We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Panormos
Certificate of Excellence
MANCHESTER
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just returned from this hotel and generally agree with what others have said. Hotel pretty remote, staff with one or two exceptions very friendly, rooms are fine and yes the beds are hard and grounds etc are immaculate. The animation team do makes this hotel and are a great bunch of guys and gals - Iberostar should really take note of all their mentions on here because without them the hotel would not be as good. Hotel does seem to cut corners though, the food was plentiful but we never had a really great meal - meat was very poor quality and tiny portions. The drinks in the bar menus were not available when we asked for them, even local bottled beer was not available and we drank zorbas draft. I didn't mind it but it took a lot of zorbas to get you tipsy! They had cocktails of the day pre made up but often these were really warm and flat. They had a beach party when we were there, an additional few quid but do go to it as it was one of our best nights - a really good laugh. We always found a sunbed at 10.30 but usually got it on the grass overlooking the sea - lovely spot with a nice breeze and you could always join in main pool activities as you could hear what was going on. Some people didn't realise you could get cakes and crepes at 4pm at the marine bar and you could have a midnight snack in the main restaurant - neither or this were widely advertised. We travelled with two 17 year old girls and chose this hotel because they could be relatively independent on the resort and it was the perfect choice as there were lots of kids their age and they all congregated in the disco which finished about 1.30/ 2pm ish. There was a piano bar for oldies and the usual animation show which on the whole were a good laugh provided you went with the right of made and were not too stuck up about it. Overall a great holiday and a lovely hotel for families.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the sea. We preferred main hotel as it is close to all amenities and if you get a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FAMILYMANManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    697
    222
    81
    35
See reviews for
918
775
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lviv, Ukraine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here 10 nights late July-early August 2013, 2 adults & 2 kids (8 and 3). We knew the hotel would be nice having read the reviews before plus the Iberostar speaks for itself. But like for many other reviewers the hotel turned out even better than we expected.
The TERRITORY is just amazing, so many places and paths and coves and pools and everything. We didn't really cover everything cos there were always so many things to do inside the hotel (thanks to the ANIMATION team included) not mentioning the trips outside. The STAFF has to do a lot for that for sure. The kids loved the waitress Roula (she's always been so friendly and funny), we loved the way the rooms were cleaned (nowhere before could we expect such cleanliness!) at least the bungalows row 3 (and she really didn't take any tips until it was written black on white that the money was meant for her), the guys responsible for the territory do amazing job (everything's so fresh and green and bright that no 5 star hotel on our way around Crete could even come close to that). The FOOD is probably one of the greatest pluses still. I mean the quality, I mean the quantity, variety - of places to eat and the dishes as well as cuisines and chef's special offers (the chefs themselves plus all the demo cooks were just amazing, so helpful and courteous and paying you compliments every day))) in return or first))) If you are travelling with a kid you'd always find delicious fish for those without any proper teeth, believe me)) Actually I can't think of anything which wasn't there in the restaurants, the seafood is always there if you have a good eye) the variety of special sauces for every other dish and the way they are offered is indisputable (the cooks themselves suggest which one to choose for the lamb or poultry). The drinks are good (including alcohol, tetra-pak juices in the bars and everything - I loved the chocolate with cream most of all) By the end of the stay we started wondering whether the hotel is profitable))
Basically I'd say the hotel was superb but we are real lovers of sea which was a litttle bit different this time)) The hoteliers definitely did tremendous job with the coves but a real BEACH is missing within the hotel's ground. Still you may walk along the hotel's territory to the municipal beach just 2 minutes away and there you are! And the kids loved the 4 COVES and pools even more and it was nice to choose every time which cove to swim in!!! The coves are clean and nice and do buy a mask to enjoy them!
The only disappointment was the inability of the staff to differentiate between Ukraine and Russia, which personally for us was an offence since we come from the West of Ukraine where the attitude towards Russians coincides with the majority of Europe so suddenly finding yourself in the same boat was a little bit shocking and frustarting first... It appears even more anachronistic after Euro-2012 and the Orange Revolution in Ukraine in 2004 whatever so it looks the staff are in need of a mini-lesson in geography or history. We are actualy the generation who are much less fluent in Russian already than in English for instance and the kids don't speak it at all so being addressed in Russian before you even open your mouth wishing to say "Calimera" was a bad start of the day. By the end of the stay the guys have learnt to say 'Thank you' in Ukrainian, though))) I know there are a hundred of reasons for that but one should take care I'd say - you never know what kind of Ukrainians are coming this time and I know there aren't very many of these in this place and the people from Latvia don't get addressed in Russian for some reason already. Shame cos there's the reception girl Katya coming from Ukraine who speaks perfect Ukrainian! Fortunately, we don't bear a grudge and definitely recommend it to our friends and family!!!)))
Last but not least - the professional PHOTOS of the hotel do not correspond to the truth! First time in my practice - they are worse than the hotel itself is!!! So look through the travellers' photos as well or search elsewhere - the hotel is fantastic plus you can always walk amd swim around the neighbouring Iberostar Creta Marine if you can manage to combine - which is to the opinion of so many of us while being there - worse in location than Creta Panorama!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Litacom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a sea view bungalow which had a stunning view and was very comfortable for the 3 of us. Food was excellent with good choice and variety always something for everyone. Staff are friendly on the whole although reception can be less so at times. Cleaning is excellent and the best I have experienced.
The Animation team led by Simone are amazing and work incredibly hard to provide a good range of activities and many laughs. My 14 year old wants to return next year and has excitedly friended the team on FB!
Only slight niggles were as many others have said wifi is paid extra and really not very consistent. As the hotel advertises as a conference facility as well it should be better. Safe was ridiculously expensive and feels like a rip off when you pay on checkout.
Wouldn't recommend booking diving through Thompson rep either it was a big is appointment and not a good enough standard of equipment and monitoring available.
Thoroughly recommend the hotel though for an excellent family holiday.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lyndez F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed here with my family from 23rd July-6th August and this hotel is absolutely fantastic! We really did not want to leave!

On arrival, we were given a sea front bungalow, which although had an amazing view, was not as good inside. It had one bedroom and a living space with the made up sofa beds. Although it was good that we were in two rooms, the main bedroom was tiny, the bed was pushed up against the wall, and worst of all there was no air con in the main bedroom. However, we told the reception staff who were incredibly helpful and we moved bungalows.Our new bungalow was just one room with a double bed and two sofa beds but it was a lot more spacious and there was air con so it was a lot cooler. Once we had moved to our new room, the reception staff rung us up to check that we liked our new room which we were very impressed with.

In fact, all the staff here are great and very friendly; gardeners, maids, waiters, animation team etc.

This hotel is a massive complex, yet it is all beautifully well maintained and the gardens all look stunning.

There are many pools here which are all lovely. The main pool is where all the music and announcements are made, so if you want something quieter then you will prefer one of the other pools. That is one of the great things about this hotel-there is something for everyone. You can also sunbathe on the grass looking over the beach coves (just off the main pool so you can hear the music but there's a nicer view and it's less busy) or on one of the hotel's beach coves, although it is worth mentioning that these are gravelly beaches, not sandy.

The food is also great, and as always, something for everyone. The food is typical all inclusive food;meats, fish, pasta, pizza, salads, chips etc. There is plenty of choice and it is of a really good quality too. Drinks are on the tap, which some people may dislike, but I had no problem with.There were also some themed nights such as Greek, Spanish and Italian which are nice. You can also eat at a la carte restaurant, Zorba's once per weekly stay, which is a set menu. The food is amazing there, but perhaps not for children.

The animation team is what really makes this hotel stand out though. Simone, the head animator, is just great. He's really nice and unbelievably funny in all of the shows. All the others (especially Mauro and Georgia) are great too and the all work so hard. There are the mini, maxi and teeny clubs, activities throughout the whole day (zumba, water gym, quizzes etc) and fabulous, funny and very professional shows each night.

All in all, this hotel is amazing, and I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidayEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here last 2 weeks of July, had a lovely time with family. The down side to this hotel for us is the coves, not really a beach, but children did enjoy to snorkel. The reception staff not very welcoming on arrival and when we left they didn't even say goodbye after we paid bill.. Rude... On the plus side - on our first evening we returned back to our room to find a bottle of fizzy wine and a heart shaped cake with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary while we were there. We had a lively family bungalow right at the front which gave us the best sea view. Room 2113. Main pool was salt water which did sting the eyes, but children enjoyed the other pool as was chlorine. Kids did the banana boat which they enjoyed but wait until the animation team do it as it is half price. On the food side we never starved, always plenty to eat, and the puddings were yummy. First choice rep organised a scuba dive trip with Paradise, Well we ended up getting a refund as first dive jacket was leaking, and second dive boat broke down. The best thing about this hotel is the animation team, Georgia with aqua aerobics, toni mauro and Simone were fantastic too, Enjoyed the pool dance with Simone and the way toni jokes about by pool and on stage. They work so hard.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

After only ever holidaying using self catering appts and not really having a holiday cooking, shopping and cleaning , we decided to try "all inclusive" and as Peter Kay would say "it's the future". We had never visited Crete before but everyone kept telling us to try it. We were a bit apprehensive but on arrival (1st drop off) our bus rep said to me " you've picked a blinder here" and it only got better. A very warm welcome with a refreshing juice brought to us at the reception desk and we were on our way to our room. We stayed in the main hotel on the 3rd floor. All rooms overlook the sea and the views are truly beautiful. This hotel is air conditioned throughout which meant I didn't suffer from holiday hair every night. Ladies you know what I mean.i can only echo the other comments on here. The staff are so friendly and really appreciate a please and a thankyou tagged onto the end of a request at the bar or restaurant . We did notice that the uk guests automatically said it but unfortunately most of the other nationalities did not. This hotel is multi national and the east meets the west but we didn't personally have a problem and the animation team do a fabulous job of involving the different nationalities in their games and shows. All staff including the animation team work hard and we could not fault anything. The food is beautifully presented and delicious. There are chefs show cooking gorgeous fresh dishes throughout service and it is so tempting but my advice is to try a little and go back if you want more. Not to pile up your plate and leave it, it's such a waste. We would like to say thank you to Monika, Georgius for their friendly greetings every mealtime and to the lovely smiling Haroula who cooked our eggs and bacon every morning. Sit outside for the beautiful views over the Cretan sea while you eat. Thank you to the beautiful Georgia from animation for helping us work off the breakfast with her aqua aerobics and to Tony Macaroni, Aaron , mauro and Simone and everyone else for making our holiday so much fun with their Red Bull energy all day and night. They are truly amazing. Just a couple of tips, don't let your children play under the garden water sprinklers as it is re cycled toilet water..and flip flops round the pool can be really slippy as it is all tiled, you're better in bare feet and the lagoon pool is salt water but you kind of get used to it and there is a non salty pool for those who would prefer it. . All in all our best holiday ever, we made some life long friendships (we hope) with some lovely people. ( you know who you are) we will def go back here and will def visit the rest of the Greek islands from now on. Thank you Creta Panomara keep doing what you are doing you have a fantastic product.
Sara and John Dexter

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chesterpotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just returned from a week at this Hotel, eight of us traveled there (4 Adults and 4 teenagers 14, 16, 16,18) what a great time we all had. The Hotel is lovely and clean, food excellent with a great choice, im a vegetarian and the choice for me was amazing.(If you eat earlier on in the evening it is not so busy.) The all inclusive package is definitely the way to go, otherwise it is expensive to eat there. Don't even consider anything else, it has to be" All inclusive."
There are 2 nice cove shingle beaches, great for snorkeling, not a sandy beach at the Hotel, but a 10 minute Mini train ride away you will find a nice sandy beach at Panormo.
The Hotel is in a remote location, so if you like to take a walk out at night time, then this hotel is not for you. You can get on a bus outside the Hotel and travel into Rethymnon (about 30/45 mins 4 Euro return) this is well worth doing as Rethymnon has a lovely harbour, restaurants , bars and shops.
The entertainment during the day around the pool and the evening entertainment is excellent. The Animation Team...."We salute you"....you are faultless.
Overall a lovely Hotel that tries very hard to give there guests a perfect holiday. Well recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helena Jayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all we are very grateful for the time and effort that you spent writing and sharing a review on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama hotel, it is always nice to hear that our guests left with nice holiday memories and we are glad to hear that we made our goal with you.
At IBEROSTAR the gastronomy is one of our main prime pillars because we know that meals are a very important part of our guests’ holidays, this is why our professional chefs always strive to prepare a wide range of local and international delights to please even the most demanding palates, it is very nice to hear that we were able to conquer yours, even having special diet’s requirements.
Moreover we thank you for pointing out our animation staff, their enthusiasm is the real strength of our hotel as we believe that nice leisure and sports activities throughout the day and entertaining evening shows are part of the real holiday feeling, we will definitely congratulate them on your behalf.
We are delighted to hear that you and your family and friends had such a nice time whilst staying among us and we once again thank you for sharing your opinion.
Hoping that you had a nice journey back home, we look forward to welcoming you again in our hotels worldwide, ensuring you in advance of our utmost caring dedication.
Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panormos
42.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,979 reviews
6.3 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Creta Marine
IBEROSTAR Creta Marine
#5 of 13 in Panormos
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.0 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
1,150 reviews
61.4 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
41.3 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare

Property: IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare
Address: | Panormos Beach, Panormos, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Panormos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Panormos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Panormos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Panormos
#3 Family Hotel in Panormos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Panormos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If the gods had been on holiday, they would have chosen the IBEROSTAR Creta Panomara & Mare hotel, where everything wonderful about Greece is concentrated in 30,000 m2 of gardens on the Aegean seafront. Stay in this Olympus of luxury and relaxation, where everything is devoted to honour your existence. A stay unlike any other. There are a variety of accommodation choices for one or more people, including rooms on the top floors with privileged views and bungalows of different sizes right on the beachfront. Swim on your own beach. Located in Panormo, the hotel offers direct access to two coves where you can enjoy the Island of Crete and feel truly special amongst mortals. Mediterranean feasts. Cuisine tailored to your every whim, so you can explore the best of Greek and international cuisine in the various bars and restaurants with welcoming atmospheres filled with aromas from around the globe. Swim in a variety of waters. Combine the salty water of the Aegean Sea with the freshwater of the hotel’s six swimming pools, one of which is indoor and another a children’s pool. You can swim in one, and then take a dip in another… Great fun. This is the perfect place to bring your family. Here, the little ones of the family can have a thousand adventures and become real heroes. There are activities for all ages, both in the daytime and evening. Feel worshipped. This is what is special about All Inclusive; the feeling that everything is available to fulfil your wishes. Exquisite service, exclusive access, personalised to your needs… Now you know; at this hotel, you are a god. Celebrate everything, not just that you are on holiday. Your honeymoon, your wedding anniversary, your birthday… At this hotel, let your imagination run free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Creta Panorama Hotel Panormo
Iberostar Hotel Creta Panorama
Iberostar Hotel Panormo
IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare Panormos, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing