We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely greek taverna”
Review of Taverna Geronymos

Taverna Geronymos
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Panormos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Tomas cook official partner routard guide recommendation rough guide recommendation
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely greek taverna”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely dinner here, sitting outside in the cobbled street. The food was delicious (very tender pork dish in a honey, cream sauce), reasonably priced and friendly staff. Would recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank subee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    57
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful family restaurant”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great family restaurant with homemade Greek dishes for a very reasonable price. The setting is atmospheric and peaceful. The staff is very friendly and and quick. The homemade oreo-chocolate cake as dessert is the best! We have tried a few restaurants in Panormos and we believe this restaurant stands out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Herman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rethymnon, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best of Street Eating”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This small street restaurant offers fabulous freshly prepared home cooked Greek food. The service was friendly and efficient.
The whole experience was great value for money and a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Real Greek food served by wonderful people in an enchanting location”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

You will find this lovely little taverna at the heart of the beautiful village of Panormos. In the summer, once night has fallen, the village centre is closed to traffic, then the tables are set out on the cobbled streets, the candles are lit and, under the grape vines and the bouganvillea that give such welcome shade during the day, the perfect romantic ambience is created. The family that run the restaurant are delightful, friendly and very happy to help you to choose what to eat--they take great pride in their work, and rightly so, as it is first rate. The food that they specialise in is authentic Cretan cuisine--fresh, healthy and delicious. We have found that the best thing to do is to order food in the way that their Greek customers do it: ask for several plates of vegetable dishes, with maybe one or two meat or fresh fish platters, to be brought to the table 'ollo meze'--all at the same time--and then everyone tucks in, helping themselves to whatever takes their fancy. This is also the place to come if you are vegetarian, as it is very easy to eat an excellent meal by simply choosing from the large range of the vegetable dishes. You can ask them, a day in advance, to cook something special for you the next day, or simply ask them on the night what they have in the oven--it will always be something delicious, and great value for money, too. We have been coming to Panormos for a few years now, and, though there are several superb eateries to choose from in the village, we always find that we pay most visits to Geronymos Taverna. Just writing about it makes me wish I was there right now!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Diane&John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Wales
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We ate hear a few times whilst staying locally, both in the evening and during the day. The food at all times was excellent, tasty and very well presented. The addition of a bowl of yoghurt and honey at the end was nice, as was the free glass of raki!
The service was always friendly but unhurried, and helpful if you didn't understand something on the menu.
We sat in the street under the grape vine which gave a great atmosphere.
A wonderful place and one we will revisit when we next return to Crete!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MidWalesGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Geronymos also viewed

Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture
Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture
Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture
Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Taverna Geronymos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing