We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orchid Tree
Nearby Hotels
Eden Atenas(Atenas)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Colinas del Sol(Atenas)(Great Value!)
$59
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
126
9
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
9
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan josecosta ricawonderful placebed and breakfastliving areadelicious breakfastcovered patio areala paz waterfallsfruit treeseach morningabout minutes from the airportlast night of our triporganic coffee farman excellent hostgrounds are beautifulfell in loveshort drive
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 138 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Brad and Patricia, the new owners, were wonderful. Brad picked us up from the airport when our flight was delayed more than 3 hours. They served fantastic breakfasts. We were visiting our son and daughter-in-law who were working in Atenas. Brad helped us get to their place and picked us up before we had a rental car to go to Monte Verde for 2 nights. They welcomed us to all play board games and swim in the pool. I had a bad cough, Patricia kept making me hot tea. Very hospitable and easy to talk to. I second the idea of ear plugs as it seems typical for birds, roosters, dogs, etc. To be greeting the new day early in the morning. Bedroom and bathroom fine. Interesting open air design. Thanks for helping make our trip very special Patricia and Brad. We highly recommend The Orchid Tree.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Single guy traveling with family.

A nice spot and reflective of most of the reviews here. The breakfast was steller and was incredibly filling.

The location was a little outside of Atenas. Although I was traveling with family, I cannot recommend this place for single travelers. It is very quiet and only has a small number rooms. It's for the quiet traveler. Bring a book not a party.

WiFi worked great in the main sitting room. The pool was great and well maintained but the best part of the stay were the owners. Fantastic couple. It should be noted that as of May 1st 2012, the place will have new owners.

Greats: Pool, breakfast, owners.
Average: Only one sitting room where everyone must sit together including the owners when they eat, hang out. Location great for the quiet traveler. Although Atenas only a $3 cab. One room has A/C if you want it request it.
Poor: VERY loud. Bring earplugs. Roosters, horses, dogs, etc. I found it above above average for CR.
Final thoughts: Good stay, great owners. I wish them luck in the future and hope the next ones carry the same charm.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms for rent, and only 1 with A/C although they all have fans.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funkyjive5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchidtreecostarica, Owner at Orchid Tree, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

We would like to make clear to future travelers and guests who choose the Orchid Tree as their B&B Atenas lodging a few facts about this particular booking.

We were very happy to welcome the reviewer's parents, who stayed at the Orchid Tree for a week before the reviewer came for a two day stay.
The parents came to stay here for rest and relaxation and decided not to rent a vehicle or go on any tours. As a result we became fast friends and spent a lot of time together at the inn and also in town, we shared meals, played games and had a lovely time together in the great room every day.
However we do have owner's quarters where, if our guests want to be alone or with other guests, we can retire to. Also there is a lovely large rancho with tables and comfortable chairs and loungers, so there are plenty of places to have privacy.
Now we are in a rural area and sometimes we do hear roosters, dogs, and various birds, especially at day break, but it is not constant and never has been reported to be a problem with any guest.
Also would like to mention that we have four guest suites two with a/c's and three with large ceiling fans. Most people do not use the a/c's as it cools down into the mid sixties during the night.
I think the client would have been happier staying at a larger hotel with more action, as we are a peacful, quiet and serene B&B and that is the way we prefer it, as do our guests, many of whom have returned for repeat visits.

Thank you for allowing us to do an owner's responce

Rita and Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Everything about the Orchid Tree was great, I can confirm all the positive comments made by other reviewers--TripAdvisor doesn't lie! Loved the pool and the open-concept living space. Found the location to be ideal--just far enough from San Jose to feel the 'real' Costa Rica, yet close enough to the airport to be a convienent alternative to the city. Honestly, San Jose is a drag and not very pretty compared to the country side. Stay at the Orchid Tree and you'll have no regrets!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Well located, good breakfast, great hosts. Not far away from the airport and far enough from the busy city of SJO. Local bus pretty close for a ride to Atenas, place is secured, quiet, and friendly. Good place to start a trip, but need a car or a taxi to get there. Lots of nature and nice palm trees, Demon & Billy (two cats) are wandering around the B&B to entertain the place but they are quiet and friendly, like a part of the surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jebelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Here is a little slice of heaven on earth. The setting is lovely, and peaceful. The room is pleasant, the food is great. Frank and Rita have created an oasis and make all the difference for a tired traveler. If you are looking for a slice of quiet that feels like your own personal oasis this is the spot.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews