We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hello Manolis and Family”

Kastro Cretan Cuisine
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Panormos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Greek, Healthy, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cretan cuisine has a long standing tradition dating back centuries ago and is directly connected to the production of high quality agricultural and cattle farming products. Savor the variety, delicacy and high quality of the guaranteed cuisine of Kastro! We always use extra virgin olive oil, as required by the famous Cretan diet. Our restaurant has been awarded with the label "cretan cuisine" by the Agronutritional Cooperation of the Region of Crete. It therefore, has all the prerequisites that will definitely initiate you to the delicious world of savory experiences, which will absolutely impress you. "Perfect Cretan food in a friendly environment in an idyllic verandah" and "impeccable service by jovial and polite people", are characteristic comments shared in the internet by our visitors. Kastro Restaurant is a first class choice for people relishing a daily excursion and wish to savor high quality traditional cuisine.
Newcastle upon tyne
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hello Manolis and Family”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed at the Creta Panorama hotel near to Panormos as a solo traveller and before going checked this site and decided I would definitely pay a visit to this restaurant - so glad I did. Went on Saturday around 5.00 pm and obviously it was quiet at that time. Was greeted by Manolis with a welcome bottle of water after the climb up the hill. I was definitely going to have the snails which I had read about and was recommended the greens and the sun dried tomatoes. Whilst waiting I was given bread and dips - the beetroot one was to die for! Then the snails - all 36 of them - yes I counted! Cooked in rosemary and lemon absolutely fantastic. Then the raki came which Manolis shared with me and then a lovely desert. All of this plus a half litre of red wine for 17 euros. I asked Manolis if I could take the snail shells with me - to decorate a wall - which he did and asked for a photo when finished and yes Manolis you know who I am now and I will send the photo - and also I ate the last remaining snails on my balcony watching the sun set at 8.30. So Manolis thank you for a lovely meal and to anyone in the area of Panormos please go to Kastro - warm welcome awaits and lovely food

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chriswhit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis V, Owner at Kastro Cretan Cuisine, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear chriswhit56

I appreciate your comments regarding your visit to taverna Kastro on TripAdvisor !
It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our customers.
I am glad you enjoyed your visit to our place.
Really looking forward to see you again and offer you the best service we can!
I'm expecting a photo from your wall decoration with the snail shells !!!

Best wishes from Panormo Crete and thanks again !!

Manolis Vogiatzoglou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    129
    33
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panormos, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

A wonderfully welcoming friendly Taverna in a cute little Cretan village. Its certainly worth a visit (or two).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis V, Owner at Kastro Cretan Cuisine, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Martin

I appreciate your comments regarding your visit to taverna Kastro on TripAdvisor !
It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our customers.
I am glad you enjoyed your visit to our place.
Really looking forward to see you again and offer you the best service we can!

Best wishes from Panormo Crete and thanks again !!

Manolis Vogiatzoglou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Most beautiful taverna in Panormo”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Lovely setting sitting under jasmine and Borgonvillia.
Very friendly family run business, lots of attention and even "Dad" who opened the restaurant years ago came to meet us.
Lovely choice of food and good local wine for 3 euros a half caraffe.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis V, Owner at Kastro Cretan Cuisine, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Robin

I appreciate your comments regarding your visit to taverna Kastro on TripAdvisor !
It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our customers.
I am glad you enjoyed your visit to our place.
Really looking forward to see you again and offer you the best service we can!

Best wishes from Panormo Crete and thanks again !!

Manolis Vogiatzoglou
Panormo Milopotamou
Taverna Kastro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best in Panormos”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful welcome. Superb Cretan food especially zucchini balls,stuffed vine leaves ,chicken in lemon sauce and lamb in tomato sauce. Ate there 10 times. No cats!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank V H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis V, Owner at Kastro Cretan Cuisine, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear friend,

I appreciate your comments regarding your visit to taverna Kastro on TripAdvisor ! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our customers. Thank you for your multiple choices to eat to our place. I am glad you enjoyed visting our place. Really looking forward to see you again!

Friendly Regards,
Manolis Taverna Kastro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOURNEMOUTH
1 review
“Best restaurant in Panormos”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were in Crete 4 weeks. We ate in Kastro every 3-4 days. We tried other restaurants in the village but Kastro was the BEST. It is the little extras, cold water and glasses arrive as we sit down. Bread with 3 spreads while waiting for food to cook. A special experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BRIANH3165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis V, Owner at Kastro Cretan Cuisine, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Brianh,

I appreciate your comments regarding your visit to taverna Kastro on TripAdvisor ! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our customers. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to our place. Really looking forward to see you again and offer you the best service we can!

Best Regards,
Manolis Taverna Kastro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kastro Cretan Cuisine also viewed

Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture
Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture
Panormos, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Kastro Cretan Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing