We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View & Location.... I love the outdoor Jacuzzi!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Y Viento Mountain Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Calamba
Laguna, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great View & Location.... I love the outdoor Jacuzzi!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our family enjoyed our 3D/2N stay during Holyweek (Mar 28-30).

Check In: Supposed to be 2 pm
I was disappointed during check in. Check in procedure was so slow. Maybe because it was Holyweek. Our room wasn't ready till late 3:45pm. Though they are apologetic but still we have to wait till our room is cleaned and prepared by the OJT staffs. We got four rooms 315, 316, 317 and 318.

Rooms/Facilities
Rooms are clean and have LCD TV. Bed foam and pillows are hard. Linens and towels are clean and neat. Rooms are intended for seminars and team building because it has two bunk beds instead of two Double beds. Unfortunately, their Cabana Rooms were fully booked that time so I have no choice but to get their Dormitory rooms. So far, dormitory rooms are ok.

Bathroom/Restroom
Spacious enough to get a shower and call of nature. Had an exhaust fan. The only thing provided are towels and toilet paper, replenish/change everyday. No free soap, shampoo, toothbrush and toothpaste So, bring your own.

Swimming pool/Outdoor Jacuzzi
We enjoyed dipping/swimming on their large lagoon pool and 2 outdoor jacuzzi. Perfect for summer outings, team building, vacation and relaxation. Even if it's Holyweek, the resort's pools were not crowded. Thankful enough for that though the resort were fully booked at that time.

Staffs
So far, They have good staff service except for the delayed check in. They are courteous and respond to your request efficiently.

The View
View is excellent. Overlooking Laguna de Bay, Mount Makiling and other residential area from above.

Parking
Enough Parking space but not covered.

The FOOD
Well, I can say that it's not bad but not so good. It's so so. Better to try for yourself. Buffet Lunch/Dinner cost Php350 and Buffet Breakfast cost P300. Their Buffet don't have lots of food choices.

We manage to enjoy our stay there. So far, it's very good compare to other resorts in Calamba/Los Baños. A perfect place to bond with your family and friends.

Room Tip: Choose Cabana Rooms with jacuzzi for best enjoyment but expect much higher room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripaholicmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    63
    25
    15
    11
See reviews for
75
20
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This incident happened just two weeks ago. My partner and I decided we want to have a short vacation. So we've searched online for resorts not so far from Manila. We want a place with fine facilities, natural scenery, not so crowded and can be easily accessed. We've found a perfect place to stay in Laguna. So we've booked online.

We were so excited on the day of our trip. Once we arrived at the place, we were greeted warmly by the staff at the reception. Shortly after, we were hoisted to our room by the resort's shuttle service. A good first impression. More so when we reached our cabana suite. The room was an impressive expanse. Complete with amenities- refrigerator, rice cooker, electric kettle and microwave oven. We also loved it that aside from the bathroom/comfort room, there's an indoor Jacuzzi which we could enjoy to our heart's content.

It's almost 2 pm when we got there so we were very hungry already. We checked the restaurant to have something to eat. We've chosen Thai Spicy Squid for lunch and we've not mistaken. It's delectable. Things are going great. Until we went back to our room.

We've found one of the staff inside, placing an extra mattress. My boyfriend asked why he's putting it when we hadn't requested for it. The staff immediately radioed the front desk to confirm the room that asked for it and was told he's at the wrong one. Knowing we we're both pissed off, he marched off straightaway without bothering to apologize. I was so furious; I called the reception to complain. My point was, even though we're the one who really requested for the extra bedding, the staff should not barged into the room especially if there's no one inside. He should have waited for somebody to open the door for him and let him in. Because what he did was intrusion and invasion of privacy. Fortunately, we've lost nothing. But what if we've lost something and there's no trace of anyone getting inside. The resort would not be liable for it as we're the ones who should keep eyes on our valuables. I told them they should respect their guest. It's very basic that even our two-year old knows the meaning of the word. After putting me on a long hold, I was told the supervisor would go to our room to apologize personally.

After probably more than ten minutes, the supervisor and the manager were on the door. They've apologize and told me they are taking care of things in regards to what their employee did. As someone who works in a customer service industry, I was hoping they would provide me with resolution. I mean, everyone can apologize for an unfortunate incident. But what we can do to turn things around? Until they left, they haven't done anything but repeatedly apologize to us. I was expecting something more.

I was still angry even after the supervisor and the manager left because I felt like nothing was done to appease the situation. No measure was taken to offset or minimize the damage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Cristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The use of the pools and jacuzzis is not exclusive to resort guests so it gets quite noisy, with the masses bringing in their own drinks and CD players that they will play loudly enough to echo down to the cabanas.We were stunned by the volume of people that we just stayed in our cabanas. The resort management is not very good at controlling the number (and the quality) of guests because whereas we were charged extra for our 2 kids below 12, the next cabana had around TWENTY guests sneaking in the next morning! We felt so cheated.

The cabanas have a huge jacuzzi inside but there is no partition so if it is on at the same time that the aircon is running, the room stays warm. Actually, even when the jacuzzi was off at night, the 1.5HP aircon struggled to cool the room. We couldn't sleep because the room was so warm!. There were complete amenities though: a flatscreen TV (with no cable connection),a refrigerator, a microwave, a kettle, and a grill outside the room. The food at the resort is plain and overpriced (all 5 choices of it) so we mostly brought food from outside.

Weirdly, cabanas 6 and 8 have 2 double beds while the the rest just have 1, so make sure to get cabana 6 or 8. They will still charge you extra for every guest exceeding 2, but you might as well get a real bed for it!

Room Tip: Cabanas 6 and 8 have 2 double beds while the the rest just have 1, so make sure to get cabana 6 or 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Simple_Traveller207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

What a breath taking experience it was for us. Fantastic resort getaway. Great ambiance. Fantastic staff. One of the best places for rest, relaxation and intimate time. Restaurant offers a great variance in style and ambiance. The resort has wonderful rooms with spectacular views and astonishing pools. Highly recommend if you want a resort getaway with day-to-day pleasures in a safe environment with enough options to keep you busy or enough places to just relax. Two thumbs up!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lainesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

How about taking a rest from the crowd in the Metro?.. Its a wonderful day and the sky is clear.. Feel everything around you.. What a day! Relieve my stress.. Take a Jacuzzi in my room.. wow! Then jacuzzi outdoors and a Natural Hot Spring.. Take a sit in the falls to massage your back.. Then there goes my sumptuous breakfast... Never forget the heart warming staff.. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Cabana room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManilaThunderstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

What a Great Experience we had last week when our company held our most a waiting team building at Sol Y Viento Resort. Thumbs up for their good quality of service, excellent food and a big WOW for their beautiful ambiance & hot springs!! :))

I will recommend this resort to all of my friends and family who have never experience in staying at Sol Y Viento Resort..

Thank You SOL Y VIENTO and will see each other again promise :)) ♥♥♥ ^____^

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

« Sol y viento » is at a wonderful location, the views are terrific and it´s a fantastic one-day trip out of the hectic Manila. Besides, food is more than acceptable. However, don´t stay overnight because the rooms are overpriced, and the breakfast included option, unless you eat tapas or pancit, is nonsense (no bread, eggs, cereals…). Probably, the staff is only used to the locals and doesn´t understand English so well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nano85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calamba
9.1 mi away
Seda Nuvali
Seda Nuvali
#1 of 5 in Santa Rosa
495 reviews
3.3 mi away
City Of Springs Hotel
City Of Springs Hotel
#1 of 3 in Los Banos
24 reviews
4.2 mi away
Riverview Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
88 Hotspring Resort
88 Hotspring Resort
#1 of 3 in Pagsanjan
119 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hannah's Garden
Hannah's Garden
#2 of 13 in Calamba
18 reviews
19.0 mi away
Villa Socorro Agri-Eco Village and Farm Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Y Viento Mountain Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Y Viento Mountain Hot Springs Resort

Property: Sol Y Viento Mountain Hot Springs Resort
Address: Makiling Heights, Calamba, Luzon 4029, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Laguna Province > Calamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Calamba
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Y Viento Mountain Hot Springs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Sol Y Viento Mountain Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing