We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's something about Barbara...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Iliana Panormos
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Panormos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed ten nights over 06/07/13-16/07/13 and what a find.

Firstly I must say we booked this place because it was cheap. It wasn't reasonable, it wasn't a good deal, it was CHEAP!

So for value for money it is worth every penny.

My partner was 7 months pregnant and we requested a ground floor apartment which we got. IT WAS HUGE! there was a little telly on the wall (never used) and some basic but practical furnishings. A decent kitchen with everything we needed and a little porch where we sat and I drank Mythos whilst she had a freddo.

The location is amazing, on the main high street a minutes walk to the little beach (which is the better beach) and all the lovely tavernas. We ate out everyday (well we were on our holidays) Makis taverna is probably the best. Also there is a taverna on the other side of the small beach that did a great lunch (loads of small bits and stuff good for dipping). On a personal note I did make good use of the local kebab shop and the young lad that runs it is a top bloke and the food is VERY cheap and its not like the dirty donner meat we get in the UK.

Panormo is a great place for a RELAXING break. There is not a night club or any need for one. We spent most the week surrounded by Greeks. If you want to chill this is the place.

I must give a fond mention to Barbara (Varvara) who works at the hotel. She was brilliant in her role as host and politely laughed at all my rubbish jokes. She is a real asset to the Iliana.

I would stay there again any time, but next time I would be tempted by more than just the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john-randy-rolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 159 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a lovely hotel for exploring the lovely village of Panormos.
We stayed the 2nd week of June 2012 and it was very quiet - we had the pool to ourselves most of the time. Which was handy as the pool was only small but perfect for cooling off in after a day sunbathing outside the apartments or down at the beach. Both beaches a just a short walk from the apartments.
Apartments are very clean, typical basic Greek accomodation. Staff were very friendly!

Make sure you visit Maki's Tavern - fantastic!

Room Tip: Certainly worth paying a little extra to upgrade from a studio to a one bed apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clar3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed at the Iliana the first week in September 2012. Spacious apartment with two balconies, very clean and comfortable accommodation. Small pool if needed but only 5mins from two good beaches. Had breakfast 2 days and at 6euros more than adequate. Good central location in Panormos close to tavernas shops and bars etc. Friendly staff. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ansellini14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is the first review from me ever.I really want to recommend both the Iliana and Panormos for a fabulous holiday.Our stay was 22.8 till 29/8 2012,travelling with my 15 year old daughter we rented a one bed apartment (room 23) We were really lucky to have fabulous company during our stay (you know who you are!) The locals are very genuine friendly,hospitable & helpful would dearly love to return to this destination

Room Tip: Room 23 had a larger bathroom than the other one bed units I saw plus a combi grill oven & three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Booked a week in Panormo looking for peace and quiet with a good beach. We got what we wanted. I bedroom appt with self catering facilities. The hotel is small, quiet, with Panormo off the party circuit. If I needed to complain it would be that the WiFi was patchy. We could only get it if we sat in one spot our outside in the courtyard.
The beach was close, a 10 minute with restaurants close by, 5 to 10 minutes walk. The choice was good, from the takeaway to the open air cocktail bar. Everyone was pleasant. One restaurant in particular was owned by Makis, opposite the baker (only one in town. There was no menu. Makis would invite you into the kitchen and show you what was cooking or in the freezer. He would then take your order at your table. All very simple, but the food was fantastic. Low prices. Beware of the wine, it comes in a jug and if too much is consumed then beware the next morning.
All in all a good break and a great rest, while the rain reports back home were terrible.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed here for two weeks in September and the accommodation is very basic but good value for the money. If you are a regular traveller to Greece you will know what to expect. We moved rooms upon arrival as we wanted a private balcony and the reception staff were very accomodating and happy to oblige (some rooms have shared). The room was cleaned on most days and beds and towels were changed regularly. The staff work very hard in keeping all areas clean and tidy. One disappointing thing was there was no double bed and you could not make the two singles into a double. The room was a good size and had basic cooking facilities, although we chose to eat out. Lovely croissants are available freshly baked from the local bakery for breakfast. Shower was perfectly adequate and the aircon worth the extra money although it was rather noisy! Panormos is a total delight and this was our second visit in two years. It has an abundance of tumble down charm and is still typically greek. There are a number of stray cats but being a cat lover this is a bonus for me! Eating out is very cheap and a visit or two to "Makis" is a real must where you visit the kitchen to choose your dinner from the daily choice of deliciously home cooked food made by his lovely wife. Makis himself is a real character too! Panormos is somewhere you long to return and somewhere almost too good to talk about!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

A small but very clean set of apartments. As Self-catering goes we had a kettle,toaster- enough utensils for a quick fry-up. Tea,coffee,milk, a small loaf, butter and 1.1/2 litre bottle of water were in a welcome pack when we arrived. These items were only used at breakfast or for a coffee before going out for the evening. Turning left out of the hotel you have a downwards incline (not very steeps).is end in a flight of steps or you can turn right at the taverna a bit expensive). The beaches (3) 1st is to the left lovely and sand,it has changing huts, showers, taverna beds and umbrellas. Be warned the sea is rough at this area as a retired paramedic I would not recommend it for children or weak swimmers 2nd is to the right and crescent shaped it is protected by the harbour wall. Has tavernas all round it beds and umbrellas ( 6 euro = 2 beds and umbrella).Ideal swimming for kids. 3rd beach is crap

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank alxTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panormos
0.1 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 13 in Panormos
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kastro Apartments Crete
Kastro Apartments Crete
#6 of 13 in Panormos
97 reviews
35.7 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Amalia Apartments
Amalia Apartments
#6 of 17 in Bali
100 reviews
2.4 mi away
Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare
0.3 mi away
Grecotel Club Marine Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iliana Panormos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iliana Panormos

Address: Panormos, Crete 740 52, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Panormos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Panormos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Panormos
Price Range: $32 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Iliana Panormos 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "Iliana" is located in the village Panormo, a small fishing village 20 km eastern from the city of Rethimno. The hotel consists of 18 studios which can accommodate up to 2 persons each and 13 apartments which can accommodate up to 4 persons each. All our rooms have air conditioning, safety deposit box, bathroom, bath tub or shower, hair dryer, satellite TV, telephone, kitchen, refrigerator and balcony. The hotel is open from April until the end of October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Iliana Panormos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iliana Panormos Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing