We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare
Nearby Hotels
The Rοyal Blue(Panormos)
$170
$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marelina Villas & Apartments(Panormos)(Great Value!)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Kastro Apartments(Panormos)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Panormo Beach(Panormos)(Great Value!)
$107
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Konaki Studios & Apartments(Panormos)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
$208
$202
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Iliana Panormos(Panormos)(Great Value!)
$38
$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iberostar Creta Marine(Panormos)(Great Value!)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Christina(Panormos)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,236)
Filter reviews
2,236 results
Traveler rating
1,125
745
243
86
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,125
745
243
86
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teammain poolsalt watersuperior bungalowcalypso bariberostar creta panoramatony macaronievening showsthe lion kingsea viewreception stafffaethon poolthe main hotellobby barbanana boatmini clubon tap
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
749 - 754 of 2,236 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We went as a group of 6 girls :) two senior citizens, two young woman (!) and two teenagers. We asked for a sea view and this is what we got and what a view. Plenty of room to sit on the balcony and relax too. The room was cleaned to a high standard daily. The bathroom was very dated but apart from that everything was comfortable and airy. The pool area is lovely, with extensive grounds that are landscaped and very pretty. The food was plentiful and very tasty with lots and lots of choice. The snack bars were friendly and service was great. The animation team were fabulous and they really really worked very hard, producing great shows and entertainment around the pool. All in all a fab holiday and we would definitely return. I think this is pretty much what my other "Jo Day" review said !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Arrived home last night having spent two fantastic weeks at the Iberostar Panorama and mare. We have read the reviews by other holiday makers, and We would differ from the previous reviews, the staff were all very pleasant and very helpfully. We were always well treated by the bar staff in the lobby bar, two more Gran Amazonas please, Doris in the music bar was extremely friendly as was Maria at the pool bar. Simons and the Animation team are superb, they all work very hard indeed. The food was excellent and varied. Beautifully gardens and beaches. As for the point made that there was not much to see outside the complex, if you do read other reviews and do your homework you would find out. I do sympathise with those guests with walking problems as I myself have some difficulty but had no problem walking to and from the buss stop as there is no hill to walk, again do your homework before booking a holiday. This is not the first Iberostar that my wife and I have been to, we went to the Iberostar Cozumel in 2006 at the time that we had the fire in the main restaurant, I was one of the Brits putting out the fires to the bungalows alongside some British and American firefighters who where guests whilst my wife and family where passing buckets of water from the flamingo pool to throw over the burning restaurant, again by the next day when all the fires where out, the staff had cleaned and cleared any debris so that our holiday continue, did we complain NO! You can't please everyone. To conclude, we had a fantastic time and will recommend the Panorama mare to our friends and family. Thank you all. Mike and Debbie

Room Tip: Do your homework first
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

After reading some of the reviews I was hoping for an excellent holiday, unfortunately due to the very apparent lack of customer care and service it was not. We arrived at half past midnight and weren't even welcomed to the hotel- just passed a form to fill in. No help offered with luggage just an arm waved in the direction of the lift. We had 20 minutes to find the restaurant if we wanted soup and it was 'down there' another wave in the other direction. I'm not sure what the problem is with 2 female friends on holiday together but it was to the lobby bar staff, neither of the 2 male staff would serve us, got eye contact then walked away into the back room or busied themselves cleaning glasses. If a man appeared at our side he was served even though we have been waiting- very rude- and have never experieced this attitude before. As with the waiting staff, no acknowledgements or 'Good morning' it is as if they have been told not to interact with the guests- very odd. The exceptions to this were Maria in the Phaeton Pool bar, Dimitri (female)in the lobby bar and Marian (waiter) who seemed to be all over the hotel at different times- he is a credit to the hotel and very helpful and hardworking.
A tip- as no one tells you- you get 3 small bottles of water in your room on arrival, which are luke warm as the rusty fridge didn't work (yes we did get maintenance who stuck his hand in and said it was working) - DO NOT throw these bottles away as you must fill them up from water bottles in the restaurants or buy new bottles at 2.5 euros each. Never known that at an all inclusive hotel. Nothing else in fridge unless you are a repeat customer (or a VIP)so why it is there is beyond me. Agee on reception was very unhelpful and blamed the management, I just wish there was a notice in the fridge that told you not to throw the bottles away- simple!
It was just like going back to the 1980's when you had to be up before 7am to get a sunbed, all reserved with towels but no people on them and none left- at 9.30am we walked around every pool and garden to try to find 2 and ended up on the concrete 'beach' and had to pay 4 euros per bed to the hotel. Do not expect a beach, there isn't one, just man made concrete bays.
Children ran everywhere and it was very dangerous in the self service restaurants. Everything was self service even the bar service- again have never experienced a hotel so lacking in service. I thought I had booked a 4 star plus hotel but no way did it meet expectations.
Lots of rules pinned up around the hotel - no booking sunbeds, long trousers must be worn by men in the evening restaurant but nothing done about it, it was all very odd. One english guy wasn't served in the lobby bar for not having a shirt on (just come in from the pool) yet the lady beside him in a bikini was!! (and yes she was a lot younger than us).
Bathroom was very tatty and dated, the chairs on the patio had 2inch metal rods sticking out which I gashed my leg on, I took a photo to reception and he made a note but nothing was done- I do hope a small child doesn't walk in to it as it would be at eye level.

Plus points- good choice of food, nice to be able to eat at the smaller poolside restaurant at lunchtime and somewhere different at night.
Simone and the animation team are excellent, great shows, very talented and we cannot praise them enough.
Room although dated was very clean and towels changed everyday as was maid service

My recommendation is to go to a Mitsis Hotel- they are streets ahead with all inclusive holidays, great staff and modern rooms. I know where I will book next year.

Room Tip: We were in the main hotel - 3rd floor, I paid extra for a sea view which I would recommend, it was pointed out by the reception staff that we were not VIPs as we hadn't paid very much for our holiday! that told us.....I think the bungalows may be better and newer.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Elaine,

Although we sincerely regret reading that we were not able to provide you with a relaxing and enjoyable stay at our IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama hotel, we thank you for your visit and the time you spent to review your overall holiday experience among us; we appreciate all of your input, as it helps us identify areas that could use more attention to detail.

We read your comments on our bar and reception staff with our utmost attention and send you our apologies if you experienced any inconsistency in our service, we will not fail to forward your review to our management for information and revision.

Moreover we would like to take the opportunity to point out that the minibar refill is on extra charge and bookable at the time of reservation or anytime through our reception desk, we lament you were apparently not properly informed about this service, even though this information is duly reported on our website, brochure and on the welcome letter handled at the time of check in.

On the other hand, we are very grateful for your nice comments towards our animation staff, their enthusiasm is contagious and they strive to offer a wide variety of leisure and sport activities throughout the day as well as entertaining evening shows to make our guests' stay a memorable one.

Moreover, the passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our restaurant where our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

Last but not least, thorough cleaning being an absolute must for IBEROSTAR, we thank you for highlighting the cleanliness of our hotel; we strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is the base for a comfortable holiday experience in any hotel.

Please be assured that we took your comments into consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. We really thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that IBEROSTAR will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Pleasant stay for a rest-and seaside vacation. Beautifully situated in a Bay. Especially in the garden with sea view is pleasant sunbathing.Excellent food for so many people. You must know that there is nothing in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
1  Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Michel,

Thank you very much for taking part of your time to share your impressions and personal experiences on your holiday at our IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama hotel; we are very glad to read that you overall had a pleasant stay among us.

Moreover, the passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our restaurant where our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

Last but not least, we thank you for pointing out our location, fronting the sea and submerged in beautifully maintained gardens.

Thank you again for your visit and the courtesy of your time; we remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations and encourage you to contact our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR holiday among a wide range of beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

My daughter and I have just returned from a week at this hotel. We had paid extra for a bungalow. We found the beds very hard and the furniture dated. The fridge was not working properly, even buying ice cold cans from the little shop, it didn't keep the drinks cold, and they ended up luke warm. Despite reporting it to staff and the Jet2 Rep over several days, the situation never changed. We do not know about rooms within the hotel itself, but on speaking to some other holiday makers, they stated those rooms were the same.
Forget TV - if you are English, your choice is BBC World News, CNN or Bloomberg. Great if you're only interested in world news - not if you just want to relax. You were lucky if you could find an English speaking programme or one with English subtitles - all channels appeared to be in German or Russian (as well as Greek obviously). On asking why, we were told they were unable to get any English speaking channels from Sky!
The grounds are beautiful, BUT extremely extensive, and if you are mobility impaired in any way, they become a major problem. There are ramps near the steps, but I found most of them extremely steep. We did not manage to get to the beach because of the steep paths to get down to it. There are no benches anywhere that we found to just rest for a few minutes.
Whilst some of the staff are pleasant, unfortunately we found quite a few to be unfriendly. We felt we were the "invisible women" - politely waiting to be next to speak to a member of the reception or bar staff when they were free, to be totally ignored and people who came after us dealt with first.
Whilst the choice of food in the restaurant was extensive, it appeared to be the same for every meal, every day. Generally, unless you were there when the food was first put out, it tended to be lukewarm. We found some things either under cooked, or not cooked enough, and generally rather bland. The Italian restaurant was not open whilst we were there. We did have a meal during the day at the small restaurant by the pool....but there were so many flies landing on it, it put us off so we left without eating. The "special" set meal you can have one evening during your weeks stay was dreadful, apart from the Lamb dish, which was lovely. Despite there supposedly being a "dress code" for the evening meals, this was not adhered to, and people were appearing in beach or sunbathing wear. Children were also allowed to run around and yell and scream - obviously the parents fault, but some member of staff could have spoken quietly to those parents, or they be advised on arrival maybe to monitor what there children were doing. No help was given finding a table when the restaurant was busy, and in my case, because I have to use a rollator to get about all of the time, it was a nightmare finding a table where I could put the rollator to one side without causing problems for other people to get past.
We understood that there was some distance to the nearest village of Panormo and town of Rethymno...what we hadn't realised was that the hotel had no near shops or tavernas to potter around to get away from the hotel complex. To get to Panormo you could get the road train for 8 euros return....which was ok because it picked you up from outside the hotel. We didn't get to Rethymno because the bus service ran from the main road, which meant an uphill walk to the main road, which was impossible for me, and apparently, on speaking to some other holiday makers, even they struggled with where they were dropped off. We could have booked a taxi to go - but the Rep advised us that the cost was 50 euros return to do it, which we had no intention of paying after the cost of the holiday.
The pools were clean - but be wary of walking around the pool areas in flip flops. Obviously the tiles get wet from either being hosed down or people going in and out of the pool. In bare feet you were okay - but we witnessed people slipping when wearing flip flops.
In the reception area, there wasn't enough seating for the amount of holiday makers visiting. You cannot get a drink in the reception area during the day. It is the first hotel we have ever stayed in where you could not get a soft drink or cup of coffee whilst sitting in reception, unless you were prepared to go outside to one of the pool bars.There was also no waiter service which I found strange in an all inclusive hotel.
Eventually we did speak to the Hotel General Manager, Mr Kritsotakis, after speaking to the Rep, who was very pleasant and apologetic. At first we were told that they had never had any complaints, but we had taken photographs of the problems with the room, and complaints about the fridge had been recorded, so had proof. Mr Kritsotakis arranged for a jug of Ouzo and some sweet dough biscuits to be put in our bungalow. This was appreciated, even though we dislike Ouzo. We had a late evening return flight and were allowed to keep the bungalow for that afternoon and not charged for it. Again, this was appreciated, but certainly did not make up for an extremely disappointing week and what we felt was a waste of money on a holiday which we thought would be relaxing and enjoyable.
Sadly it is extremely unlikely that we would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is the first Iberostar hotel we have stayed in, and having been told they had a really high rating before we booked, it would make us think twice about going to another one if this hotel is an example. That rating given in the brochure was 4* Plus - we would totally disagree with this rating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiffedWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Although we sincerely regret reading that we were not able to provide you with a relaxing and enjoyable stay at our IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama hotel, we thank you for your visit and the time you spent to review your overall holiday experience among us; we appreciate all of your input, as it helps us identify areas that could use more attention to detail.

We understand from your review that apparently you were not properly informed about our hotel’s layout and location and would like to take the opportunity to point out that a full description of our hotels is available both on our website and brochure; for future occasions we strongly encourage you to visit our webpage or contact our call center from where we can offer you a personalized booking guidance and help you select the destination, hotel type and services that best meet your holiday needs and wishes.

Moreover we lament your disappointment on our buffets; our talented Chefs follow a two weeks menu rotation in order to guarantee the possibility to savor many different flavors at every meal, preparing a wide array of succulent local dishes and international delights to cater for all diet requirements and please all palates, we regret we were not able to conquer yours.

Our staff strives to welcome each guest with the IBEROSTAR spirit and assist in any way possible to ensure everyone has a pleasant stay, we were surprised to read that you did not feel well cared after and will not fail to forward your comments to our management for information.

Please be assured that we took your comments into consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. We really thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that IBEROSTAR will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews