We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Haritha Vijay Vihar Hotel
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
6
30
28
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
30
28
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolcomplimentary breakfastthe riverin advancebreakfast and lunchper personspacious roomgovt hotelslimited choicetvpmviewbankscleanlinessprosmarkdistance
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 69 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Five of us started out on Friday from Hyderabad to Sagar for a weekend getaway. We did not make any prior reservations considering that there was not much happening in Sagar right now and we weren't sure if we were going until the last minute. We reached Sagar by 11PM and wanted to check in. All though all the 34 rooms were vacant the booking manager did not want to give us any room. He was very rude and gave us only option. Pay full day rent and check out by 8AM next day, which we were not willing to do. He gave some vague reasons as to why he did not want to give us the room and suggested we go to Siddhartha lodge which was a kilometer away. We went to Siddhartha lodge but none of was willing to check in. I immediately called my brother who was at home and he reserved an AC suite for us and he sent us the screenshot of the transaction. On our way back to vijay vihar, we were smelling sweet revenge. Now the manager did not want to give us the room because we did not have the print out of the reservation. After a small altercation he did give us the room. We checked in around 11:30PM. Long story short, DO NOT GO TO VIJAY VIHAR WITHOUT MAKING A RESERVATION. 5 stars for the location, 1 star for hospitality.

We booked an AC suite which had two double cots sufficient for 4 people. We also booked an extra bed since we were 5. Extra bed is 300 INR per night. AC suite costed us 2885 INR. The suite was big and was well furnished. We liked the small fridge which kept the water bottles chilled. The bathroom was lavish and clean. We spent the whole night in the balcony in the backdrop of Krishna river. Overall the suite was pretty well maintained. We stayed in Room No. 609 which is in the first floor. Always choose the suites in the upper floors for a better view of the river and the Sagar dam. We experienced few power outages for 5min intervals but it was not an issue at all. We expected lot of mosquitoes and took all-out's with us, but fortunately there were none. Room service was good but they expect a tip every time you call them. 4 stars for the suite.

We did not find the food interesting at all in Vijay Vihar. Complimentary breakfast had very few choices and it was barely okay. The lunch buffet was also so so. 92 INR per person for the south Indian buffet. We heard that fish fry was good but did not go for it. I would recommend getting food from Mallepalli which is en-route to Sagar. You can get good food from either Rangeli or Nice dhabas. Food in Rangeli dhaba is very spicy while its medium spice in Nice dhaba. Althouh it is not as good as the food you get in Hyderabad, it is still better than what you get in Vijay Vihar. 2 stars for the food at Vijay Vihar.

Vijay vihar had a really nice swimming pool. We did not get time for a dip, but we checked it out. Water was clean but I think they added a lot of chemicals in the water. Fitness center was closed and might not be functioning. Parking is not an issue at all. Lots of space for parking. They have kids play area as well. The lawns are well maintained.

Overall 3 stars for Vijay Vihar.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tigerz619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We did the booking on the internet. Not sure why, but you must specify your check in and check out times accurate to last 15 minutes. It seems that the hotel tariff is decided on the hours you spend there. We booked a suite. Big room with two queen size beds. Amazing view from the balcony. Nice lawns facing the Sagar, excellent for group activities. One night is fine. Check-in at 1000 hrs. and reach boat launching station (around 11 kms. away from Vijay Vihar; boats to the museum on the island in Sagar) before 1130 hrs. to take the first boat (look pic.). It is a nice slow 45 min. boat ride to the islands. Purchase and enjoy a cold drink at the boat. Do enjoy rose garden and museum and take lots of photographs. I even took the photograph of my GPS location on the island. You get approx. 1 hour on the island and come back by the same boat.

Back at the hotel, do not expect the quality in food and service. The extension telephone in our suite was not working. So could not place any room service.
The electric kettle in the room was in pathetic condition (look pic.). French fries we ordered were must be stale and few days old (look pic.). We tried package breakfast in the restaurant, and normal south indian menu was very basic. We wanted to have ice-cream and as expected, it was not available. We drove to another hotel sidharth 1 km. from Vijay Vihar to get the same.

I will advise you to carry some fruits, juices and biscuits to add to varity or provide an option, specially when with small kids.

We did not try the swimming pool.

Location of the property is amazing. First floor suite balcony lifts your mood. You feel royal. There are lots of swings and activities for kids. We even played badminton in flood light. Visit Vijay Vihar during cooler days to enjoy out-doors in boat, museum, and lawns of Vijay Vihar.

Room Tip: Suites surely are good. There is one suite which has the side view of the lake. Avoid that if possible. First floor rooms may be preferred. Only ground and first floor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Guptaumesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Haritha Vijay Vihar from APTDC is right on the bank of Nagarjuna Sagar with wonderful view of the lake and the dam. But the property is not being managed properly and we experienced major issues from power failure, to intercom and TV not working. The food is nothing to write about it is not good. The staff are not much helpful and just say we can't do anything as everything is decided centrally. But we were prepared for the same and were focusing on the good part. The room we stayed was huge with 2 queen size beds, a small fridge, balcony viewing the Nagarjuna Sagar reservoir. The gardens are very well maintained and are visited by a lot of birds as it is right next to the lake. We spotted Green Bee-eater, Myna, Rose ringed parakeet, Cormorants, Sunbirds, Egrets, Swallow etc right from the garden and our balcony.

Room Tip: All rooms are lake facing if you are with kids take a suite it offers separate beds with very little extra charge.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheDesiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed in Haritha Vijay Vihar in Sep end this year. Its maintained by APTDC and the location is perfect. Its located right in front of the Nagarjuna Sagar reservoir and offers a fantastic view of the dam. We went for a 2 day trip but extended it by 2 more days just to relax. It was little hot during the day when we went but I guess it would be nice during monsoon season. We were in a deluxe room on the ground floor and it was quite big.

Accomodation:

There are not many hotels in Nagarjuna Sagar. One called Hotel Siddhartha has opened recently. We checked that as well, but the rooms are small, stuffy and offer no view compared to APTDC resort. APTDC has huge area and decent sized rooms with a balcony. All rooms have AC. There are many mosquitoes though, so don't forget mosquito repellent, especially if you are going with a small kid. The resort was near empty on the first 2 days we were there(it was weekday), but got full in the weekend. Room service got slow during the weekends because of the rush. Prices of the rooms vary on weekday and weekend. It priced on the higher side. Also, one needs to book the rooms online through APTDC website only. You cannot block a room over the phone. Even if you walk-in, they will do the booking through their website only..they say that power never goes in the resort, but we experienced decent no. of power cuts during our stay.

Food:
This was one big problem for us. They offer no choices. We are vegetarians and had a little difficult time. Our 2 year old son had to live on plain rice/ idly/ dosa. Food is quite spicy (andhra food in general is spicy), but the lack of choice is something that they should take care of. Breakfast is standard Idly and Dosa. Even during weekend when it was jam-packed, that did not change!! Lunch is buffet, no a-la-carte. Its south-indian food with no chapatti etc. Food is decent though. Dinner is a-la-carte but choice again is limited. We had only paneer butter masala and mix veg as option. They do have chapatti though. And were good enough to make non-spicy dal/sabzi for our kiddo. However, the cafe at Hotel Siddhartha is much better. Opt for that if you want choice/ less oily and spicy food.

Amenities:

APTDC has a lovely swimming pool, a decent gym, decent playarea for kids. They also have indoor games like TT, but we didn't check that. One can just relax and look at the dam in the evening while sipping tea in the balcony. We heard that the park in Hotel Siddhartha is huge, but didn't get a chance to visit it.

Activities in Nagarjuna Sagar:

There is a ferry ride in the reservoir that will take you to the museum. It runs only on specified times(every hour starting from 10:30am-1:30pm). Museum is closed on Fridays so ferries might not run if there are less tourists. We went on a Fri and luckily the ferries plied at 11:30am. The island on which the museum is located is nice, has lovely gardens for kids to play. The place requires decent amount of walk though. We didn't go all the way to the end. They also sell water/ snacks on the ferry and there is a small cafe on the island where you get some ready-to-eat meals.

Ethipothala waterfalls: Its some 12kms from APTDC and we felt it wasn't worth visiting in that season. There was very less water (its good only when it rains it seems). They have a light show in the evening but it depends on the power cuts and no. of tourists. There was no power when we went and could not see it. The place also has an APTDC acco but no one stays there. They have power cut for 18hrs a day it seems!

Overall, its a good place to relax and go for a weekend getaway. Its hardly 2.5hrs from Hyderabad.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank itspriyanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel is located on the banks of the Nagarjuna Dam reservoir, and commands an excellent view of the huge water body. Sadly, the water level was less when we visited the place, but still was enough to be quietly scenic.

The sunsets from the room balconies are nice and adds to the overall relaxation.

The hotel is right on the Nagarjuna Sagar Road, and cannot be missed easily. While driving down from Hyderabad, you can find this place when the milestones read 6 kms to Nagarjuna Sagar.


Overall, a decent place for spending the weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank trotter_abhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews