We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Atenas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pequot Lakes, Minnesota
1 review
“Amazing B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Excellent place to stay. Very comfortable, clean, quiet, relaxing. Beatiful view of celtral valley. Breakfast was delicious. The manager Jonathon was amazing, very much enjoyed conversation with him. Thank you for everything, i cant wait to return.

Room Tip: all rooms are unique in their own way, all have benefits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    55
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
44
175
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Do you want to relax and get away from the tourist attractions, traffic, and general hustle and bussle of the tourist end of beautiful Costa Rica ? Well, you just found it. Clean, Eco green, comfortable, amazing mountain top views of the central valley, nature trails, crystal clear swimming pool, fresh breakfasts and other pluses just numerous to list honestly describe this hideaway situated in an upscale Atenas neighborhood. Jonathon, the one site, live in manager is professional, friendly, ready to address you needs and businesslike. He actually assists in the daily breakfast prep and serves you. We also met the owners who are living on site as well. Make sure to take the nature walk that winds up the mountain and is part of the venue. We views at night provide breathtaking views and the sunrises feature a view of Poaz as well as other active volcanoes. Oh yes, we shall return. We especially loved the guided tour the owner gave us of the flora and fauna present on their grounds. The gentle Lab and tabby cat are great mascots...and love to make friends and are happy to leave you alone if you wish. Put this on your " A List ". Pura Vida blossoms at this wonderful B & B / resort !

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms with views of the valley below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasToddness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Vista Atenas is simply the best place I have ever stayed in many countries. We stayed a week, traveled all over and looked forward to coming back each day. The breakfast is superb, the staff is courteous, the view is great! Jonathan is genuinely friendly, goes out of his way to be helpful and is a fountain of knowledge about Costa Rica.
It has been my experience in traveling that far too often, a motel is just a place to sleep, impersonal and far too often the staff uses phony friendliness. Imagine, a B&B where the staff is genuine in welcoming you! Vista Atenas is that place! I give it my highest recommendation!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed here for over a week and had a great experience. Thank you so much to Jonathan who was extremely helpful, accommodating, and a fountain of information. We did not rent a car so Jonathan arranged a taxi to pick us up in San Jose as well as a taxi to take us back to San Jose airport. The grounds were well kept, and the rooms were very clean and comfortable with everything you need. There were no T.V.s, but we did not miss one at all since we were only in our room for sleeping. The views were all you could ask for. The pool was small but perfect for cooling down. It was about a 30 minute walk into Atenas and we made the walk down almost every day, but used a taxi to come back (about $4) because it was fairly steep. I would not hesitate to recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbandSteveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

This is my third time staying here and it will not be the last. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff is extremely accomodating as well. I can honestly say that Jonathon has become a good friend over the times visited here.

The owner, Miss Vera, always makes me and my family feel welcome - I would recommend this place for solo travel, or for family escapes.

If you come to this B&B you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Peaceful and serene location with an amazing view of the San Jose valley. We chose this bed and breakfast for the final night of our trip because it was about 30 minutes to the sj airport. The location was very convenient and the manager was welcoming and helpful (and he cooked a great breakfast). The room was spacious and offered a wonderful view with tons of windows although not much for privacy. Weather was comfortable as we sat out on the patio drinking wine and enjoying the stars and city lights.The place needs a few updates including new linens and patio furniture, and they could clean out ash trays outside. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would return.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank CoffeecupTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night, the day we arrived in Costa Rica in San Jose. After an afternoon exploring Alejuela, we drove to the B&B at night. Despite getting lost a few times and asking locals where to go, we found it no problem.

Small, basic rooms. Amazing views. Small but comfortable pool. Very quiet. Helpful staff that would answer any question. They recommended a coffee planation with a local organic producer in the area was was absolutely amazing. Highly recommend doing the plantation tour in the Atenas area.

The manager cooked the breakfast himself. Amazing fresh fruit and good omelet.

Overall great stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atenas
2.3 mi away
Hotel Colinas del Sol
Hotel Colinas del Sol
#1 of 2 in Atenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
14.5 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
2.4 mi away
Eden Atenas
Eden Atenas
#2 of 8 in Atenas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Toscana
0.2 mi away
Barons Resort
Barons Resort
#4 of 8 in Atenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel Mango Valley
Hotel Mango Valley
#1 of 9 in Grecia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast

Property: Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast
Address: Vista Atenas 65 | Sabana Larga, Atenas 20502, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Atenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Atenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short 35 minutes from San José International Airport, the lush rolling countryside, with its bountiful fruit orchards and sweeping valley vistas, magically transforms as you ascend the winding mountain road that brings you to the vibrant celestial mosaic that surrounds Vista Atenas B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Vista Atenas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Atenas Bed And Breakfast
Vista Atenas Hotel Atenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing