We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aging rooms but warm and friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockpoint Hotsprings Resort - Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Calamba B&B and Inns
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Aging rooms but warm and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

we arrived late in the evening with no reservation but we were still welcomed warmly and our room was prepared quickly. Two staff members came from nowhere to assist us unload our bags. There is sufficient parking and the area is well-guarded. The room rate came with breakfast for 2. The rooms are aging though but I did not mind because they were clean. The service more than made up for this resort's age. The pools were clean and well-maintained and the food is good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlgaUy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    25
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were welcomed with nice smiles and warm/friendly staff. Yes the hotel is tired looking, but the pools are lovely and the family stayed in them until almost 11pm. We were also surprised by the restaurant - it looked unwelcoming but the food was excellent. A great place to stay if you are visiting Villa Escudero.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a bit of expectations before coming to this place because of the good reviews here. Poor and late replies in email inquiries should have been a sign for us that this is not as good as people say.

A lot of requests were fulfilled very late or not at all.

Jacuzzi was not clean, it was dusty we had to wash it down ourselves before using.

Bedsheets are itchy, we couldn't sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kapihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Where do I start? First of all, I am a returning customer. I stayed here with my wife last year and we decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary here this year in January 11th 2012.

The highlight of our stay is noticing the lack of guests here as it felt like we had our own very resort. We swam in the pool under the rain & waterfall feature with some soft music playing in the background while drinking some alcohol beverages in between. We were in the pool at night time for an hour and a hlaf and hardly saw anyone walk past us.

The other thing I didn't really like but didn't effect us so bad is that the hotel will charge you for almost anything. When we ordered food from the restaurant and wanted to eat the food in our room they said it would cost us extra fee. The food they serve is liited as well as the alcohol which is double the price (normal for hotels) than outside but will not be enough to fill you up if you have a big appetite. It seems as if the owner/manager wants to save longer lasting supplies of food and not feed the guests with the appropriate value that should be given. I had to order two meals the first night we ate here just for my belly to be satisfied. The hotel also says no drinks or food bought in from outside or another fee will be charged. Rockpoint does not accomodate for tours or travel around the area.

The room is fantastic and wifi is excellent. However, we did have to call the lobbby numerous times to turn on jets each time we wanted to use the jacuzzi as they have witch somewhere outside and for other reasons. Apart from that, the staff were very professional and responded quickly. The gym was small but still good enough to get a pump but not a full blast workout.

I would highly recommend this hotel and we will return here a third time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markrob0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockpt, General Manager at Rockpoint Hotsprings Resort - Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2016
First of all, thank you for your honest review. (Sorry for the last reply on your post. I had just learned how to respond to TripAdvisor =) Please allow me to personally thank you for your comments - good and not-so-good comments - they are always welcome and appreciated. Rest assured that we have taken note and working towards further improving our facilities and service.

We hope you consider our resort as possible place for your accommodation should you plan to return to Laguna. We will be more than happy to be of service.

Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We reserved for a standard room with a matrimonial bed. For 2,100 a night, the room is spacious enough for us. It also has a dresser, tv with cable channels, corner table and chairs, and a big corner tub in the toilet.

We went there via Greenstar Bus (Sen. Gil Puyat Ave. corner Taft Ave). The bus fare is 60 pesos per person and the travel time is around an hour and a half. We asked the driver to drop us off in "Sol Y Vento". From there, we rode a tricycle which costs 40 pesos, which is way too expensive. For such a short distance the fare should only be 8 pesos per person. If you're not carrying a lot of things then just walk. It's not that far from Sol Y Vento to Rockpoint Hotel.

Upon arriving at the hotel, the receptionist and other staff were very accommodating. They asked us to fill-up the form and we were led to our room. There are ample rooms in this resort, though the pool is not that big.

When we arrived in our room, the staff explained that we can order food and the menu is on the corner table. There's no phone inside the room, so every time you want to order food or make other requests, you have go to the hallway to make a phone call which is a bit inconvenient.

Be careful on where you're sitting and on bathroom fixtures. There was a time I was sitting on the corner then I found out that the one leg of that chair is broken. When I was in the bathroom, I took a tissue then the tissue holder fell. The screw of the tissue holder is already rusty and can't strongly hold on the wall. Part of the shower is already rusty. Good thing nothing happened when we used it.

As part of our relaxation, we also tried to have a massage. The Kalipayan Nature Spa has a reasonable price. The therapists were also accommodating and very good in massage. The spa has a Filipiniana theme which I like. It feels very homey. At end of each massage they will offer you either salabat or hot tea. The massage experience is very good except for the oil that they used. I personally don't like coconut oil. So if you're planning to have a massage here and don't like coconut oil, bring an oil of your choice.

As for food, the price range is reasonable 100-500 pesos. We had barbeque ribs which was really good. Room service is not 24/7.

The resort itself is satisfactory, however since it is located in a village wherein all the neighbors are also resorts, expect people singing the whole day and extremely loud music. We went there to relax and all we hear was people singing even in the middle of the night. I woke up because of a very loud music from the next private pool resort, it was 11:30 pm. Then we woke up again because of the very loud singing voice and we thought it was already morning. Yes it was morning... 4 am. We were supposed to extend our stay, but we changed our mind.

On our way back to Manila, we already learned our lesson not to take the expensive tricycle. So we walked from the resort to the main road which took us around 5 minutes. I am not sure if the buses pass the main road. But what we did was head to SM Calamba and there are lots of buses which will go to Manila.

If you're looking for a place that has reasonable price and not that far from Manila, this place is satisfactory. Have a fun trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anna_italianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

The hotsprings hot tub are the best! Delicious food in the restaurant. Great staff and wonderful hosts! Thank you so much for a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EthelRubio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockpt, General Manager at Rockpoint Hotsprings Resort - Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2016
Hi!

Thank you very much for you kind review. It was short but definitely sweet =) And truly inspiring, especially for the staff, who treats all feedback as proverbial "pat on the back".
In behalf of all staff of Rockpoint, Maraming Salamat! Much appreciated.
It was indeed our pleasure to serve you.
Hope you keep us in mind for future out-of-town trips to the South.

Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

This is Rockpoint Hotsprings Resort in Pansol, Calamba, Luzon not to be confused with a similar sounding property, Rockpoint Hotel and Conference Center in San Pablo City. Two different places.

We had booked online and paid the 10% reservation fee with no problem. We had planned to stay for two nights. Driving down from south of Manila on the SLEX was no problem, plus their website had very specific directions to finding their place.

They are located off the National Road, and several blocks into an area with many hot springs resorts. We found their gated property and pulled in. The lady at the desk was very friendly, and helpful as we were not sure if we were going to spend one or two nights.

Well to make a long story short, we were very pleased with everything there, and ended up spending the two nights.

They have two hot spring pools which were very enjoyable to swim in. We had a larger room which was adequate for the two adults and two kids. We had breakfast in the morning there and the service was very good. Our car was parked within the gate so that was safe and sound and they had a guard at the front door.

We plan to come back again, as we had such an enjoyable time swimming and the hospitality of the front desk lady was beyond expectations. Thanks for making this an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheChief_Theboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calamba
3.1 mi away
City Of Springs Hotel
City Of Springs Hotel
#1 of 3 in Los Banos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
9.1 mi away
Seda Nuvali
Seda Nuvali
#1 of 5 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
12.9 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 25 in Tagaytay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Destination Hotel South Forbes
0.4 mi away
Sol Y Viento Mountain Hot Springs Resort
4.0 mi away
Riverview Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockpoint Hotsprings Resort - Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockpoint Hotsprings Resort - Hotel and Spa

Property: Rockpoint Hotsprings Resort - Hotel and Spa
Address: 119 Alamat Road | Maria Makiling Hot Springs Village, Brgy. Pansol, Calamba, Luzon 4027, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Laguna Province > Calamba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Calamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful resort is located in the hot spring district in Pansol, Calamba in the province of Laguna. Frequent guests go here to relax and treat themselves to the natural hot spring swimming pools which is believed to be therapeutic. There is also a day spa offering different massage and pamper treatments. Other facilities include a restaurant (with room service capability), billiard hall, videoke/karaoke, business center and function rooms. Their biggest atttraction is the persoalized service and friendly staff service. If you wish to stay, you can check-in over the counter or book your room via online reservation. Unwind....Relax... Enjoy... Rates are affordable, food tastes great, cozy atmosphere like home with all the service convenience of a resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Rockpoint Hotsprings Resort - Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockpoint Hotsprings Hotel Calamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing