We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect setting”
other travelers have booked this property
Terrace View- superior room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terrace View- superior room
Castello Apartments Room type 1- Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Terrace View- superior room
Castello Apartments
Room type 1- Living room
Room type 1- Living room
Room type 1- Living room
Room type 1- Kitchen
Room type 1- Bathroom
Room type 1- Bathroom
Room type 1- Bedroom
Room type 1- Bedroom
Room type 1- Bedroom
Room type 2- Living room
The Superior
The Superior
The Standard Double
The Standard Double
View of Panormo
The Standard Double
Room type 2- Living room
The Superior
Room type 1- Bedroom
The Standard Double
Room type 2- Living room
The Standard Double
Room type 3- Living room
The Superior
The Superior
The Superior
The Superior
The Superior
The Superior
The Standard Double
Ground Floor apartment Living room
Ground Floor apartment Living room
Ground Floor apartment Bedroom
Ground Floor apartment Bedroom
Ground Floor apartment Interior Courtyard
Ground Floor apartment Interior Courtyard
Ground Floor apartment Bathroom
Ground Floor apartment Bedroom
Superior room
The Standard Double
The Standard Double
Lobby
Standard room type 2 -Bathroom
The Superior
Standard room type 1 -Bathroom
The Superior
The Standard Double
The Standard Double
The Superior
The Superior
Street
The Standard Double
The Standard Double
Reception
Reception
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Danish first
English first
German first
Greek first
Italian first
Any
English first
payntes19...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect setting”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Well, what a little gem.

Booking couldn't have been simpler. Also, the owner very obliging at the time of booking to enable us to stay beyond normal checking out time due to a late flight. The accommodation is absolutely perfect for a couple. The view from the spacious roof top terrace of our room (room 6) was astounding and was perfect for sunbathing. To the right you have the mountains, coming round you then have the harbour, incorporating a more than adequate beach with the expansive turquoise coloured sea with it's own moods coming round to the tavernas with their twinkling lights at night, and in the immediate foreground you overlook the charming local church. A second balcony off the bedroom gives a splendid view of mountains in the foreground with an extension of the village and snow covered mountains in the background! The main balcony was a bliss to sit on, in the evening, after indulging in a fine meal at one of the local tavernas, looking out and capturing the atmosphere of the quiet village at night and the sea, the stars etc. It was hard to retire to bed to leave it all behind!
The accommodation comprised: One bedroom to incorporate a large double bed and ample wardrobe space, drawers, dressing table etc. A lounge diner, again adequate in size, off which is a "quirky" bathroom. This property was everything we needed for a relaxing week in the sun, the terrace taking out the need to traipse down to the beach.
The bedding was changed twice during our week at which a clean was undertaken and the towels 3 times by a very nice house maid, the same person visiting daily to empty the bins.
Reception is located on the ground floor with an obliging and reactive manager on hand in person for a long part of the day, and contactable 'out of hours' by mobile.
In terms of location of this apartment, absolutely perfect at the time we visited. Opposite a taverna, adjacent the church, a minutes walk to a bar (not open when we stayed, therefore unable to comment on noise levels) and a stones throw from the local baker and other village amenities.
We would certainly recommend room 6 for all of the above reasons as an escape for a couple or a lone traveller.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KDH2011
Enniskeane, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment with large rooftop terrace”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Castello Apartments provided everything for a perfect beach holiday, it´s centrally located to the beach, village centre & several restaurants in Panormos with parking right on the doorstep.
The manager was very friendly & accommodating, helpful with everything from recommendations for day trips to arranging a doctor´s visit, even offering to accompany us to translate.
The apartment itself was located on the top floor & had a large terrace, a definite bonus but as far as we could tell every apartment in the complex has a balcony. Everything was spotlessly clean & well maintained, even though it was an apartment it was cleaned every day & new linens/towels supplied several times during our 11 night stay.
A nice touch were the water & milk in the fridge on our late night check-in as well as that dish cloths & washing up liquid were provided.
Two minor points of complaint would be the very small bathroom & that there was no elevator in the building (apartment on 3rd floor), not an issue for us but could make it less convenient for others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FriendOfP...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great apartments - fab location”
Reviewed February 24, 2017 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 2 weeks here in July 2016. Very clean with nice furniture etc and in good condition. Everything you could need without being over-egged.
Lovely bedroom with nice linen and comfy bed and a balcony overlooking the sea.
The lovely friendly cleaning lady changed the linen and bathroom towels several times and emptied the bathroom and kitchen bins/replaced tea-towels daily.
The lady in charge of the apartments, Tina, is great - full of useful tips...thank you for making us feel so welcome.
The apartments are right on the front overlooking the harbour. There are plenty of great places to eat...with one 'Agkyra Taverna' (the Anchor) right opposite the apartments...the food there is delicious and it's so handy if your feeling lazy! Also loved George and Georgias, Kastello, Taverna Barba Andreas and for lunch Vinzi Cafe. (only a taster of the great places to eat. Only place we wouldn't go back to was O'Makis!
We were in room 5, which is second floor at the front. The balcony is off the bedroom.
We had the chance to look at room 6 - top floor with a huge terrace and sea view off the lounge and a second balcony off the bedroom - thanks to the lovely guests who showed us the apartment and with whom we enjoyed a dinner and great chats. We have booked room 6 for end April this year...can't wait!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise B
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful base for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The apartment was clean and well equipt, we had the most lovely outlook over the harbour.
Lisa was welcoming and explained all about the resort and where to eat. It was our wedding anniversary when we were there and we were surprised to find a beautiful flower arrange the and bottle of champagne to assist our celebrations.
Panormos is a quiet destination but with plenty of friendly tavernas to keep you occupied.
We do not usually return to one place as there may be better out there but on this occasion we would love to return.
Nothing bad to say other than the air con could be a little better. Blissful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Loved everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maymayCor...
Cornwall, UK
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in authentic quiet village by the sea”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Castello Apartments are clean, modern, comfortable with excellent facilities and Wifi in the best location in Panormos - a few steps from the beach and the tavernas and managed by a lovely lady, Tina Fragaki, She made us feel very welcome. (My daughter and I spent a week there as a chill after the stress of A levels). Tina extended such a warm, welcoming personal style of hospitality, collecting us from our transfer in her car, making a special Cretan dish for us to try and sharing a beer on the last night with us in a local taverna. I left feeling she had become a friend.
If you're looking for an authentic small traditional Cretan village to spend a relaxing quiet idyllic holiday by the sea, Panormos is a perfect choice. With two small beaches and a selection of family run tavernas, there's enough facilities to meet the needs of holidaymakers without the village having lost its unique charm and Cretan traditions. And when you want to explore further afield, the half hourly bus service to Rethymon (which runs 7 days a week until midnight), steeped in Venetian and Ottoman history, provides a cheap and convenient day or half day out to satisfy any cultural interests, without paying through the nose for any kind of organised excursion.

One of the great things about Panormos is the lack of noise and music. Here, no blaring cafe juke box, no hassle from waiters, no commercialised tourist toot. Just a grocer, a butcher, a baker, a couple of small corner shop supermarkets, a hairdresser and a couple of retail shops to satisfy the need to buy a sunhat, a last minute present or a forgotten toiletry.

We slept peacefully. We woke to the gentle sound of cooing doves or wood pigeons, we strolled through the tiny village retaining an atmosphere of times past, where Greek gentlemen sip Raki and Ouzo in the shade, playing backgammon and cards in the village square.

There are four or five tavernas in the one village street where eating offers a unique experience of 'no menu'. Try Makis - just follow the owner to the kitchen and he will show you the home cooked dishes of the day in the oven. Stuffed peppers, dolmades, kleftiko, chicken stuffed with spinach - changing daily. Or if you prefer a sea view, over lunch or at dinner, while watching the sunset, a few tavernas perch on the rocky outcrops above the sheltered bay, protected by a rocky headland to the right and a harbour wall shielding a safe sandy beach. The shallow gradient and clear water with gentle waves is appreciated by parents of babies and toddlers who obviously favour this resort for a first family holiday, along with local kids whose whoops and chatter permeate unobtrusively across the water as they jump from the harbour wall.

This is Crete for the discerning visitor. Even the cats have manners, waiting for a morcel to be thrown. And Castello Apartments was a perfect place to stay. Will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Hospitality
Liked least: Bathroom lighting could be brighter
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laingfami...
Wellington, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic location in a great village”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We loved this location. On the top floor we had a great view all around: of the village, the sea, the little harbour and beach below us. It was also close to the main arterial route along the north coast of Crete. Tina was very helpful with suggestions and the village had a selection of very good tavernas. The only average factors were the cramped bathroom and the loss of power one morning. However, the this was fixed promptly. Would recommend this as a great location for a chill out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talltache
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic apartment fantastic location with fantastic staff!!!!”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic apartment , Brilliant standard and great staff tina gave 101% to us and nothing too much trouble . A wonderful Greek time , we will be back .xxx

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing