We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop while touring CR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Atenas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great stop while touring CR”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I spent one night at Vista Atenas based on a strong recommendation from a friend. This was our first night in CR, and Vista Atenas is a fantastic place to stay if you've flown into San Jose. It's about a 45 minute drive from the airport, and is up in the mountains with a spectacular view of the valley with the town of Atenas just below. Jonathon, the manager, was very accommodating and service oriented. He carried our bags from the car to the room, and ensured we were comfortable.

The owner, Vera, was very welcoming and within an hour of our arrival took us around the back of the property to show us some local wildlife that inhabits her property. It was raining, but once my wife mentioned that she is an animal lover Vera offered to immediately show us a sloth hanging from a tree about 15 yards from the back of the building. She ended up spending about an hour and a half with us the next day giving us a tour of the garden as well as a lot of tips on traveling in CR as we were CR newbies.

Views are spectacular, breakfast was very good. This will be our first stopping point and night's stay for all of our future trips to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    55
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
45
175
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This B&B is by far one of the nicest i have visited! If you are looking for peace and serenity, this is the place to be! Vera, the owner, takes her time to make you feel special, and invites you to join her to visit the beautiful gardens of the B&B. Jonathan is always there to help and will warm up your day with his smile. Finally,The view on the central valley is breathtaking. A must!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This beautiful location on top of Atenas is truly amazing. The views are panoramic. The hotel is quaint, intimate. But what makes the elements really come together is the people who will cook an unbelieveable breakfast, care for your needs and surround you with the kind of love that will bring you back again and again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Vista Atenas was a wonderful introduction to Costa Rica - after a long transatlantic flight it was so comforting to be picked up by Vista Atenas drivers at the airport, have a good night's rest and wake up to expansive views of Costa Rica's central plateau. Without leaving the B&B you can walk through the expansive gardens and spot native butterflies and birds before relaxing by the pool.

The breakfast is excellent and I particularly liked the huge fruit smoothies to kick-start your appetite before the rest of the food arrives. Excellent coffee and a selection of teas to recover from any jetlag.

The staff are very helpful and will solve all your travelling dilemmas, including being flexible and rearranging dates. Overall, I was very happy to stay at Vista Atenas and will return to stay there again, and would highly recommend it to anyone wishing a secluded, leafy B&B with spectacular views.

Room Tip: There is a secluded double room with a private patio and your own hammock!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitttsburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

A perfect view of central Costa Rica. Very clean rooms, eating area, lounge, and pool. My room was only five feet from the pool and 10 feet from a view of paradise. Jonathan was very helpful with my day excursions and insight into Tico culture. I had arranged for the $35.00 taxi pick up from the airport. The entire process went so smoothly. I walked out of the departure gate, there was the driver holding a sign with my name. In 35 minutes I was at Vista Atenas. Only a 20 minute walk into town or you can easily call a cab to pick you up. Loved the healthy and beautifully presented breakfast too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Vista Atenas B&B was a wonderful combination of luxury and affordability. The location is great with an expansive view of the valley and our room had windows and a sliding door that opened to the outdoors. The service was nice and staff very helpful in working out certain trip logistics we encountered. We were very pleased!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerveyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Vista Atenas is a great place to rest while you are traveling across Costa Rica. It offers a simple and warm atmosphere. The hosts are super friendly and happy to help you make your stay a perfect one. Great, great value for your money as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atenas
2.3 mi away
Hotel Colinas del Sol
Hotel Colinas del Sol
#1 of 2 in Atenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
17.0 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
14.5 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Eden Atenas
Eden Atenas
#2 of 8 in Atenas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
3.2 mi away
Orchid Tree
Orchid Tree
#3 of 8 in Atenas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Toscana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast

Property: Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
Address: Vista Atenas 65 | Sabana Larga, Atenas 20502, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Atenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short 35 minutes from San José International Airport, the lush rolling countryside, with its bountiful fruit orchards and sweeping valley vistas, magically transforms as you ascend the winding mountain road that brings you to the vibrant celestial mosaic that surrounds Vista Atenas B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Atenas Bed And Breakfast
Vista Atenas Hotel Atenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing