bfs16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I, my sister-in-law, and father-in-law were driving down to a beach in Dominical, Costa Rica, to join the rest of our family when our car broke down. Fortunately, Pat and Brad, the very warm and friendly owners of The Orchid Tree bed-and-breakfast, happened to be passing by, and gave us their phone number in case a replacement car wasn't delivered before nightfall. Sure enough, it was dark when the car was finally delivered, and since it was too late to get to the beach that night, we decided to stay at the Orchid Tree. We were so glad we did! We were all a little frazzled at that point, but the charm of this unique bed-and-breakfast and its delightful owners soon worked its magic, and it ended up being one of our most enjoyable experiences in Costa Rica. The grounds are lush and gorgeous, with a sparkling swimming pool, the rooms are charming, comfortable, and spotlessly clean, and the beautiful dining room and lounge area is built in an open, Bali style to take advantage of the lovely climate there. Pat and Brad took great care of us, and we really enjoyed getting to know them. After a great night's sleep and a delicious breakfast, we resumed our trip to the beach, in a much better frame of mind! Thanks so much, Pat and Brad, for turning what could have been a really difficult experience into a wonderful, very memorable one!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Orchid Tree was the first place we stayed in Costa Rica and we could not have found a better one: Peacefulness, beauty, charm. The owners Pat & Brad are wonderful peolple; they really care about you and are very helpful. Breakfast was delicious and hearty, the pool nice and clean, the 2 rooms we had were extremely clean with comfortable beds & air conditioning if desired. The restaurants that Brad recommended in Atenas, just a few minutes away, were really good and had reasonable prices, especially La Trilla. We travel with our 2 children and the four of us look forward returning to the Orchid Tree!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whablyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodland hills, california
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I was greeted by the owners Pat & Brad, who are a variety of friend and Professional Inn owners. They provided me a fabulous and unique experience at the Inn which is on a beautiful one acre site with charm and a peacefulness that was greatly appreciated. Breakfast was made to order and delicious, the swimming pool warm and clean. Orchid Tree is a sensational value and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jstntym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

If you are looking for a quiet, cozy, stay in Atenas, consider The Orchid Tree. It is indeed a world apart. Atenas is the kind of place where you can begin to understand something about real village life in this wonderful little country. Only at the local level will you begin to experience how Ticos enjoy key aspects of their lives, how they enjoy their day to day interactions. And this is key to beginning to love life here. Ticos not only know that they live small time lives in a small time country, they Prize it! If you join them, you will see how it feels. Ok, tour a volcano, surf the beach, but also find time to eat a slice of pudin from the bakery while doing a plaza sit and watching folks in the Atenas plaza. View the church, cruise the market, slow down and smell the flowers, sip the coffee. Go out to an open-air cafe and have the best beef of your life. You can do it all, while staying at The Orchid Tree, where you will enjoy the personal services of likable innkeepers, Pat and Brad.

Room Tip: Of course, you need a car, and get good directions from Brad before starting out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonBosque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Brad and Patricia, the new owners, were wonderful. Brad picked us up from the airport when our flight was delayed more than 3 hours. They served fantastic breakfasts. We were visiting our son and daughter-in-law who were working in Atenas. Brad helped us get to their place and picked us up before we had a rental car to go to Monte Verde for 2 nights. They welcomed us to all play board games and swim in the pool. I had a bad cough, Patricia kept making me hot tea. Very hospitable and easy to talk to. I second the idea of ear plugs as it seems typical for birds, roosters, dogs, etc. To be greeting the new day early in the morning. Bedroom and bathroom fine. Interesting open air design. Thanks for helping make our trip very special Patricia and Brad. We highly recommend The Orchid Tree.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atenas
0.0 mi away
Hotel Colinas del Sol
Hotel Colinas del Sol
#1 of 2 in Atenas
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eden Atenas
Eden Atenas
#2 of 9 in Atenas
5.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Toscana Atenas
Villa Toscana Atenas
#2 of 2 in Atenas
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Atenas
Apartamentos Atenas
#4 of 8 in Atenas
5.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Tree

Property: Orchid Tree
Address: Calle Oratorio, Atenas 20501, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Atenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small and intimate bed and breakfast inn, just 20 minutes from the main airport in Costa Rica (SJO) and only 45 minutes from the Pacific coast. We are ideally located in the valley of Rio Grande, Atenas – the perfect base for exploring lush rainforest, enchanting cloud forest, raging rivers, cascading waterfalls, bubbling volcanoes, artisan villages and coffee plantations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Orchid Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Tree Hotel Atenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing