We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and very-well positioned” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tavern Agkyra

Tavern Agkyra
Ranked #8 of 25 Restaurants in Panormos
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Friendly and very-well positioned”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Geraniums and smiles greeted us at Agira, as did the sea which it overlooks. They do simple fish simply and very well, though accompaniments may not be to everyone's taste. Go Cretan and enjoy the little wild-spinach and feta pies with herbs, or a big plate of fried courgettes to share [a little too oily the second time we had them].
And remember that before you pay the bill you'll get the traditional free dessert [a small unctuous cake perhaps] and the little bottle of Raki, the local firewater. After a few days, the Raki tasted better and better at Agira.....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PandYUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    45
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
210 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Drop your anchor in this fabulous restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Angyra means anchor and if you sit in this restaurant the risk is that you will desire to “drop your anchor” forever here.
The restaurant has an exceptional view on the sea and the menu is a real fish festival.
We tasted stuffed tomatoes with rice, juicy fried squids, grilled shrimps, taramosalata (fishroe) and the traditional Greek salad with feta. Everything was perfectly cooked and well presented. The local white wine completed the pleasure of our meal by the sea.
I have put a pin on my Cretan map on this village in order to enjoy a meal again at Angyra…but meanwhile , before we will be back from Italy, I suggest you to stop and relax here and fill your eyes with the view and your tasting buds with their genuine food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver / Farnham (Surrey)
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You won't be hungry long”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

But you may need to guess at the taverna's name unless your guesswork or Greek is up to scratch. Two dining areas both overlooking the harbour where,, once upon a time,, there came many yachts and moneyed people. Excellent food once you've mastered the chaotic multi-coloured menu. we chose local things like oven-baked aubergines with feta, a stifado which was my wife's choice which I found fiibrously dry and chewy but which she delighted in especially the gravy with good proper chips. Retsina came cool and appropriate to the cuisine. You could spend more (and we did elsewhere) but there's no need. A very fine place, friendly and competent staff and also too cheap for its own good..

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank georgepopovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Food by the Sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a very nice Restaurant. We had lunch there and it was well cooked and hot when it was brought to our table and the free desert of Greek Yoghurt and Orange Jam was lovely. the filter coffee is the best I had in Crete. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank izzibilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fish Taverna on jetty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I hope this is AYKUPA fish taverna & Cretan cuisine on jetty at Panormo. Great location, service & food. Half carafe wine only euros 2.50. Lovely salads, stuffed vine leaves & mussels. Received raki & cake or young hart with honey after every meal even with lunch. Highly recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JANO005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern Agkyra also viewed

Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture
Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture
Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture
Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Tavern Agkyra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing