We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the village!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kastro Apartments Crete
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Panormos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We are regular visitors to Panormo, and without a shadow of a doubt, this is the best Taverna in the village!!!! Food and service are second to none, and no more expensive than the others. Manolis and his son are great hosts.

Ann & Dave

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank davjeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 97 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

My family ate here three times during our two week stay in Panormo. The food was very tasty and the moussaka was one of the best we'd tried throughout our stay. The man who owned it was very friendly and welcoming and the old man who came to say hello was very nice!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis V, Owner at Kastro Apartments Crete, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Lucy O

Thank you very much for spending time to write this wonderful review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay to our place.
Really looking forward to see you again.

Regards

Manolis
Kastro Apartments-Tavern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Food was very very very very good, my partner and I enjoyed every bit. Great service and lovely traditional ambient. Kastro Tavern is must visit. We found it through Cretan Cusine site on our way to Heraklio and back home, and stoped to have a launch. We'll come again for sure, probably bring friends too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis V, Owner at Kastro Apartments Crete, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Linda V

Thank you very much for spending time to write this wonderful review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay to our place.
Really looking forward to see you again.

Regards

Manolis
Kastro Apartments-Tavern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We keep returning to Panormo in Crete and ensure we eat at Kastro's Taverna several times during our stay. A typically, well located very well family run Taverna, with all the friendly staff going the extra mile to make your restaurant style dining experience memorable. The food, which includes many typically greek dishes are all cooked and presented to a high standard it is apparent fresh ingredients and produce is used. Importantly for us it is the extra touches, eg, ice cool water served immediately upon your arrival which is replenished as you finish, an assortment of very fresh breads and accompanying dips, spacious layout of the tables, good quality cutlery, crockery and glassware, a select wine menu featuring many reasonably priced and affordable quality Cretan wine, attentive and well informed knowledgeable and genuinely friendly staff. In terms of hygiene, this Taverna/restaurant is unsurpassed. The staff in the kitchen wear hair nets and everything is spotlessly clean. The bathrooms reinforce this, lights on sensor, hand cleansing foam dispensed via sensor prior to entry to the wash basin, well stocked hand soap dispenser and automatic hand drying facility.

All at affordable prices in keeping with other Tavernas. This venue is ideal for any celebration, special occasion or even last meal!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank payntes1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis V, Owner at Kastro Apartments Crete, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Payntes

Thank you very much for spending time to write this wonderful review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay to our place.
Really looking forward to see you again.

Regards

Manolis
Kastro Apartments-Tavern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Excellent service from friendly staff.
Excellent food served in a traditional manner.
Excellent staff who were attentive to our needs.
Excellent prices.
Overall a very good evening.
Surroundings and setting are very pleasant.
We would be happy to return here for a meal when we are next in Crete

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidWalesGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis V, Owner at Kastro Apartments Crete, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear MidWalesGraham

Thank you very much for spending time to write this wonderful review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay to our place.
Really looking forward to see you again.

Regards
Manolis
Kastro apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

A friendly welcome and an excellent spacious well equipped taverna room, exactly as the pictures on the web show. A good location for the beach and town and good off-road parking directly opposite. Will certainly return

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ArchieCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis V, Owner at Kastro Apartments Crete, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear ArchieCheshire,

Thank you very much for spending time to write this wonderful review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay to our place. Really looking forward to see you again.

Kindest Regards,
Manolis Kastro apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for three nights in these apartments. Very nice and clean. I think what you get is super for what you give. The personnel was very friendly and as for the restaurant/tavern, excellent!
In this small village (Panormo) there are many apartments and hotels. If I ever be there again, I'll stay at least one more night and eat a special dinner proposed from Manolis himself.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dimitrios C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis V, Owner at Kastro Apartments Crete, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Dimitrios,

Thank you very much for taking time to write this great review. I really appreciate that you chose our place to spend your time. Really looking forward to see you again.

Best Regards,
Manolis Kastro Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panormos
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iliana Panormos
Hotel Iliana Panormos
#1 of 13 in Panormos
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 13 in Panormos
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marelina Villas & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.0 mi away
Christina
Christina
#12 of 13 in Panormos
4 reviews
2.2 mi away
Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kastro Apartments Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kastro Apartments Crete

Address: Panormo Milopotamou, Panormos, Crete 74 057, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Panormos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Panormos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Panormos
Price Range: $63 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kastro Apartments Crete 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well known Cretan hospitality at its best Kastro Apartments, a hostel at the coastal settlement Panormos, is an ideal destination for family vacations on Crete. It combines room and board of high quality at affordable prices. The major advantage of the hostel is that in its facilities, modern and fully equipped apartments along with one of the most famous taverns of the area co-exist, providing its guests with great accommodation coupled with traditional Cretan cuisine (breakfast, lunch and dinner served). Four spacious and fully equipped apartments and studios, with sweeping views on the sea or the colorful flowery yard, offer all modern amenities, elegant decoration-furnishings constituting at the same time refuge of calmness and relaxation, in a family environment of hospitality that will instantly make you feel at home. The homonymous certified tavern, a trademark for the locals, will initiate you to the secrets of the Cretan cuisine coupled with healthy diet suggestions and unique culinary delight. Relax and enjoy unforgettable sunbathing in the two organized sandy beaches in Panormos (200 m away from the hostel), a beach certified with Blue Flag and deploy the advantageous position of Kastro Apartments –sitting almost in the middle of the island- which means you can visit all the popular sights of Crete. In a 22 km distance from Rethimno, 45 km from Iraklion and 50 km from the airport of Chania, Kastro apartments constitutes the ideal starting point to drive anywhere you like easily and quickly through the adjoining northern roadway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Kastro Apartments Crete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastro Apartments Crete Panormos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing